ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2011, 11:25 AM   #106
Gangplank
Advenchaintourer
 
Gangplank's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Oddometer: 2,297
A few notes... some of the above is correct, some incorrect.

Units like the PCV and Bazzaz FI module all go inline between the ECU and the fuel injectors.

They allow you to change = magnify or reduce the fuel being injected. It is exactly like above ECU says X amount of fuel, PCV unit says for this TPS and RPM change that to X+__% which can be +/-. It has it for every TPS and every RPM from pretty low to redline.

Auto Tune DOES NOT tune on the fly. It allows you to create map recommendations while riding but you then either accept or reject those suggestions when you look at it on a PC.

I use the Bazzaz unit on my GSXR750 trackbike. Works amazingly well.

If Bazzaz made a unit for the F800GS I'd use it. They make units for a few BMW bikes. I might just have to call a contact I have at Bazzaz and see if they might be willing to make one for the F800GS....
__________________
Ride more, bark less
Gangplank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 05:21 AM   #107
HighTechCoonass
Living the Dream....
 
HighTechCoonass's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: land of the swamps!, Cajun Country LA
Oddometer: 2,389
Laugh

Great info here! Thanks for you insight! I see ....so these modules also (wired in series) to change outputs to injectors.

More fuel? = add time (micro seconds) to the "injector On" command output.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gangplank View Post
A few notes... some of the above is correct, some incorrect.

Units like the PCV and Bazzaz FI module all go inline between the ECU and the fuel injectors.

They allow you to change = magnify or reduce the fuel being injected. It is exactly like above ECU says X amount of fuel, PCV unit says for this TPS and RPM change that to X+__% which can be +/-. It has it for every TPS and every RPM from pretty low to redline.

Auto Tune DOES NOT tune on the fly. It allows you to create map recommendations while riding but you then either accept or reject those suggestions when you look at it on a PC.

I use the Bazzaz unit on my GSXR750 trackbike. Works amazingly well.

If Bazzaz made a unit for the F800GS I'd use it. They make units for a few BMW bikes. I might just have to call a contact I have at Bazzaz and see if they might be willing to make one for the F800GS....
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxr140 View Post
No, it can be looked at as more or less just a sophisticated, tunable version of the various booster plugs out there.

It goes in line with the TPS to monitor throttle position, and 'replaces' the O2 sensor so it can provide its own inputs to the BMW ECU during closed loop (basically 'steady state') running. It also modifies injector outputs (dwell/firing duration) from the ECU to provide more or less fuel than the ECU is attempting to send for a particular situation. You tune it by telling it how much more or less fuel you want compared to the fuel map in the ECU at particular throttle positions and RPMs. I'm not sure exactly how many cells each map has, but the ones I've seen have tuning points every 250rpms and at 10 points on the throttle position. Basically, you say "at 2500 RPMs and 40% throttle, I need 8% more fuel than BMW wants to give me". Then do that a hundred times or so for other RPMs and throttle positions.

The trick part with the PCV (over the PCIII) is that you can tune each cylinder separately (which probably isn't that useful for our p-twins, but certainly is for I4s or v-twins where some cylinders run hotter than others) plus you can create maps for each of the gears....not to mention you can load multiple maps and switch them on the fly. Also, the autotune feature is kind of snazzy (for another $250...), but I don't know how it works in real life. In theory, you just plug it in and it tunes itself based on a particular A/F ratio.

Is it technically 'better' than the fixed units out there, like the booster, accelerator, and HTCA models? No question, and none of the proprietors of those products would argue. Is it better bang for the buck? At four times the cost of a HTCA unit, probably not. Not enough for me, at least. Its one of those 95% vs. 100% things, where you have to spend all the money to get that last 5%. Now, if it also had timing adjustment, and still cost $400, that might be a different story...
__________________
Living the dream here in the good old USA! l

HighTechCoonass screwed with this post 10-07-2011 at 07:09 PM
HighTechCoonass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 10:16 AM   #108
Gangplank
Advenchaintourer
 
Gangplank's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Oddometer: 2,297
Bazzaz Zfi module

So if anyone is interested Bazzaz makes a product called a Z-Fi fuel controller. It is very similar to the dynojet Power Commander V. I have the Bazzaz Z-fi on my GSXR-750 trackbike and really like it.

I have a contact there through my trackday business (road racing). Bazzaz is looking to develop the Z-FI for the F800GS. They need a bike to get it working.

If anyone in So. Cal (Bazzaz is located in Chino Hills) is interested in getting a free Bazzaz Z-FI unit and is willing to loan them your bike for about a week so they can dyno and set up the fuel maps send me a PM and I will get you the info of who to talk to.

I was going to do this myself but it is too far from Reno, NV for it to make sense to take the bike there and back after.

You loan them your bike and they will determine the connections, set it up, dyno it to get the maps right and you get the free Bazzaz Z-FI unit. Ideally the bike would have an after market slip on.
__________________
Ride more, bark less
Gangplank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 10:19 AM   #109
Gangplank
Advenchaintourer
 
Gangplank's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Oddometer: 2,297
Forgot to mention that they already made units for 3 BMW bikes:
S1000RR, G450X, and HP2 enduro so it should work without too much trouble.

