ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2011, 12:08 PM   #61
R Doug
Recalculating
 
R Doug's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Clemmons, NC
Oddometer: 311
Great reply. Thanks for the details.
__________________
-- Doug
R Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:48 PM   #62
viola-tor
Needs to ride!
 
viola-tor's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Rockies. Freakin' Rockies.
Oddometer: 2,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Doug View Post
I just ordered a set of the Caponord tubeless (19/17") for my Adventure last week. I can't wait to get them.

Since I'll be reducing the size of the diameter of the rear tire by 1" and keeping the same profile tire (i.e. 150/70), I'm considering getting a new sprocket for the rear to keep revs down at speed. How many teeth should I go down on the rear? AND, does anyone have recommendations on some good aftermarket sprockets?

I'll keep my stock sprocket for when I want to change back to the 18" rear for my more gnarly plays in the dirt.

I've been running 16/45 which I put on for low-gear dirt with the big wheels mostly, and it's a kick in the pants with the 19/17 street rims! W00T! Wheelie... It does rev a little higher (duh) but no problems for touring IMO. I just got in from a 3000 mi. trip, no complaints, and no mercy on the throttle either.
viola-tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:16 AM   #63
Chuckracer
Jerkus Maximus
 
Chuckracer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lowville, NY
Oddometer: 7,178
I've got a 19/17 set on my Adv, running 17/45 and still wish for lower gearing. Gonna put a 16 on the front next. Sixth gear is still like an overdrive gear.
__________________
2005.5 KTM 950 Adventure
2001 Scorpa SY250

Chuckracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 11:02 AM   #64
LoFlow
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Kitsap
Oddometer: 940
I too use the 16/45 combo. Since it's a tall heavy bike I like the low first gear for taking off on hills or uneven terrain. And for me it makes third gear perfect for the type of dirt roads I spend most of my time on.

Top gear speed is not a drawback for me because I rarely cruise over 75 mph for extended periods of time. If I do then I can install the 17 tooth if I need too. But lately I've taken the lazy route and left the 16/45 as my standard gearing.
LoFlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 04:54 AM   #65
Subutai
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Oddometer: 555
What everything would you need and how much will it cost to have a pair of Caponords that you can just change on under(rims, hubs, rotors, rear sprocket..)? I'm in Europe, so with taxes and customs and everything for ordering from stateside might as well buy another R with different tyres on it. It would be great to have a true tubeless setup for my R with road tires.

sidestand's S looks like the cats balls, I would imagine my R would be something similar with just the black instead of the blue

I saw a Caponord front rim on eBay for like 175 pounds from a used bike, though it was a silver one, so should I bother hunting down a pair from a crashed bike? I mean don't see them too often at least around here.
Subutai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 05:16 PM   #66
woody's wheel works
Built to Last
 
woody's wheel works's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: 39*40'33.86N 104*59'54.69W
Oddometer: 3,299
some answers to a bunch of questions....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autodidact View Post
What everything would you need and how much will it cost to have a pair of Caponords that you can just change on under(rims, hubs, rotors, rear sprocket..)? I'm in Europe, so with taxes and customs and everything for ordering from stateside might as well buy another R with different tyres on it. It would be great to have a true tubeless setup for my R with road tires......well,the CapNord set-up has been a big hit and proven it's mettle on all surfaces,,,there's over 3 dozen out there and the unanimous consensus is they work extremely well,,,[ save for one banned and another inmate with differing view-points] FYI,,,not one in the last five years has been in for any repair,,and they do come with a one year warranty against spokes loosening /going out of true...even with no grub screws!!!

