ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2010, 05:13 PM   #121
Zacharia_11
11th Assassin
 
Zacharia_11's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: tricities.on.ca
Oddometer: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Griz
... It's the RAM-B-149U....
Did you type this wrong? I show a RAM-B-149ZU as the proper mount?

Edit: nevermind I think this is just the black one?
__________________

2013 Honda CB500X

Zacharia_11 screwed with this post 01-22-2010 at 05:20 PM
Zacharia_11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 05:18 PM   #122
The Griz
North Forest Rider
 
The Griz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Oddometer: 3,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zacharia_11
Did you type this wrong? I show a RAM-B-149ZU as the proper mount?
RAM-B-149ZU is the zinc plated hardware one

RAM-B-149U is the stainless steel hardware one

On this page it says: Note:
The "U" in the part number reflects product packaged in poly bag. If you prefer a motorcycle mount with stainless steel hardware, view the RAM-B-149U.

I got the stainless steel one. But they both say they fit up to a 1.25" diameter. Stainless steel hardware or not.
__________________
PAUL BUNYAN FOREST RIDERS MC
2013 KTM 300 XC-W
2014 KTM 690 Enduro R
The Griz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 05:23 PM   #123
Zacharia_11
11th Assassin
 
Zacharia_11's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: tricities.on.ca
Oddometer: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Griz
RAM-B-149ZU is the zinc plated hardware one

RAM-B-149U is the stainless steel hardware one

On this page it says: Note:
The "U" in the part number reflects product packaged in poly bag. If you prefer a motorcycle mount with stainless steel hardware, view the RAM-B-149U.

I got the stainless steel one. But they both say they fit up to a 1.25" diameter. Stainless steel hardware or not.
Ya I kinda sorted that out after I posted.

Took a look on the rox riser site and is has the F800gs diameter at 1 1/8". I think that they either sent you the wrong part or bagged the wrong part in the correct package.
__________________

2013 Honda CB500X
Zacharia_11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 05:54 PM   #124
WoodWorks
House Ape
 
WoodWorks's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Ashland, OR, USA
Oddometer: 2,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zacharia_11
I think that they either sent you the wrong part or bagged the wrong part in the correct package.
I agree, Griz. I've got that exact part on my handlebars, mounted right up against the handlebar clamps. It fits fine, even with a thin rubber shim in between. Have you measured what you got to see if they sent you the wrong size?

David
__________________
David

I'm tryin' ta think, but nuttin' happens!
--Curly

WoodWorks screwed with this post 01-22-2010 at 07:26 PM
WoodWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 06:32 PM   #125
wizze
Wizze = Wise
 
wizze's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Renton, WA
Oddometer: 966
I went with the short ram mount and the larger stainless U-bolt. I mounted it just left of the left bar clamp. Seems to work pretty well. The mount doesn't interfere with anything and my Nuvi is easily readable.
wizze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 06:52 PM   #126
amycyclenut
Gnarly Adventurer
 
amycyclenut's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Denver CO
Oddometer: 114
^^^^^^
That's exactly my setup.... and Nuvi 250 & Nuvi 500. Works great.
__________________
2012 F800R
1986 FZ600
1974 CB450
1974 RD350
sold: 1970 CB350, 1972 CB175, 2009 Vespa S 150
amycyclenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 11:53 PM   #127
The Griz
North Forest Rider
 
The Griz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Oddometer: 3,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodWorks
I agree, Griz. I've got that exact part on my handlebars, mounted right up against the handlebar clamps. It fits fine, even with a thin rubber shim in between. Have you measured what you got to see if they sent you the wrong size?

David
Yeah, it seems as though I've erroneously received the 1" u-bolt and not the 1.25". Hmmm... I'll be making a call Monday....
__________________
PAUL BUNYAN FOREST RIDERS MC
2013 KTM 300 XC-W
2014 KTM 690 Enduro R
The Griz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 08:59 AM   #128
The Griz
North Forest Rider
 
The Griz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Oddometer: 3,793
Well, boys, it turns out that I didn't read the RAM website well enough when I was placing my order. The RAM-B-149ZU comes with two zinc plated u-bolts: a 1" and a 1.25". The RAM-B-149U comes with only one 1" stainless steel u-bolt. I ordered and received the later, which again comes with a 1" u-bolt, and explains why it wouldn't fit around my bars and I scratched them all to hell trying to get it on.

