User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-24-2009, 05:03 AM   #1
LimeRider OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 28
New 800GS owner with questions

Greetings to all of you! This site seems to be filled with helpful people and an excellent source of information.

My new F 800GS should be ready to be picked up by the weekend. I do have several bikes; the closest to this is a 2006 KLR 650. However, I am new to BMW and I have a few questions.

$190.00 for a battery charger??? I see BMW chargers for sale on eBay for $70.00, is there any reason to buy a charger from the dealer?

Bottom skid plate and engine protection bars? I live in a rural area, and I expect to take this bike off road often. To me, the bottom plate makes good sense, but it is not clear to me what the bars would save. The engine on the 800 is tucked away inside the frame.

Brush guards, do these do anything strange at high speeds?

Any of you familiar with the “protective 7 year warranty”? It would allow me to take the bike to any ASCE certified repair shop for warranty work. Normally, I stick with the OEM warranties…but the closest BMW dealer to me is a 5 hour ride.

I do not have the manual yet, but I expect there is a recommended 600 mile check up or something. Is it imperative that this be performed by a BMW dealer? Again, it would be a 5 hr ride back to nearest dealer.
Thanks in advance for any advice offered.

LimeRider screwed with this post 03-24-2009 at 05:23 AM
LimeRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:13 AM   #2
dialdn
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by LimeRider
Greetings to all of you! This site seems to be filled with helpful people and an excellent source of information.

My new F 800GS should be ready to be picked up by the weekend. I do have several bikes; the closest to this is a 2006 KLR 650. However, I am new to BMW and I have a few questions.