User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-20-2009, 07:36 PM   #1
Guy Jinbaiquerre OP
Monorail Conductor

Oddometer: 1,222
Question Please help me turn better!!!

I've been riding for about 7 years, and I still suck, suck, SUCK at taking tight turns at speed. Well, any turns, really, but especially tight ones in the twisties. Heading into a turn, I always imagine myself running wide into the guardrail or off the road if I am going "too fast". As a result, I go way, way slower than average riders, not just speed freaks. When I ride in a group, I'm always last through the twisties, by a long margin. Frankly, it's embarrassing and I'm tired of it. (On the plus side, my bike's never been down. )

People who have watched me say I stay too close to the inside of the turn, instead of starting at the outside edge and moving to the inside as I progress through the turn. There's also apparently a technique involving shifting my weight on the bike which I am not doing right, either. And finally, I'm not sure about what gear to be in on a ride through the twisties: Do you shift up on the straights and down before a turn, or just stay in a low gear the whole way?

I have read books, watched videos, and talked to other riders about this and I still suck. What can I do to get better?
Guy Jinbaiquerre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 07:45 PM   #2
Jaynnus
Adventurer

Oddometer: 38
If you really want to get better get to a trackday!!

If you can't, or won't the key elements are...

1) outside-inside-outside path of travel
2) look through the turn...all the way through
3) maintain or increase speed through the turn
4) use a countersteer input at the entry of the turn and hold that countersteer until reaching the apex, sometimes longer
5) you must be relaxed on the bars

find a curve that you are familiar with in a remote area and practice practice practice.
Jaynnus is offline   Reply With Quote