There are other techniques for sealing standard style wire wheels that have now withstood the test of time,,,for those that are the do it your selfers i have shared the technology/technique here:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...2&postcount=98

,,,,or we charge for it with a one year warranty

FYI ,,,the Tubliss is rated ''dirt only'' and doesn't come in these sizes anyway

then there's the Alpina set-up,,which i have no direct experience with outside of having trued half a dozen of them



I saw a Caponord front rim on eBay for like 175 pounds=???$$$ from a used bike, though it was a silver one, so should I bother hunting down a pair from a crashed bike? I mean don't see them too often at least around here.FYI,,they only come in silver and are drilled for the oem hubs,,,they will not work as is ,,they have to be modified ,,,they are close to $1,000 for front and rear and ya have to add extra to strip and re-anodize to the color of your choice,,,FYI<<r
regarding gearing...stock is 17/ 42 most everyone automatically installs either 17/45 or 16/42 with their 21/18s,,

for the 19/17 the oem 17/42 is fine ie gives same performance as 21/18....

however,,for more spirited riding you all are on track with 16/45,, a good time /spirited/snappy performance upgrade/experience

regarding good aftermarket sprockets ,,our customers have been very satisfied with the Stealth-Supersprox units @$87 and you have a 38-52T to choose from...bling AND nice technology

quote:
mousitsas ..[.also are the capo rims significantly heavier than the excels? ]

not significantly after you add the tube and.or sealing technique,,could get you exact numbers if it's important..holler

quote
mousitsas

[Since nobody asked it, can the caponord rims be laced to the standard hubs with the caponord spokes, or do we need special spokes???]

sorry neither the spokes NOR hub worked out,,,FYI,,,i have proprietary rights to the spoke set-ups,,after all i spent a ton of time figuring how to not only adapt these rims to KTM hubs ,,but also improve on the original wheels,,, when it comes time to build and true them...things aren't always as easy as the seem.

soo,,we proto-typed the wheels using the oem hubs ,,YES they have worked and no failures ,,but knowing my clientele,,i opted for a fail-safe version of the oem hubs and had em made in billet to my much beefier in critical areas specs....

with the recent price spikes,,, you are now faced with the difficult decision: ''do i spend $498 for a complete oem set up OR $499 for the complete made in usa billet assy sporting any color you would like???''

quote:
Peanuts

[ Anyone fitted a complete Caponord front wheel? Disc diameter is same......]

save your time ,,that was the first thing we tried

well hope that gets most of the questions out of the way...you can pm/e-mail me or ask more questions in the vendor threads on this subject :
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=284243

and the whole 19/17 set-up in general...
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=439443

wish i had a dollar for every attaboy i get doing this conversion in it's many versions....
w
__________________
If you have any questions... Post Em Here
..For more info check our website...
www.woodyswheelworks.com
....Wanna e-mail us... woodyswheelworks@gmail.com
......Wanna talk,,,call us
toll free... 1-866-936-0232
........If you're lost???... GPS = 39*40'33.86N x 104*59'54.69W

woody's wheel works screwed with this post 01-17-2011 at 06:54 PM
woody's wheel works is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 08:44 AM   #67
R Doug
Recalculating
 
R Doug's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Clemmons, NC
Oddometer: 311



I took off the stock wheels today and moved the hardware to Woody's wheels.

Here's the front...





And the rear...






And one final addition for today.

__________________
-- Doug

R Doug screwed with this post 02-05-2011 at 02:35 PM
R Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 11:14 AM   #68
Chuckracer
Jerkus Maximus
 
Chuckracer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lowville, NY
Oddometer: 7,178
Loverly!!!
__________________
2005.5 KTM 950 Adventure
2001 Scorpa SY250

Chuckracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 01:57 AM   #69
nat_han
2 Wheelers By Choice.. =]
 
nat_han's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Singapore!
Oddometer: 200
Hi,I'm not a owner of the 990ADV... but there's no ABS ring/system involved in this particular model right? Was wondering (if there is that ABS thingy) how the KTM handles from downsizing the front from a 21" to a 19" rim...I'm ordering the same setup for my 800GS, and worried about the front rim size causing a problem with the ABS system. OEM is 21". the Caponord is 19".
nat_han is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 02:08 AM   #70
nat_han
2 Wheelers By Choice.. =]
 
nat_han's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Singapore!
Oddometer: 200
From what i've gathered over the internet, the 2009 Adventure model has the ABS feature. But not the Adventure R model.

