User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-23-2001, 06:24 PM   #1
Baldy OP
Site Owner

Oddometer: 8,906
Thumbs down Widder vests: sorta lame?

So I've been riding with Widder vests and arm chaps for about two years, and of all equipment we own (including boots), our vests are the lamest.

The quality of construction's fine, but turning the nob to Dark Toast feels more like Cool Day to me. So then you put on those Mickey-Mouse arm chaps in an attempt to get warm, making your arms warm in spots and cold elsewhere. What am I missing?

I am sure there are contrary opinions on this board. Widder lovers, defend thyselves.
Old 09-26-2001, 09:37 PM   #2
drholm
Easily Amused

Oddometer: 782
Widder vest

Ok...I guess I'll jump to the Widder defense. Granted, my only experiences have been at upper 30's temps, and I didn't spring for the fancy Knob Kontrol...I'm an on and off kinda guy...worn over a long sleeve shirt and under a windproof jacket, it keep me toasty all ride long, no sleeves attached. I did have a light fleece under the jacket which, I think, helped trap the heat. If I needed a little extra shot, I just arched my back a little to press the vest closer and warmed right up. Could be the t-stat won't let the vest come to full temp...try it without it. Also, they need to fit pretty snug...you may want to try a smaller size or put on a few extra pounds before the cold weather sets in.
drholm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2001, 07:54 AM   #3
Rad
Just me

Oddometer: 12,160
Hey Baldy

I have a Widder vest and a Gerbings Jacket liner. The vest collects dust in my closet and my Gerbings goes everywhere with me.

I am sure you know this already but to make any of this electric stuff work you must only wear a very thin layer under it. If you are not warm enough then layer over the electric stuff and under your jacket.

rad
Rad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2001, 09:59 AM   #4
Baldy OP
Site Owner