ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 191 votes, 4.99 average. Display Modes
Old 06-20-2013, 06:01 PM   #391
Lobby
Viel Spass, Vato!
 
Lobby's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Oddometer: 27,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boon Booni View Post
Ah geez, after much soul searching and reviewing the Montana thread, I bit the bullet and went and got the russian 2 gig card and upgraded my 478 to the latest version of City Navigator North America.


Hmmm. Where's the info on the Russian card?

Also, are you comfortable up upgrading CNNA? Did you have to use a special procedure?
__________________
Gracie's Gold
Lobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 06:08 PM   #392
Boon Booni
Red Clay Halo
 
Boon Booni's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, Va
Oddometer: 13,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lobby View Post
Hmmm. Where's the info on the Russian card?

Also, are you comfortable up upgrading CNNA? Did you have to use a special procedure?
I tried the special proceedure to overwrite the existing maps and load into internal memory. I couldn't get it to work, though I'm going to try again later. I just ended up loading as much of CNNA as I could onto the 2 gig card. That was a big portion of the lower 48. I could have fit more, but I also loaded all of VA, MD, WV, TN, NC, PA, OH, KY, GA, SC Roads and REC and Topo. Did this the normal way with Mapsource.

Here's a link on the russian 2 gig card..

http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=762001
__________________
Where the fuck...
Where the fuck is the bike?
You gotta be shitting me.
Where the fuck is the road?

Boon Booni screwed with this post 06-20-2013 at 06:45 PM
Boon Booni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 09:12 PM   #393
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,898
I've been very tempted to pick up that 2gig card, but just haven't pulled the trigger yet.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 01:46 PM   #394
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,747
I've got the Garmin 512 card and not very long ago I loaded all of CN 2013 onto my GPS. I seem to recall I had to install part of the map onto the memory card, but after that it was seemless.

Are you guys saying that the newer maps exceed even the 512 card?

Jamie
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 01:54 PM   #395
Boon Booni
Red Clay Halo
 
Boon Booni's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, Va
Oddometer: 13,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Z View Post
I've got the Garmin 512 card and not very long ago I loaded all of CN 2013 onto my GPS. I seem to recall I had to install part of the map onto the memory card, but after that it was seemless.

Are you guys saying that the newer maps exceed even the 512 card?

Jamie
The latest CNNA is close to 2 gigs.
.
What I've been reading lately says the 478 internal memory is partitioned into two parts. 1.4 gigs and 700 megs. I imagine that's the CNNA and Blue Chart division.

Do you remember how you loaded the maps into internal memory?
__________________
Where the fuck...
Where the fuck is the bike?
You gotta be shitting me.
Where the fuck is the road?
Boon Booni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 03:24 AM   #396
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boon Booni View Post
Do you remember how you loaded the maps into internal memory?
Through the Garmin MapUpdater program. You plug in your GPS and it checks for the latest maps and you can purchase them.

I don't recall the whole procedure, but it was pretty smooth as far as I can remember, and the memory was never an issue. Honestly, I can't remember much about it, other than I did a bit of research before, and found some GPS forums which said you could put a memory card in and use it.

Jamie
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:10 AM   #397
DockingPilot
Hooked Up and Hard Over
 
DockingPilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, N.J.
Oddometer: 9,239
Yes. Garmin Map updater. Automated after that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Frank Reinbold

"Every bike I ever had, was the best bike I ever had, when I had it"
DockingPilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:16 AM   #398
Boon Booni
Red Clay Halo
 
Boon Booni's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, Va
Oddometer: 13,233
So you guys purchased the download? I purchases the DVD so I would be able to load the maps onto my computer as well as having them on the unit. But I can't seem to figure out how to get the maps from my computer to the internal memory.
__________________
Where the fuck...
Where the fuck is the bike?
You gotta be shitting me.
Where the fuck is the road?
Boon Booni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 07:38 AM   #399
Lobby
Viel Spass, Vato!
 
Lobby's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Oddometer: 27,748
__________________
Gracie's Gold
Lobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 07:45 AM   #400
DockingPilot
Hooked Up and Hard Over
 
DockingPilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, N.J.
Oddometer: 9,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boon Booni View Post
So you guys purchased the download? I purchases the DVD so I would be able to load the maps onto my computer as well as having them on the unit. But I can't seem to figure out how to get the maps from my computer to the internal memory.
Yes. You have to purchase the maps. I have the lifetime maps so I get every update. The maps are locked until you buy them.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Frank Reinbold

"Every bike I ever had, was the best bike I ever had, when I had it"
DockingPilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 01:52 PM   #401
Boon Booni
Red Clay Halo
 
Boon Booni's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, Va
Oddometer: 13,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by DockingPilot View Post
Yes. You have to purchase the maps. I have the lifetime maps so I get every update. The maps are locked until you buy them.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
But the lifetime maps only update the unit. You don't get the new maps to load onto your computer, correct?
__________________
Where the fuck...
Where the fuck is the bike?
You gotta be shitting me.
Where the fuck is the road?
Boon Booni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 02:29 PM   #402
pixellman
Adventurer
 
pixellman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto-Canada
Oddometer: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boon Booni View Post
But the lifetime maps only update the unit. You don't get the new maps to load onto your computer, correct?
You have two option ..load to GPS or into GPS and computer
pixellman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 05:25 AM   #403
DockingPilot
Hooked Up and Hard Over
 
DockingPilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, N.J.
Oddometer: 9,239
Like mentioned.
You do, you select " update both GPS and computer".


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Frank Reinbold

"Every bike I ever had, was the best bike I ever had, when I had it"
DockingPilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 05:28 AM   #404
Boon Booni
Red Clay Halo
 
Boon Booni's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, Va
Oddometer: 13,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixellman View Post
You have two option ..load to GPS or into GPS and computer
Quote:
Originally Posted by DockingPilot View Post
Like mentioned.
You do, you select " update both GPS and computer".


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
Up to this point, I've never seen this explicitly spelled out. I was under impression that the downloads were only for the unit. . Ah well, I'm up to date for the moment.
__________________
Where the fuck...
Where the fuck is the bike?
You gotta be shitting me.
Where the fuck is the road?
Boon Booni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:54 PM   #405
discochris
Beastly Adventurer
 
discochris's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Sometimes the Twin Cities, Sometimes NW Wisconsin
Oddometer: 1,243
478 and Mac 10.8 Mountain Lion

Anyone else have issues connecting their 478 to a Mac running the latest OS 10.8.4? I can't get the machine to recognize it, or to connect through mygarmin.com. It recognizes my wife's Nuvi, and if I plug into my old Macbook, it works just fine. I posted on Garmin's site as well, but thought I'd check here too.
discochris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014