If so, anyone who has the standard 990 Adv model with ABS tried fitting the abs rings from the 21"-18" to the Caponord's 19"-17"?

Any problems with the ABS system after installing the Caponord's Rims?
nat_han is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 02:39 AM   #71
woody's wheel works
Built to Last
 
woody's wheel works's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: 39*40'33.86N 104*59'54.69W
Oddometer: 3,299
problems with ABS after rim size changes????

FYI,,,as far as i know,,and this has been backed up by the feedback from past convertees,,,it hasn't affected the ABS,,

your speedometer/odometer will read a bit different,,,in some cases believe it or not taking the erroneous reading experienced with the 21'' wheel and being on the money with the 19[ktm 950/990 s if i remember correctly??]

on my r1200gs BWOE,,i've gone down to 17 front and up to 21'' from the stock 19''er and 150/70x17 rear to 14/080x18 ,,,,ABS still works

so fret not!!!

woody
__________________
If you have any questions... Post Em Here
..For more info check our website...
www.woodyswheelworks.com
....Wanna e-mail us... woodyswheelworks@gmail.com
......Wanna talk,,,call us
toll free... 1-866-936-0232
........If you're lost???... GPS = 39*40'33.86N x 104*59'54.69W
woody's wheel works is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 02:29 PM   #72
Subutai
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Oddometer: 555
The standard model has ABS, the R model doesn't.

When you turn the power on from the ignition lock and the dash does the self test thing, it has a number reading on it. This is the length of the trail of the front tire, one full turn. You can adjust this so the odo will record correctly. I am not sure if this has any effect on the speed reading though.

I do not remember if the Adventure does this when you turn the key, and currently am not able to check. A Super Duke does. They have the exact same dash panel, so this would indicate that the functionality is the same.
Subutai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 05:54 PM   #73
R Doug
Recalculating
 
R Doug's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Clemmons, NC
Oddometer: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Autodidact View Post
The standard model has ABS, the R model doesn't.

When you turn the power on from the ignition lock and the dash does the self test thing, it has a number reading on it. This is the length of the trail of the front tire, one full turn. You can adjust this so the odo will record correctly. I am not sure if this has any effect on the speed reading though.

I do not remember if the Adventure does this when you turn the key, and currently am not able to check. A Super Duke does. They have the exact same dash panel, so this would indicate that the functionality is the same.
The Adventure does have a way to tell the computer what the front wheel size is. Of course, the standard setting for wheel size is 21" (WS 21) by default. To tell the computer differently, follow these instructions:

Step one: Mode = Trip F
Step two: Hold Mode and Set buttons until WS21 displays on screen (~ 10 sec).
Step three: hit "mode" until "19" shows
Step four: Hit "set"
__________________
-- Doug
R Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 07:57 PM   #74
-GUV-
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: QLD Australia
Oddometer: 230
This may be the way of changing it on the older models but it's not the same for the newer models. If anyone has worked that out yet I'm keen to learn.

Grant.
-GUV- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 02:26 PM   #75
stou
Gnarly Adventurer
 
stou's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Oddometer: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Doug View Post
Step one: Mode = Trip F
Step two: Hold Mode and Set buttons until WS21 displays on screen (~ 10 sec).
Step three: hit "mode" until "19" shows
Step four: Hit "set"
This procedure doesn't work on a 990R. Anyone know if there's a way to set the wheel size on a 2010 990R?
__________________
2010 KTM Adventure 990R - 2012 Ossa TR280i
'87 Honda TLR 200 - '72 Honda CB350K4 - '72 Honda CD175
http://www.stoudesign.com
Montreal to Moab 2008: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=343166
stou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014