ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Tejas and the Gulf States
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2013, 10:42 AM   #62956
Scribe
£Bob£
 
Scribe's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: In my natural state
Oddometer: 6,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRZ Charlie View Post
I've got a Vizio but all of my electronics have a surge protector plug strip ahead of them. We had ALL of our electronics and all of our appliances get zapped when we lived on Holiday Island. Ended up being a $2K mistake. I had a whole house surge protector installed for about $600.
I thought I had it covered too, but the Direct TV apparently isn't hooked up to a surge connector. Fries the HDMI inputs. Common problem I wish I knew about a couple days ago. I can still use component cables, which delivers a decent picture, but then I'm down to two inputs, from six. I miss the old days when a TV would last 25 years.
__________________
"Do or do not. There is no 'try.'"
— Yoda
Scribe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:44 AM   #62957
mouthfulloflake
Not afraid
 
mouthfulloflake's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: N.W. Arkansas
Oddometer: 15,278
use the illegal box scribe...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HDMI-to-VGA-...item3a7eee6ce4
__________________
In dog beers, I've only had one.
Charter member: T.O. club.
Tilt your head, not the taco.
mouthfulloflake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:44 AM   #62958
JaiDee
Petrolhead
 
JaiDee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Fateville, Arkansas
Oddometer: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scribe View Post
All right, now I'm pissed. All the HDMI inputs on my TV are fried thanks to this morning's electrical storm. I have an $800 paper weight. Apparently they are very sensitive to electrical surges, especially on Vizio TVs. Take note if you've got one.
Years of living in developing nations with widely varying voltages (minute-by-minute) got me in the habit of always using voltage stabilizers and or surge protectors on all my valuable electronics. I do the same here in the U.S.

-JD
__________________
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
- Robert Frost
"Charter Member of the T.O. Club" '08 WR250R, '05 F650GS Dakar
JaiDee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:45 AM   #62959
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 14,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scribe View Post
I thought I had it covered too, but the Direct TV apparently isn't hooked up to a surge connector. Fries the HDMI inputs. Common problem I wish I knew about a couple days ago. I can still use component cables, which delivers a decent picture, but then I'm down to two inputs, from six. I miss the old days when a TV would last 25 years.
Correct me if I am wrong but I think they make input surge protectors for coaxial cables don't they?
TRZ Charlie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:47 AM   #62960
JaiDee
Petrolhead
 
JaiDee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Fateville, Arkansas
Oddometer: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scribe View Post
I thought I had it covered too, but the Direct TV apparently isn't hooked up to a surge connector. Fries the HDMI inputs. Common problem I wish I knew about a couple days ago. I can still use component cables, which delivers a decent picture, but then I'm down to two inputs, from six. I miss the old days when a TV would last 25 years.
The surge went through your coax cables? Wow! Bad luck there.

-JD
__________________
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
- Robert Frost
"Charter Member of the T.O. Club" '08 WR250R, '05 F650GS Dakar
JaiDee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:53 AM   #62961
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRZ Charlie View Post
Correct me if I am wrong but I think they make input surge protectors for coaxial cables don't they?
Yes they do.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:05 AM   #62962
wayno
Beastly Adventurer
 
wayno's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: East of KCMO
Oddometer: 6,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Yes they do.
even combo jobs.....but protection from lighting is a iffy situation..depend on how close it is to your component
__________________
DL650
DR650
98 KTM RXCe
RIDE SAFE
May as well Laugh
wayno is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:06 AM   #62963
Scribe
£Bob£
 
Scribe's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: In my natural state
Oddometer: 6,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaiDee View Post
The surge went through your coax cables? Wow! Bad luck there.

-JD

Apparently that is how it happens when you are connected to Direct TV. I have surge protectors on all the electrical wiring. Lesson learned.
__________________
"Do or do not. There is no 'try.'"
— Yoda
Scribe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:08 AM   #62964
mouthfulloflake
Not afraid
 
mouthfulloflake's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: N.W. Arkansas
Oddometer: 15,278
I think its far more likely to fry stuff via coax, or phone lines rather than AC lines.

most AC things are made to handle between 80-200 vAC

hdmi, coax, and rj11 stuff was never intended to have more than low voltage across it.
__________________
In dog beers, I've only had one.
Charter member: T.O. club.
Tilt your head, not the taco.
mouthfulloflake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:11 AM   #62965
Scribe
£Bob£
 
Scribe's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: In my natural state
Oddometer: 6,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by mouthfulloflake View Post
That thing costs more than the Blu Ray player I just bought! Wouldn't help, either, because I still only have two working inputs on the TV.
__________________
"Do or do not. There is no 'try.'"
— Yoda
Scribe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:18 AM   #62966
mouthfulloflake
Not afraid
 
mouthfulloflake's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: N.W. Arkansas
Oddometer: 15,278
ok then.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2



( I HATE hdmi stuff)
__________________
In dog beers, I've only had one.
Charter member: T.O. club.
Tilt your head, not the taco.
mouthfulloflake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:26 AM   #62967
mouthfulloflake
Not afraid
 
mouthfulloflake's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: N.W. Arkansas
Oddometer: 15,278
Steve Wozniak coming to Barn hill Arena April 7th

as part of the Distinguished Lecturer Series.

http://www.fayettevilleflyer.com/201...ville-april-7/
__________________
In dog beers, I've only had one.
Charter member: T.O. club.
Tilt your head, not the taco.
mouthfulloflake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:50 AM   #62968
Scribe
£Bob£
 
Scribe's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: In my natural state
Oddometer: 6,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by mouthfulloflake View Post
I'd have to wire my devices into this, run the output into a VGA/component converter, then run that output into the TV.

I just wanna watch TV.

You seem like you're electronically literate. What are the odds of buying a new board/circuit/whatever is broken with this damn TV and being able to fix it that way?
__________________
"Do or do not. There is no 'try.'"
— Yoda
Scribe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 12:07 PM   #62969
mouthfulloflake
Not afraid
 
mouthfulloflake's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: N.W. Arkansas
Oddometer: 15,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scribe View Post
I'd have to wire my devices into this, run the output into a VGA/component converter, then run that output into the TV.

I just wanna watch TV.

You seem like you're electronically literate. What are the odds of buying a new board/circuit/whatever is broken with this damn TV and being able to fix it that way?
Not really able to speculate, without looking inside.

might be as simple as a couple of popped caps, or a burnt solder trace.

open it up and look!
__________________
In dog beers, I've only had one.
Charter member: T.O. club.
Tilt your head, not the taco.
mouthfulloflake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 12:43 PM   #62970
stuckin
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Oddometer: 775
Hey Charlie i meet the guy you bought your bike from. Had to go pick up a new cat in fruit town. Say a Adventure ride shop. Talked with the guy some. He said something about the ride coming up. Told him i heard about it on here. Then he asked if i knew you. Did not look around to long in the shop. 4 kids, wife and a cat in the car. looked like a lot of stuff.

stuck
stuckin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014