ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2009, 06:27 AM   #46
D.T.
One wheel wonder...
 
D.T.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Moneyapolis, MN
Oddometer: 10,265
Why don't you post up pictures?

www.mcmaster.com For all your "make it work" needs....
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by burgerking So?
Holland is about the most expensive country in Europe when it comes to bikes and fuel..Stop whining and go riding It's just money and you only live once...
D.T. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 06:42 AM   #47
Zecatfish
XTique Rider
 
Zecatfish's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Arkansas USA
Oddometer: 7,919
Its a motard so why not toss the airbox and go with a pair of Uni's and be done with it?
__________________
Google Earth GPS Howto (still a work in progress) use USGS TOPO Maps to layout trails.
http://home.windstream.net/catfish/GPS


The Early Bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
https://sites.google.com/site/ozarkadventuretours/

Zecatfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 07:20 PM   #48
edeher OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 129
Because one im thinking the unis will get wet whenever it rains...which is alot in FL. and two im trying to get it close to stock to get it to stop popping on decel. so im thinking hooking it up to the stock airbox will richen the mixture a little.
edeher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 07:21 PM   #49
edeher OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 129
ill try to get some pics up tomorrow
edeher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 07:47 PM   #50
edeher OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 129
i was thinking about the unis though....i even posted about it..
also there are two vacuums at the top of the carb for the throttle body vacuum. where would i put those?
edeher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 07:54 PM   #51
Zecatfish
XTique Rider
 
Zecatfish's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Arkansas USA
Oddometer: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by edeher
i was thinking about the unis though....i even posted about it..
also there are two vacuums at the top of the carb for the throttle body vacuum. where would i put those?
Are they vacuum lines, or are they just vent tubes?
If theres no vacuum there, you could get a fuel filter a 1" line and T and zip tie it up under the seat.

As far as water goes, if you're using good oil it will deflect most of it. you could also use heavy vinyl and protect the extended filters that might stick out of the frame.
__________________
Google Earth GPS Howto (still a work in progress) use USGS TOPO Maps to layout trails.
http://home.windstream.net/catfish/GPS


The Early Bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
https://sites.google.com/site/ozarkadventuretours/

Zecatfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 08:41 PM   #52
Uncle Conan
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Oddometer: 42
Did you try running the fuel screws out? 3/4 of a turn out is too little. 1.5 to 2 is normal, less or more it needs a different pilot jet.
Uncle Conan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 05:34 PM   #53
edeher OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 129
yea once i get the airbox connected so the mixture will be stock then i will try putting the fuel screw at 2 turns out. I just think that with no filters connected it made it very lean with all the air coming in. When i used to work on scooters if you disconnect the air box the bike would bog really bad unless it was jetted, this was on two strokes but im sure it is doing the same thing.
edeher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 05:47 PM   #54
edeher OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.T.
Why don't you post up pictures?

www.mcmaster.com For all your "make it work" needs....
Nice site!!! They have what i need but are they for real with these prices??? $127 bucks for a piece of hose???

http://www.mcmaster.com/#5336k711/=328lt8
edeher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 05:53 PM   #55
edeher OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 129
I think ill go with this one! LOL
edeher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 05:54 PM   #56
edeher OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 129
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2-2-5...=p4506.c0.m245
edeher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 06:07 PM   #57
D.T.
One wheel wonder...
 
D.T.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Moneyapolis, MN
Oddometer: 10,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by edeher
Nice site!!! They have what i need but are they for real with these prices??? $127 bucks for a piece of hose???

http://www.mcmaster.com/#5336k711/=328lt8
Pure teflon? You don't need teflon. That's shit's expensive! Only 200 deg F also.

12" of hose for $127...

Many other options.
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by burgerking So?
Holland is about the most expensive country in Europe when it comes to bikes and fuel..Stop whining and go riding It's just money and you only live once...
D.T. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 07:14 PM   #58
edeher OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 129
ohhh that explain it....didnt know it was tephlon. i think the reducer hose from ebay should do it
edeher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 10:25 PM   #59
Uncle Conan
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Oddometer: 42
Raptor carbs

FYI, My brother checked on Jetting for the stock carb. There are some that are different side to side. Air jets, and mains. I think due to the intake port difference. I would make it match the left side to start, and adjust from there. There is a crossover from left to right, but the center and right intake are fed from the right side, while the left gets charge from the left side. Hope this helps. When you get it sorted out mine will be easy.
Uncle Conan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 01:52 PM   #60
edeher OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 129
i dont think the second carb has a pilot jet. i took them apart and the first carb has a 22.5 and the second carb doesnt have one, not even threaded so i dont think it carries one. I need to go up on the pilot jet for sure because i am still getting poping from deceleration. And i have to go up on the main as well because it will cut off after a 2 minute straight run, i think it is running out of fuel. Anyone know the main jet size?
edeher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014