ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2009, 11:00 AM   #31
stupot
Adventurer
 
stupot's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Uk
Oddometer: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeGee
Did you replace the washer that goes with the oil switch? It has a separate part number.
sure did!
stupot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 04:38 PM   #32
unaweep
Uses lotsa band-aids
 
unaweep's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Western Colorado
Oddometer: 17,452
What year and model? Mileage?
unaweep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 11:13 AM   #33
stupot
Adventurer
 
stupot's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Uk
Oddometer: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by unaweep
What year and model? Mileage?
04 54 plate 35k
stupot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 11:37 AM   #34
MORT666
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MORT666's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: U.K
Oddometer: 214
Oil pressure switch?
MORT666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 12:45 PM   #35
stupot
Adventurer
 
stupot's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Uk
Oddometer: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by MORT666
Oil pressure switch?
done that!
stupot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 12:56 PM   #36
DeeGee OP
I'm a Yorkshireman thanoz
 
DeeGee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Up North In The UK!
Oddometer: 1,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by stupot
04 54 plate 35k
S'funny that as mine did the same approaching 35k miles 04 950 too. I changed the switch and have had no problems PITA to do, have you got any pics? You could clean the engine up and douse in talc like I did and you'll get an idea from whereits coming from.
DeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 01:10 PM   #37
BLUE(UK)
Beastly Adventurer
 
BLUE(UK)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Oddometer: 3,423
My '04 did it at 25k.

Be sure that it isn't oil that has settled in the crevices of the engine from the pressure sender leak.

I did my base gasket and although no evidence of it leaking oil,it did leak coolant around the studs cos they were corroded....unless it was from something else.
BLUE(UK) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 01:56 PM   #38
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,086
Low oil will not necesarily turn on the low oil pressure light. If you are reading oil on the dipstick then the oil is not low...its just low for the normal fill amount. If yout dipstick is dry they you are approaching a low oil condition. If the oil pressure light comes on then odds are bad things are imminent.
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 02:16 PM   #39
stupot
Adventurer
 
stupot's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Uk
Oddometer: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeGee
S'funny that as mine did the same approaching 35k miles 04 950 too. I changed the switch and have had no problems PITA to do, have you got any pics? You could clean the engine up and douse in talc like I did and you'll get an idea from whereits coming from.
Yeah i did that too looks actually like the pics Deegee posted, When i replaced the pressure switch it was corroded but no oil around it. I took the bike to my local ktm dealer to speak to their mechanic. He has worked on the bike from new and has done every service and all the engine recalls, he reckons its not anything to worry about and as long as i keep an eye on the oil level it shouldn't be a problem, just annoying me!

Looks like there maybe some oil coming from around the rubber seal one the left hand casing, anybody had leakage from here? ps its an old picture its alot cleaner now!
stupot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 06:32 PM   #40
erappaport
pray for rain
 
erappaport's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Maine
Oddometer: 257
Question Pix Of OP Sensor Replacement?

I've got an 04 with about 20K and an oil leak that also seems to point to the sensor. Or put it this way... I know IT'S leaking, once I change it I'll know if that's ALL that's leaking. I love this bike, but have done nothing but chase oil leaks since I got it.

Does anyone have any pix, or sage advice? This looks like it's about to be a lot of hours for a small job. Just did the valves, too, so no multitasking.
erappaport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 02:11 AM   #41
Steverino
Arrogant Horse's Ass #1
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Oddometer: 36,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by erappaport
I've got an 04 with about 20K and an oil leak that also seems to point to the sensor. Or put it this way... I know IT'S leaking, once I change it I'll know if that's ALL that's leaking. I love this bike, but have done nothing but chase oil leaks since I got it.

Does anyone have any pix, or sage advice? This looks like it's about to be a lot of hours for a small job. Just did the valves, too, so no multitasking.
I chased leaks until to replaced the check valve on the crank case vent tube. Then no more leaks.

Well except for that seep at the cracked case, but that is another story.
__________________

Steverino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 05:40 AM   #42
erappaport
pray for rain
 
erappaport's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Maine
Oddometer: 257
Are you referring to the valve at the inlet, on top of the airbox?
erappaport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 06:08 PM   #43
Steverino
Arrogant Horse's Ass #1
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Oddometer: 36,627
No I am referring to the valve that is about 1/2 way down the hose that attaches to the air box and at the motor.
__________________

Steverino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 04:19 PM   #44
erappaport
pray for rain
 
erappaport's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Maine
Oddometer: 257
Yeah, don't seem to have a check valve. It's an early '04, so I'll guess either it never had one or the PO took it out. Can any veterans of the OP switch replacement job tell me if it can be done without pulling off the air box & carbs?

Thanks, ER
erappaport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 08:55 PM   #45
DeeGee OP
I'm a Yorkshireman thanoz
 
DeeGee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Up North In The UK!
Oddometer: 1,851
Afraid so my friend, PITA to get to for such a simple job. Fuel tank, airbox and carbs to get to the pressure switch. Don't forget to order a new copper washer too as it's got it's own part number
I'm sure the dealer will know which one it is when you order the switch.

HTH

DG
DeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014