ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-29-2009, 04:23 PM   #1
hppyfngy OP
not dead yet
 
hppyfngy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Where the Skyline meets the BRP
Oddometer: 4,055
Bluhduh Zumo 550 Screen Problems $#%^&!!!

Hey, my 2 year old 550 has been shutting down and acting a little slow sometimes but today it went crazy...

The touchscreen is screwed up! I touch somewhere on the screen and something else happens. I try to input an address and hit 2 and get 5. I hit 8 and get 5. When in navigation mode, like 3D going down the road, it randomly goes to the overhead view as if you touched the screen...

It's all wonky...

Anybody know if there's a hard reset or restore button combo?

Had any problems like this? I have trips coming up and hate to be without it...
__________________
Some say I'm apathetic, but I don't care. - Randy

'13 KLR 650 For Sale!
hppyfngy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 04:40 PM   #2
CNS-IT
Let Go
 
CNS-IT's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: USA, Arizona
Oddometer: 526
My first thought would be the battery is bad and needs to be replaced.

Try contacting support:
Monday Friday: 8 AM 6 PM Central Time (closed holidays)
US: 913-397-8200
US Toll Free: 1-800-800-1020
Canada: 1-866-429-9296
CNS-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 06:56 PM   #3
hppyfngy OP
not dead yet
 
hppyfngy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Where the Skyline meets the BRP
Oddometer: 4,055
Battery shows as full up.

Is there a reset or restore?
__________________
Some say I'm apathetic, but I don't care. - Randy

'13 KLR 650 For Sale!
hppyfngy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 08:40 PM   #4
JR356
Beastly Adventurer
 
JR356's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Way out West
Oddometer: 3,498
Found this on another post:

To perform a master reset on the zumo 450/550:

1. Power the zumo off
2. Touch-and-hold the bottom right corner of the Touchscreen
3. Power the zumo on
4. Release the power button when the zumo powers on
5. Continue to hold your finger on the touch screen until "Erase all user data?" appears
6. Release your finger from the Touchscreen
7. Touch "Yes"

JR356
JR356 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 05:49 AM   #5
hppyfngy OP
not dead yet
 
hppyfngy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Where the Skyline meets the BRP
Oddometer: 4,055
Thanks, I was trying that but didn't have the complete instructions.

I also got an email response from Garmin and they gave me a set of instructions to try.

Will report back
__________________
Some say I'm apathetic, but I don't care. - Randy

'13 KLR 650 For Sale!
hppyfngy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 06:31 AM   #6
hppyfngy OP
not dead yet
 
hppyfngy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Where the Skyline meets the BRP
Oddometer: 4,055
Didn't work

FYI, I tried the Webupdate per Garmin's instructions. Updated firmware and gps chipset. Then tried reset via erase user data as sugested here.

Doesn't help. In fact I'm unable to complete the erase user data function because my touchscreen doesn't respond correctly.

Emailed Garmin again. We'll see but I bet I'm sending this one in for service...
__________________
Some say I'm apathetic, but I don't care. - Randy

'13 KLR 650 For Sale!
hppyfngy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 06:45 AM   #7
bombarde
DL650AK7 - K75
 
bombarde's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Braintree, MA
Oddometer: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by hppyfngy
Emailed Garmin again. We'll see but I bet I'm sending this one in for service...
This happened to me several months ago. The 550 was long out of warranty, but I was nice to them on the phone and they covered it at no charge. Of course, it prolly helps that I own half a dozen other Garmins...

It doesn't hurt to ask because it seems to be at the discretion of the CSR.
bombarde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 01:57 PM   #8
FrankS
...please wait...
 
FrankS's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 416
This might be a too obvious fix but have you tried to clean the screen? Mine showed the same funky behavior after a long trip and after a good wash in the kitchen sink all was good.

Regards

Frank
FrankS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 06:09 PM   #9
hppyfngy OP
not dead yet
 
hppyfngy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Where the Skyline meets the BRP
Oddometer: 4,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankS
This might be a too obvious fix but have you tried to clean the screen? Mine showed the same funky behavior after a long trip and after a good wash in the kitchen sink all was good.

Regards

Frank

Jeez Frank, I thought you were either nuts or a genius, but of course I tried it... and it helped!?!

But it wasn't a total fix, at least not so far. Really weird. I haven't ever really cleaned it well but it hasn't ever been very dirty...at least to look at it.

After cleaning it works better, and then it seems to go back to it's wonkiness after a while.

I'm now I'm running the battery down and it seems to be working...

I think it might be helping...we'll see...
__________________
Some say I'm apathetic, but I don't care. - Randy

'13 KLR 650 For Sale!
hppyfngy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 06:31 PM   #10
Mike in Atlanta
Oh Noes
 
Mike in Atlanta's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Decatur, GA
Oddometer: 989
I had this exact problem and nothing fixed it. Call Garmin, they will send me a refurbed unit for $150.
__________________
Mike

07 R1200GS
Mike in Atlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 05:50 AM   #11
hppyfngy OP
not dead yet
 
hppyfngy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Where the Skyline meets the BRP
Oddometer: 4,055
Looks likely that this unit will have to go back...
__________________
Some say I'm apathetic, but I don't care. - Randy

'13 KLR 650 For Sale!
hppyfngy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 06:28 PM   #12
hppyfngy OP
not dead yet
 
hppyfngy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Where the Skyline meets the BRP
Oddometer: 4,055
Well, last straw I guess. I tried to calibrate the touchscreen.

If yours is a little off you can try this. As you power on the unit continue to hold down the power button for 45 seconds and you'll get a calibration walk through.

Mine didn't work of course so it's off for replacement.

Better luck to you...
__________________
Some say I'm apathetic, but I don't care. - Randy

'13 KLR 650 For Sale!
hppyfngy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 06:47 PM   #13
Behindbars
Let's Ride
 
Behindbars's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Groves,TX
Oddometer: 650
My 550 was doing the same thing. Called Garmin and ended up having to send it in for another one. The one they sent me works great. Better than the old one ever did.
__________________
2011 Kawasaki Concours 14
2009 KTM 950 Super Enduro
Behindbars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 11:13 AM   #14
hppyfngy OP
not dead yet
 
hppyfngy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Where the Skyline meets the BRP
Oddometer: 4,055
Well, I guess I'm half as nice as bombarde or twice as nice as Mike in Atlanta...

They're gonna send me a refurb for $75. I can handle that.
__________________
Some say I'm apathetic, but I don't care. - Randy

'13 KLR 650 For Sale!
hppyfngy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 08:57 PM   #15
Mike in Atlanta
Oh Noes
 
Mike in Atlanta's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Decatur, GA
Oddometer: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by hppyfngy
Well, I guess I'm half as nice as bombarde or twice as nice as Mike in Atlanta...

They're gonna send me a refurb for $75. I can handle that.

Next time I get the urge for Vegas, will just call Garmin customer service. It's as much of a gamble as throwing the dice
__________________
Mike

07 R1200GS
Mike in Atlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014