Dumd-shit move on my part! RAM is sending me a 1.25" zinc palted bolt for free though. But damn it, I was so eager to get this thing on that I scratched up my beautiful Magura bars!
__________________
PAUL BUNYAN FOREST RIDERS MC
2013 KTM 300 XC-W
2014 KTM 690 Enduro R
The Griz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:57 AM   #129
BMWHillbilly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Arkansas
Oddometer: 118
That's exactly my set up. I wished I'd a thought to put the rubber piece on the u bolt before i mounted mine!! I just put a bit of electrical tape. I have scratches too.
BMWHillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 10:06 AM   #130
WoodWorks
House Ape
 
WoodWorks's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Ashland, OR, USA
Oddometer: 2,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWHillbilly
I have scratches too.
Hey, GSs are SUPPOSED to have scratches on them!

David
__________________
David

I'm tryin' ta think, but nuttin' happens!
--Curly
WoodWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 10:19 AM   #131
The Griz
North Forest Rider
 
The Griz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Oddometer: 3,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodWorks
Hey, GSs are SUPPOSED to have scratches on them!

David
Ahh, WoodWorks, you're always making me feel better! You're right!
__________________
PAUL BUNYAN FOREST RIDERS MC
2013 KTM 300 XC-W
2014 KTM 690 Enduro R
The Griz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 08:07 PM   #132
cug
--
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Sunny California
Oddometer: 4,845
Biologic iPhone Case

I use a Biologic iPhone case on my F800GS - works well enough for the limited cases where I need it. Still waiting for the cable to hook it up to the power outlet.



cug is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 08:46 AM   #133
WoodWorks
House Ape
 
WoodWorks's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Ashland, OR, USA
Oddometer: 2,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by cug
I use a Biologic iPhone case on my F800GS - works well enough for the limited cases where I need it. Still waiting for the cable to hook it up to the power outlet.
I've been looking at that case too, cug. But what's scared me off so far is the iPhone's hypersensitive moisture sensor (DAMHIK), and the lack of any vibration dampening. My Garmin 276C has been through hell and back, but I have no idea how much shaking an iPhone will endure.

I don't know how much off-roading you do, but please report back if you really put that case and the phone to the test some day.

David
__________________
David

I'm tryin' ta think, but nuttin' happens!
--Curly
WoodWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 07:46 AM   #134
stbob
 
 
stbob's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: 07020
Oddometer: 1,084
Up till now, i've been using a garmin etrex vista cx handheld, a great little gps, but even mounted, its tough for me to see the screen while moving. Recently i saw the 2010 f800gs set up with a bmw motorrad navigator IV gps (garmin zumo 660 w/cradle), now i've got one on my 2009...

Doesn't obstruct my view of the instrument panel and i'm 5' 7"...
Had no problems viewing screen in direct sunlight...
Its a touch screen, will work with my gloves, but having the buttons on the bmw cradle is much easier to use while moving and i don't need to worry about scratching the screen with my dirty gloves...





Within less than 5 miles i've already lost faith in the cradles locking mechanism. I took a quick ride to the store, without putting the gps in the cradle. In place of the gps was a little plastic cover to protect the prongs, but not for long, now i need another one... I called garmin to bitch & moan and see if they'd give me another cover. The garmin guy told me the cradle dust cover isn't designed to be used while riding... Although i no longer have the cover for further examination, i do remember that it locked in place using the same locking mechanism as the gps, thus i'll definitely be using zip ties or velcro straping to lock the gps in. Garmin guy also wasn't willing to replace my cover, so i called back 10 minutes later, spoke to different operator, told'em cradle cover wasn't in the box...

stbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 05:32 PM   #135
GoneAgain
Huh?
 
GoneAgain's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Bendigonia, Vic.
Oddometer: 1,533
i run a Zumo 550, with the supplied Ram mount...sits nicely out of the way of the speedo etc, and the Ram mount has taken a hell of a lot of shakin and never come loose...... Wired it directly into that 'little plug' just above the battery...gives me 30 seconds of power after turning the engine off...

GoneAgain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014