ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2010, 02:40 PM   #76
JeffinTD
Beastly Adventurer
 
JeffinTD's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: NE Oregon, The Dalles
Oddometer: 1,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssven
The Belkin adapter above puts out a full amp--add a $3 lighter socket from any auto parts store and you're in business.
Yeah, I've got two cig sockets on the bike, but would like something in a waterproof USB outlet...
__________________
Have: 09 R1200GSA, FLHR Road King, 680 Rincon, 500 Foreman.

Had: CX500, DR650, S2 Thunderbolt.

Need: To win the lottery so I can actually get time to ride.
JeffinTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 02:50 PM   #77
Motoriley
Even my posing is virtual
 
Motoriley's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Deepest darkest burbs of Montreal
Oddometer: 2,673
USB power

The power limit also means that for devices like my GoPro camera it takes twice as long to charge plugged into my computer as it does when plugged into my USB wall charger.

Quote:
Originally Posted by worwig
Also keep in mind that some cables limit the charge to 500ma. A true USB should never go over 500ma or it may damage the PC USB port. My unit was two type of cables, one is 500ma and the other is 1amp.
__________________
04 Toyota Sienna, new wipers for 2011!!
Electricity (120 AC), Indoor Plumbing, new kitchen tap for 2010!!!
Color tube TV, Microwave Oven (yes she rotates!),Washer & Dryer,Paved Driveway,
Website - http://www.apormc.com/
Vids - http://www.youtube.com/user/Motoriley?feature=mhum
Motoriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 03:15 PM   #78
JeffinTD
Beastly Adventurer
 
JeffinTD's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: NE Oregon, The Dalles
Oddometer: 1,360
Yeah, ditto here. I plan to use it for a Veho muvi, and a Vado camera on an Alaska trip.

I'll probably snag a super-small laptop or a netbook, but when I camp I'll want a way to charge the cameras while riding.
__________________
Have: 09 R1200GSA, FLHR Road King, 680 Rincon, 500 Foreman.

Had: CX500, DR650, S2 Thunderbolt.

Need: To win the lottery so I can actually get time to ride.
JeffinTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 03:19 PM   #79
Motoriley
Even my posing is virtual
 
Motoriley's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Deepest darkest burbs of Montreal
Oddometer: 2,673
USB fun

I grabbed a cheap Acer netbook for my last trip and it was great to have an expendable machine to download pics and video to as well check mail. use mapping software and blog etc... Forgot to bring a little usb hard drive so I was risking it by having my pics and video only on the computer with no back up once I re-used the memory cards. Worked out OK but I'm usually mister back-up when it come to digital media....

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffinTD
Yeah, ditto here. I plan to use it for a Veho muvi, and a Vado camera on an Alaska trip.

I'll probably snag a super-small laptop or a netbook, but when I camp I'll want a way to charge the cameras while riding.
__________________
04 Toyota Sienna, new wipers for 2011!!
Electricity (120 AC), Indoor Plumbing, new kitchen tap for 2010!!!
Color tube TV, Microwave Oven (yes she rotates!),Washer & Dryer,Paved Driveway,
Website - http://www.apormc.com/
Vids - http://www.youtube.com/user/Motoriley?feature=mhum
Motoriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 03:24 PM   #80
JeffinTD
Beastly Adventurer
 
JeffinTD's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: NE Oregon, The Dalles
Oddometer: 1,360
Yeah. From what I see there isn't too big a price difference between a high end net book, and a 10" or so laptop with much more processor power and an optical drive...

Once I get the USB charger and computer situation figured out, I need to think about a firearm, and maybe a Spot for the trip.
__________________
Have: 09 R1200GSA, FLHR Road King, 680 Rincon, 500 Foreman.

Had: CX500, DR650, S2 Thunderbolt.

Need: To win the lottery so I can actually get time to ride.
JeffinTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 03:56 PM   #81
bash3r
I ain't no DingWeed
 
bash3r's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Wentzville, MO
Oddometer: 1,722
Seems like someone in the know-how here in the States could make these little Powerlet to USB adapters and make a few bucks. The Cig plugs just don't stay connected very well.. a Powerlet to USB with about a 1.5' cord to run to a tank bag and charge up your Phone or Camera on the road would be sweet!!
__________________
08' Yamaha WR250R
09' Yamaha WR250F
14' BMW F800GSA

Adventure Tshirts | 3 Step Hideaway |Campground POIs
bash3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 01:54 AM   #82
kirkkw
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Oddometer: 112
http://www.robobargains.com/mm5/merc...y_Code=ACC-013
kirkkw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 03:56 AM   #83
rosscoact
need constant supervision
 
rosscoact's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra ACT
Oddometer: 5,503
forgive my stupidity but if i bought one of those neat little surface mounted USB ports, how does the power get to them? they have 5 wire leads for data i assume
__________________
Stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out? Will Rogers

www.transaustraliatrail.com.au
rosscoact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 05:10 AM   #84
Tee2
I SAID! Woo Hoo!
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Ill, But I tell people NW IN.
Oddometer: 1,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosscoact
forgive my stupidity but if i bought one of those neat little surface mounted USB ports, how does the power get to them? they have 5 wire leads for data i assume
Black is ground
Red is +5v
Green is pin 2
White is pin 3

Depending on what you are charging or just powering will depend on if you need to connect pins 2 and 3. My GPS just needed 5v on red and ground. But my Ipod needed power at pins 2 and 3. I don't have the voltage with me now but it was something like 1.8v or 2v.

