ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2009, 01:20 PM   #1
jonz OP
Miles are my mantra
 
jonz's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: CA dez (it's a dry heat)/West Yellowstone,MT
Oddometer: 2,257
G2 throttle cam

Howdy gang,
I wanted better modulation of power when going from off idle to adding power and order the G2 throttle cam with the 400 cam. Now, it takes too long to get to the fun part of power delivery so I need to switch to a 200 or 300 cam. I just want more modulation at the first crack of the throttle. I'm not sure if the 200 is the same as stock or just slightly slower. Looking for feedback from other users.

Also, anyone interested in swapping a 400 for their 200 or 300?
__________________
JONZ
KTM 950 SE, KTM640 ADV ( Hibachi, risen from the ashes)
KTM520EXC (broken), KTM 400XC (the replacement)
Honda ST1300 ABS (newest addition to the stable)
STOC #326 IBA #217
jonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 09:40 PM   #2
Hipster
Beastly Adventurer
 
Hipster's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Mpls, Mn.
Oddometer: 1,747
The 100 cam is the as stock. I'm currently running a 200 and its a little too abrupt for off-road riding and the 400 is too mild for road riding. I think the 300 may be the best choice for all around riding. Since my G2 system didn't come with a 300, I may try filing down my 200 to a 300 profile.

Hipster screwed with this post 06-14-2009 at 06:29 AM
Hipster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 10:53 PM   #3
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hipster
The 100 cam is the as stock. I'm currently running a 200 and its a little too abrupt for off-road riding and the 400 is too mild for road riding. I think the 300 may be the best choice for all around riding. Since my G2 system didn't come with a 300, I may try filing down my 400 to a 300 profile.
Yer gunna have to add metal to get to a 300...
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 06:31 AM   #4
Hipster
Beastly Adventurer
 
Hipster's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Mpls, Mn.
Oddometer: 1,747
I meant to say file the 200 to a 300 profile.
Hipster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 12:41 AM   #5
scalci
Gnarly Adventurer
 
scalci's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Hartbeespoortdam, North West, South Africa
Oddometer: 111
Is there any spesific one I must order to fit my 990S?

Where did you guys buy from?
scalci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 01:26 AM   #6
danceswithdeer
Space Wrangler
 
danceswithdeer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Wyoming
Oddometer: 176
These guys...they'll take good care of you; just mind the clock and you'll do.


http://www.ktmtwins.com/
__________________
'08 990 Adventure

"No regrets. That's my motto...well that and everybody Wang Chung tonight."
danceswithdeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 10:05 AM   #7
scalci
Gnarly Adventurer
 
scalci's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Hartbeespoortdam, North West, South Africa
Oddometer: 111
Dusty

Can't you make a photocopy of the cams and post them, so we have the actual size to use?
scalci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 06:13 PM   #8
Bok Befok
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Bok Befok's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Montana
Oddometer: 319
I got the 300 cam in mine, works awesome. I ordered the package that had the 200, 300, 400 cams in. I have only tried the 300 so far and is happy with the 300. Makes a uge difference.
Bok Befok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 07:31 PM   #9
Florida Lime
Beastly Adventurer
 
Florida Lime's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: As stated, and as often as possible -R'ville, N.C.
Oddometer: 2,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by scalci
Is there any spesific one I must order to fit my 990S?

Where did you guys buy from?
I ordered straight from G2. They put a kit together with the 300 cam I wanted for my SE, so I didn't have to pay for any cams that I didn't want.
__________________
'10 Husaberg FE570
'10 BMW R1200GSA "30th anniversary edition"
'14 KTM 1290 Super Duke R
'08 Ducati Hypermotard 1100S -- Going, still for sale.
Florida Lime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 09:38 PM   #10
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by scalci
Dusty

Can't you make a photocopy of the cams and post them, so we have the actual size to use?
PM sent...
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 10:51 PM   #11
jonz OP
Miles are my mantra
 
jonz's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: CA dez (it's a dry heat)/West Yellowstone,MT
Oddometer: 2,257
So who has used the 200

The 400 works fine in questionable traction riding but when you twist the fun handle, it takes awhile to get to the fun. Since I only got the 400 cam with mine, I'm going to order another and I'm trying to minimize the number of $25 per cam purchases I make.

For those that have used a 200, can you tell a difference between that and stock? As I mentioned, I'm just looking for more modulation at the first crack of the throttle when riding dirt.
__________________
JONZ
KTM 950 SE, KTM640 ADV ( Hibachi, risen from the ashes)
KTM520EXC (broken), KTM 400XC (the replacement)
Honda ST1300 ABS (newest addition to the stable)
STOC #326 IBA #217
jonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 11:29 PM   #12
4th Axis
Gnarly Adventurer
 
4th Axis's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: The Canadian Steppe
Oddometer: 186
Thumb Just installed G2 300 throttle cam + 16 tooth front

I finished installing a G3 with the 300 cam and a 16 tooth front sprocket.
It's totally a different machine all around, if you haven't done this mod yet do yourself a favor and get both. Every cheap mod for the return you get from the bike.

It took less than an hour to do both, minus the trip 15 min. to buy a 32mm socket for the front sprocket.

My G2 came with all three 200, 300, and a 400 cam switching between cams I'm guessing, will be less than 10 min.
4th Axis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 12:06 PM   #13
Nailhead
Painting by numbers
 
Nailhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Longmont, CO
Oddometer: 6,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4th Axis
I finished installing a G3 with the 300 cam and a 16 tooth front sprocket.
It's totally a different machine all around, if you haven't done this mod yet do yourself a favor and get both. Every cheap mod for the return you get from the bike.

It took less than an hour to do both, minus the trip 15 min. to buy a 32mm socket for the front sprocket.

My G2 came with all three 200, 300, and a 400 cam switching between cams I'm guessing, will be less than 10 min.
I did these mods also, and also ended up astounded with how much I liked it. It's amazing. I also went out & bought a 32mm socket, and them promptly figured out that the 1 1/4" socket I already had worked just fine.
__________________
-Chris


'7? Benelli 650S, '80 BMW R100 RS, '07 KTM 990 Adventure
Nailhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 09:59 AM   #14
scalci
Gnarly Adventurer
 
scalci's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Hartbeespoortdam, North West, South Africa
Oddometer: 111
OK, I did the mod Dusty showed us, will take the bike for a run tomorrow and give you guys feedback. I wish I could get the G2 tamer kit in South Africa, but no go, so I had to DIY :)
scalci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 07:29 AM   #15
cat
Beastly Adventurer
 
cat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Durban, South Africa.
Oddometer: 1,323
scalci, it doesn't matter where, you put order, pay with credit card or paypal, the stuff gets delivered to you. in one week or 3 weeks, depending how much you want to pay. that's how it's done. ask anyone in europe, or anywhere in the world. and if it's something in Europe that you want, and you're in the USA, the same applies.

PS: Adoons, there is a SA supplier listed at the ergoG2 website.
__________________


cat screwed with this post 06-23-2009 at 02:04 AM
cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014