ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2014, 04:00 PM   #1
clevishook OP
stevedore
 
clevishook's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Oddometer: 1,401
no more xp support

My old desk top runs xp. I want to upgrade to windows eight if it is practical.
It says I have Intel Pentium processor(s) 3.40 Ghz.
Obviously I'm not a tech. I just use it. Can I just save the desk top stuff and load windows eight?
clevishook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 05:59 PM   #2
telejojo
Gnarly Adventurer
 
telejojo's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Huntsville Ala. foothills of the Smokey's
Oddometer: 314
Can you still use it and just get some anti-virus?
__________________
08Concours,09KLR, 80CBX 79KZ1300 09WR450f 2013 Zuma 50 2012 FZ8
telejojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 06:15 PM   #3
NikonsAndVStroms
Beastly Photographer
 
NikonsAndVStroms's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Hub of the Universe
Oddometer: 34,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by telejojo View Post
Can you still use it and just get some anti-virus?
Yeah but there will be OS level exploits never patched, if I had an XP machine I'd either keep it offline or just view anything on it or that I entered into it (like passwords on sites) to be public.
__________________
Motorcycles save lives


"It's the game of life. Do I win or do I lose? One day they're gonna shut the game down. I gotta have as much fun and go around the board as many times as I can before it's my turn to leave."
NikonsAndVStroms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 06:17 PM   #4
troidus
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 10,172
M$ has a Windows 8 readiness tool. Run it and it'll tell you if your computer supports 8 or not.
troidus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 06:17 PM   #5
NikonsAndVStroms
Beastly Photographer
 
NikonsAndVStroms's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Hub of the Universe
Oddometer: 34,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by clevishook View Post
My old desk top runs xp. I want to upgrade to windows eight if it is practical.
It says I have Intel Pentium processor(s) 3.40 Ghz.
Obviously I'm not a tech. I just use it. Can I just save the desk top stuff and load windows eight?
That doesn't mean much without the other details like specific model number. How old is it? And how much RAM does it have? Try right clicking my computer and then clicking on properties.

Computers are getting cheap though, you might be better off with a cheap new one over keeping that around/paying for Windows 8.
__________________
Motorcycles save lives


"It's the game of life. Do I win or do I lose? One day they're gonna shut the game down. I gotta have as much fun and go around the board as many times as I can before it's my turn to leave."
NikonsAndVStroms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 07:40 PM   #6
Hondo
What if its a Samsquamch?
 
Hondo's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Oddometer: 8,688
upgrade to Windows 7 for less and avoid the silly tablet like desktop or work arounds.
__________________
KLRWorld.com Forums - Nighthawk Forums

"Life's an adventure, and I refuse to live a boring one."

Hondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 08:24 PM   #7
Nailhead
Painting by numbers
 
Nailhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Glendo, WY- Pop. 230
Oddometer: 5,737
For the month or so I had a laptop running 8, I learned to really dislike that idiotic Playskool tiled desktop. Then Excel seized up (the only reason I bought it was for Excel) and it took a long arcing flight into the dumpster.
__________________
-Chris


'04 GS Adv- A fond memory
'07 990 Adventure- still bonding...

How hard can it be? - Jeremy Clarkson
Nailhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 08:36 PM   #8
boredom
Adventurer
 
boredom's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Adirondak
Oddometer: 98
Windows 7 will run on a Prescott Pentium 4, but it'll be very slow, especially if the rest of the computer is that old. Windows 8 will be a slideshow.

You can get a brand spanking new Acer/Asus/Lenovo laptop running Windows 8.1 (which should be patched shortly to add back the start menu in some capacity) for <$350.
boredom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 11:13 PM   #9
victor441
Studly Adventurer
 
victor441's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Sonoma, Calif.
Oddometer: 732
Another option would be to dual boot some version of Linux, there are LOTS of them but FWIW I like Xubuntu or Linux Mint XFCE....Windows XP would remain if you still needed it for legacy programs and were OK with possible security risks and you could use Linux for everything else. Anyway, a zero $$$ option and worth a try....and XFCE versions of Linux run FAST on most old hardware.
http://www.linuxmint.com/

BTW, Best Buy is giving $100 trade in on working laptops running XP through 4/19 IIRC, can be used for a new laptop, chromebook, etc...could get a Chromebook for $100 that way
http://www.reddit.com/r/chromeos/com..._buy_xp_trade/

(I have no connection to BB and in general despise the company but could be a good deal if you wanted a Chromebook, etc. anyway)
victor441 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 03:56 AM   #10
clevishook OP
stevedore
 
clevishook's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Oddometer: 1,401
Thanks for the replies. Maybe try Best Buy. This is the family room computer and everyone has lap tops from work so I'll look for a new tower.
clevishook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 05:38 AM   #11
Dysco
caddis muncher
 
Dysco's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Salida, CO
Oddometer: 15,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by clevishook View Post
Thanks for the replies. Maybe try Best Buy. This is the family room computer and everyone has lap tops from work so I'll look for a new tower.


Right click on My Computer, go to properties. It will tell you what you have. It's probably fine, and I recommend Windows 7 Home. Buy it online for cheap.
Dysco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 07:38 AM   #12
mud
I just wander.....
 
mud's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Roseville, MN
Oddometer: 1,550
I will give another thumbs-up (as up as can be for a windows product) for Windows 7. I have it on 2 machines that used to have XP. It is fine, kind of nice actually.

I have Win 8 on one machine, I am less than thrilled with it. It is fine, but a memory pig that is just fluff if you ask me.

I have been using Ubuntu on a netbook I have. It kicks ass. WAY better than the XP it replaced.
__________________
2007 Factory Husaberg 380FE
2007 Montesa 4rt
1984 Husqvarna 500AE
mud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 09:24 AM   #13
troidus
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 10,172
I put 7 on my wife's netbook. It's no speed demon, but being a clean install on a SSD, it's no slower than XP was. And I made sure her account isn't an admin account, so hopefully she'll pick up fewer viruses.
troidus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 04:45 AM   #14
clevishook OP
stevedore
 
clevishook's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Oddometer: 1,401
Went to the local TigerDirect and bought Windows 7 64bit on the advise of the tech at the store. Would not load on the desk top. Called the store and another tech tells me Pentium processors need 32 bit software. Check the receipt and no returns on open software arrgh. Go back to the store tell the story and they exchanged the disc for me. The 32 bit installed as advertised and now the computer is good to go.
clevishook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 05:49 AM   #15
Woodcock
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Oddometer: 155
http://www.geekosystem.com/irs-windows-xp-whoops/
Woodcock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014