Data - (D-) was 2 volts, and D+ was 2.75 volts

NOTICE that the pin numbers and colors may change if it is a male or female device. Just make sure you get the correct wire to pin.

What are you using to get your 5v?

Todd

Edited to add data voltage and notice.

Tee2 screwed with this post 03-25-2010 at 08:36 AM
Tee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 05:54 AM   #85
rosscoact
need constant supervision
 
rosscoact's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra ACT
Oddometer: 5,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tee2
Black is ground
Red is +5v
Green is pin 2
White is pin 3

Depending on what you are charging or just powering will depend on if you need to connect pins 2 and 3. My GPS just needed 5v on red and ground. But my Ipod needed power at pins 2 and 3. I don't have the voltage with me now but it was something like 1.8v or 2v.

What are you using to get your 5v?

Todd
I need to add a couple of chargers plus the GPS to the 690 so I thought a small fuse block would do the trick. The USB will charge blackberry and gopro
__________________
Stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out? Will Rogers

www.transaustraliatrail.com.au
rosscoact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 08:32 AM   #86
Tee2
I SAID! Woo Hoo!
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Ill, But I tell people NW IN.
Oddometer: 1,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosscoact
I need to add a couple of chargers plus the GPS to the 690 so I thought a small fuse block would do the trick. The USB will charge blackberry and gopro
Whatever you do don't put 12v into that USB plug. It needs a voltage regulator to get it down to 5 volts.

I checked my numbers for pin 2 (D-) is 2 volts, and pin 3 (D+) is 2.75 volts.

NOTICE that the pin numbers and colors may change if it is a male or female device. Just make sure you get the correct ones.

Todd
Tee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 09:32 AM   #87
FatChance
Road Captain
 
FatChance's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 10,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by bash3r
Seems like someone in the know-how here in the States could make these little Powerlet to USB adapters and make a few bucks.
Powerlet already makes them and they are referenced in this thread...



A little pricey, but they are a simple solution to the problem if you're not an electrical engineer and don't want to make your own.
__________________
Pain in the Butte Ranch
Durango, Colorado

- Calculated risk or forbidden fruit?
FatChance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 09:34 AM   #88
Motoriley
Even my posing is virtual
 
Motoriley's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Deepest darkest burbs of Montreal
Oddometer: 2,673
Powerlet to USB

Nice looking cable and only 45$...





Quote:
Originally Posted by FatChance
Powerlet already makes them and they are referenced in this thread...



A little pricey, but they are a simple solution to the problem.
__________________
04 Toyota Sienna, new wipers for 2011!!
Electricity (120 AC), Indoor Plumbing, new kitchen tap for 2010!!!
Color tube TV, Microwave Oven (yes she rotates!),Washer & Dryer,Paved Driveway,
Website - http://www.apormc.com/
Vids - http://www.youtube.com/user/Motoriley?feature=mhum
Motoriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 10:20 AM   #89
AngryScot
.
 
AngryScot's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: ☼ Ca ☼
Oddometer: 18,319
someone was too busy image linking to see the post already

some good info in here
__________________
⊕R1200GS⊕ For sale soon, snap it up and contact me.
⊕Zuma 125⊕For sale soon, snap it up and contact me.
Save $5 on Smugmug "so9RUAXlMm0bE"
AngryScot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 10:34 AM   #90
Motoriley
Even my posing is virtual
 
Motoriley's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Deepest darkest burbs of Montreal
Oddometer: 2,673
Usb

2 minutes apart.....great minds think alike...........
I picked up 2 more of the USB plugs from Canadian tire. I'm mailing one to bash3r and have one more if someone wants it. edit - second one is gone to msszq. Stick the plug of your choice on it and you are off and running. Here's mine with a Powerlet.



Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryScot
someone was too busy image linking to see the post already

some good info in here
__________________
04 Toyota Sienna, new wipers for 2011!!
Electricity (120 AC), Indoor Plumbing, new kitchen tap for 2010!!!
Color tube TV, Microwave Oven (yes she rotates!),Washer & Dryer,Paved Driveway,
Website - http://www.apormc.com/
Vids - http://www.youtube.com/user/Motoriley?feature=mhum

Motoriley screwed with this post 03-25-2010 at 03:05 PM
Motoriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014