ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Central – From Da Nort Woods to the Plane States
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-29-2009, 09:30 PM   #1
lonerockz OP
Permanent n00b

Oddometer: 663
Greater Twincities Photo Tag!

Ok I'm tired of having the central region photo tag be a full day’s ride away. So I'm starting one near me so I can find some new places to go and see.

The major mechanics are the same as other tags: post a photo of a landmark with your motorcycle/scooter/motorized bicycle. Next person to post a photo of the same landmark with their /scooter/motorized bicycle earns the right and responsibility to post the next photo.

Because I'm an engineer I have more rules with mine.
  1. The goal of this is to have cool places to visit, not to stump your ADV brethren with some out of the way mole hill. So to that end all landmarks must be one of the following kinds:
    • Unique non mobile manmade structures larger than a 1958 Chevy impala. (ie nothing that moves)
    • Unique inorganic landscape features that are larger than the original Minnesota governor’s mansion. (ie no pretty stones by the side of the road)
    • Unique organic landscape features larger than the Minnesota state capitol. (ie no trees)
    • All restaurant tags must include a second photo of the dish eaten there. (ie I'm a fat guy in search of good places to eat)
  2. From March to October all tags must be within 200 miles of the Minnesota state capitol. From November to February all tags must be within 75 miles of the capitol. (ie not Tennessee)

Two tools for checking straight line distance can be found here: http://www.distancefromto.net/ & http://www.freemaptools.com/how-far-is-it-between.htm
  3. All tags must be accessible by a 1966 BMW R60/2 with 18 year old cracked street tires. (ie not on an island that is only accessible by an ice bridge in January)