Here is info on the Bazzaz Z-fi unit from thier website - http://bazzaz.net/index.php


Z-Fi

Control your air/fuel ratio from fuel injectors to improve horsepower, torque, and throttle response. Correct fuel delivery for maximum performance, especially after modifications such as an aftermarket exhaust.

The Bazzaz Z-Fi Fuel Control Unit takes operational command of all fuel injectors, not just half like our competitors. This is a significant advantage in realizing the perfect tune, resulting in significantly better throttle response and overall engine performance.

Z-Fi is a plug and play unit that piggy-backs onto the stock ECU. Each unit comes with an application specific harness that utilizes OEM connectors for simple installation. Stores two modifiable fuel maps, one pre-programmed for specific bike with a slip-on exhaust. The two maps are switchable 'on the fly' with the Map Selection Switch (sold separately).

Featuring a USB interface with industry recognized easy to use software, the Z-Fi can be tuned at the bike or, because the system can be USB powered, tuning can be done at a PC.

Continue to get the best tune for all conditions by using the Z-AFM self tuning module with the Z-Fi unit.

All Products are for Closed Race Course Use Only.
MSRP: $379.95
__________________
Ride more, bark less
Gangplank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 07:49 PM   #110
thibdrz
broke adventurer
 
thibdrz's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: thibodaux
Oddometer: 5
Got a chance to visit the Coonass Controller production facility this afternoon. Really neat place, scooter and all.



P.S. thanks for the jump!
thibdrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 08:14 PM   #111
soyanarchisto
Beastly Adventurer
 
soyanarchisto's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Sunny PDX
Oddometer: 3,191
What a difference the hightechcoonass plug makes! A dramatic difference between stock. Best $90 I've spent so far.

soyanarchisto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 12:43 AM   #112
Integratedfool
n00b
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Central IL
Oddometer: 5
Just a follow up. Rode 150+ miles through country dirt roads. Did alot of low-speed, tight switchbacks, standing up, this thing has definitely made a difference control wise. Money well spent IMHO. Thanks HTCA!
Integratedfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:34 PM   #113
Crocafela
Crocafela
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Perth,Wa, Aus
Oddometer: 1
Thumb

Has anyone used the "The ACCELERATOR module" on a F650 twin or the f800 ?
What's the performance like?
Crocafela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 11:51 AM   #114
1P8RIOT
Gnarly Adventurer
 
1P8RIOT's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Carson CA. and Whitesboro, TX.
Oddometer: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crocafela View Post
Has anyone used the "The ACCELERATOR module" on a F650 twin or the f800 ?
What's the performance like?
I have one on my F800. It runs smoother, is more controllable, same mileage (about 55) and more power. Money well spent!
__________________
A ship in a port is safe but that is not what ships are built for. - Mom

'09 F800GS YEAH BABY!!!
1P8RIOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 04:52 PM   #115
JGoody
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Oddometer: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1P8RIOT View Post
I have one on my F800. It runs smoother, is more controllable, same mileage (about 55) and more power. Money well spent!
Is that the "compact" or the "extended" (with the temp probe) model?
JGoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 06:42 PM   #116
itsatdm
Beastly Adventurer
 
itsatdm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Nor Ca.
Oddometer: 4,376
I have the compact with the same results. Don't know where you are, but I don't think they are available in the US any more. Instead of ordering direct we go through a vendor and I do not believe he stocks them.
__________________
BMW Motorrad USA customer service: "We make superior motorcycles and continue to improve them."
itsatdm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 11:23 AM   #117
HighTechCoonass
Living the Dream....
 
HighTechCoonass's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: land of the swamps!, Cajun Country LA
Oddometer: 2,389
Thumb

Allways opt for the extended version.... the under the cover temperatures are too hot. I have tested this extensively... thats why the Power Controller has the extended probe. It is cheaper and easier to build the internal unit but once the bike warms is the effect you are after may cancel out.

The Accelerator must be bought thru the US dealer... last I hear he is not stocking ... pricing issues...
__________________
Living the dream here in the good old USA! l
HighTechCoonass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 06:40 PM   #118
1P8RIOT
Gnarly Adventurer
 
1P8RIOT's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Carson CA. and Whitesboro, TX.
Oddometer: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by JGoody View Post
Is that the "compact" or the "extended" (with the temp probe) model?
I have the extended model with the probe under the seat
__________________
A ship in a port is safe but that is not what ships are built for. - Mom

'09 F800GS YEAH BABY!!!
1P8RIOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 09:48 AM   #119
Gangplank
Advenchaintourer
 
Gangplank's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Oddometer: 2,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1P8RIOT View Post
I have the extended model with the probe under the seat
So is the snatchyness replaced with "sudden surges" after a burrito stop.
__________________
Ride more, bark less
Gangplank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:33 AM   #120
Whirlynerd
n00b
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Oddometer: 5
Thanks!

Just wanted to say thanks Jessehere...I bought a 'booster plug' last year and it helped but hesitated to put my new bike under the knife. Put the G2 throttle tube in as you suggested a month or so ago and really like it. Concerned about loosing grip heat I did put some high-temp fiberglass tape between the aluminum tube and the heater element for a bit of insulation but I think finding a thin, smooth grip is also important if you want to keep the factory heat output.

Ride safe!
Whirlynerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014