User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-15-2004, 10:55 PM   #1
meat popsicle OP
Ignostic

Oddometer: 14,176
Idle RPMs on 03 KTM 640 Adventure

Still breakin in the beast, just wondering if it should be idling above 1500. Seems a wee bit high to me and others but I am new to thumpers. I did not see the idle speed recommended in the manual, anyone know?

Its not so much staying alive; its staying human that counts.
meat popsicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 11:12 PM   #2
PASSMORE
Just the last name...

Oddometer: 4,250
Mine seems happy when loping along at around 1400 when idling... Pertinent mods to this might be the FCR41 carb? Don't know, but she idles well at 1400. I have a 01 640 adv...

Michael
PASSMORE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 11:24 PM   #3
murgatroid42
Great Adventurer

Oddometer: 4,185
My XR650L is a totally different animal, but spec is 1300 RPM at idle. It sounds high to me, but feels good pulling from that. So, 1500 RPM for your KTM is believeable.
murgatroid42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 11:50 PM   #4
Mack
Gone, but never forgotten. RIP, Mack...

Oddometer: 3,797
Mine idled a little high, and sometimes hunted, especially after hard braking, during break in, though I think it was a float height issue. You might need to tweak the idle mixture screw as well. (Are you planning to rejet, install the airbox sidescreen, and tweak the silencer after break in? You will end up tweaking all again.) I have turned my idle way down to enable engine braking on really nasty descents, and as long as I do not get carried away to the point that it tends to stall or engage the auto-decompression, all seems to be good. Cheers, Mack
Old 06-16-2004, 10:20 AM   #5
Tim
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,358
I would tend to go for around 13 - 1400, aim for just above the level where the auto decompessor makes itself heard (nasty clacking sound).