ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny Things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2015, 09:39 AM   #1
RhinoVonHawkrider OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
RhinoVonHawkrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Eastern Pa
Oddometer: 1,580
Brake Caliper Bolts - Cage

So I helped my neighbor do a brake job.

His caliper piston was toast.

So I replaced both calipers and I tripled checked the caliper bolts (the ones that mount the caliper to the axle) and the fcukers came loose - luckily he didn't loose them.

But should we have used Loctite on the bolts? They were a Real beach to get loose.
__________________
FREE Discount Prescriptions http://hta270hs.supremerxsavings.com/
AVO - R.I.P. - "When you don't have goals, you can't fail" - Neil Fallon
"He said, Son, remember where U came From" - LOA
Until the colour of a man's skin - Is of no more significance than the colour of his eyes -Me say war RNM
RhinoVonHawkrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 10:12 AM   #2
Murf2
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Kansas
Oddometer: 848
I've never had that happen. I'd buy new ones, if they aren't crazy high. Maybe blue locktite but not red. There's probably a torque spec on them. Did you torque them? What model of car is it?
Murf2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 10:16 AM   #3
RhinoVonHawkrider OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
RhinoVonHawkrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Eastern Pa
Oddometer: 1,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf2 View Post
I've never had that happen. I'd buy new ones, if they aren't crazy high. Maybe blue locktite but not red. There's probably a torque spec on them. Did you torque them? What model of car is it?

Didn't torque it - Its a Nissan Truck Titan? (Full size)

I've done plenty of brake jobs before & never heard of this happening.

I know these bolts were tight. And as stated, a real fcuking cunt to get loose in the first place, thats why I was thinking maybe they had Loctitie or similar on them.
__________________
FREE Discount Prescriptions http://hta270hs.supremerxsavings.com/
AVO - R.I.P. - "When you don't have goals, you can't fail" - Neil Fallon
"He said, Son, remember where U came From" - LOA
Until the colour of a man's skin - Is of no more significance than the colour of his eyes -Me say war RNM
RhinoVonHawkrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 10:23 AM   #4
Murf2
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Kansas
Oddometer: 848
I just took a quick peek on the web and it seems to be fairly common on these trucks. Some say the manual says not to reuse the bolts. Check out some of the Titan forums. IDK, I wouldn't think they'd use torque to yield bolts there. I'd check on new ones if I was doing it for a friend. If it was for myself I'd probably try locktite.

Good luck!
Murf
Murf2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 10:24 AM   #5
RhinoVonHawkrider OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
RhinoVonHawkrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Eastern Pa
Oddometer: 1,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf2 View Post
I just took a quick peek on the web and it seems to be fairly common on these trucks. Some say the manual says not to reuse the bolts. Check out some of the Titan forums. IDK, I wouldn't think they'd use torque to yield bolts there. I'd check on new ones if I was doing it for a friend. If it was for myself I'd probably try locktite.

Good luck!
Murf

Thanks Man
__________________
FREE Discount Prescriptions http://hta270hs.supremerxsavings.com/
AVO - R.I.P. - "When you don't have goals, you can't fail" - Neil Fallon
"He said, Son, remember where U came From" - LOA
Until the colour of a man's skin - Is of no more significance than the colour of his eyes -Me say war RNM
RhinoVonHawkrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 04:58 PM   #6
Attico
Wrong way 'round
 
Attico's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Aylmer, Quebec
Oddometer: 1,988
Probably a stretch bolt. Reuse with loctite or replace.
__________________
“If you think adventure is dangerous, try routine; it is lethal.” (Coelho)
Attico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 07:18 PM   #7
Solaros1
Beastly Adventurer
 
Solaros1's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Roswell, GA
Oddometer: 1,281
I've seen three instances where trucks have lost caliper bolts while on trail rides - I use blue loctite on mine. I keep meaning to keep some spares in my tool box in case it happens again - its a real bitch to walk a half mile of trail trying to find a missing bolt.
Solaros1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 07:16 AM   #8
troidus
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 16,296
I had a caliper come loose on a car once. Fortunately it was FWD and the wheel kept the caliper from falling off. I'd just gotten it back from a shop and I guess they didn't tighten the bolts properly.

On my Camry, the spec is about 25 ft./lbs. for the caliper pins. I've not had one come loose. Use a torque wrench for critical fasteners.
troidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015