ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2009, 02:42 PM   #1
GHO100 OP
Crazy George
 
GHO100's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Downtown Brooklyn
Oddometer: 886
A Tale of BikeBandit.com

My tale begins the week before Labor Day. I had a chat with a representative online regarding a tire purchase, knowing that my 1400 mile round trip to Maine would be skating on thin tread without alleviation:

Chat Transcript
info: Please wait for a BikeBandit.com Live Help operator to respond.
info: You are now chatting with 'Mark - Sales & Dealer Services'
Mark - Sales & Dealer Services: Hello, welcome to BikeBandit :)
ghoverkamp@gmail.com: hello
ghoverkamp@gmail.com: I'm inquiring about shipping a tire
ghoverkamp@gmail.com: I'm riding to Maine for the weekend, and I'd like to have the tire deliverd there, so I can put it on before riding home
ghoverkamp@gmail.com: however, it needs to get there by monday at the absolute latest
Mark - Sales & Dealer Services: Ok I see, which tire were you looking at by chance?
ghoverkamp@gmail.com: bw502
ghoverkamp@gmail.com: 7534750-001
Mark - Sales & Dealer Services: If you were to order that tire today you would get that one by friday, latest case would be saturday :)
ghoverkamp@gmail.com: awesome
ghoverkamp@gmail.com: do i need to select espress shipping?
Mark - Sales & Dealer Services: Oh no, with our tires we use a premium service, that quotes with ground shipping :)



Mark then went on to inform me that my coupon had expired:

"Mark - Sales & Dealer Services: Ah I see, that one expired but what I can do is once you place the order, you can give me the new order id code here in chat and I will credit the ground shipping back to your card of purchase
Mark - Sales & Dealer Services: Im sorry not the ground shipping but the 10%"

Emailing Mark the order number led to a different rep telling me they couldn't do that after I'd made the purchase. No 10% off.

Surprise, Surprise!

The tire, ordered and slotted to arrive in Maine for my weekend festivities, didn't arrive until the Wednesday after labor day, over a week after having ordered it.

Chats with Phyllis led to more frustrations. She was unable to recall the tire, even though I wouldn't be in Maine to receive it. She was unable to reroute the tire to a better location. Both of these options were given to me with quick calls to the shipper, UPS, who told me they only needed a rep from the originator to get those done.

Arriving back home, tire issue solved in other ways, I sat down an email to BB, explaining that I'd be posting my experiences, and I was displeased about the lying and failure to provide service. I received a favorable response this time:

"Hello George,
Thank you for writing in! We have reviewed the chat that you had with the previous sales rep and we do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We have placed a credit in the amount of $37.40 which includes the 10% you were supposed to have received, ground shipping as well as the handling charge on your order. Please allow 3-4 business days for this to show back to the CC used to place this order. We have also placed a 10% discount on your account for the next 30 days. Any item ordered will have an automatic 10% taken off of it once you have added it to your shopping cart. Once again, we do apologize for any inconvenience. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to assist you. "

Excellent! Pleased again, I begin my shopping. First on the list is a KN air filter. Hmm, they're not the best price, even with shipping and the 10% discount. What's this? They offer a price beating guarantee. Off goes my email with the price to match.

A day passes, I receive this canned response:

"We strive to make our customers happy, but in this case, we couldn’t confirm the submitted advertised price for the AIR FILTER SU-1002. If you feel that there may have been something we missed, feel free to contact our Customer Service team."

I reply:
"here's the URL:

http://www.kensautowholesale.com/ser...ers-and/Detail


will you match it, or not?"

Another day passes:

"Hello George,

Thanks for writing in! Unfortunately we are not able to match the price on the website you provided. This is because the retailer is an automotive, and not a powersports online retailer. If you have any questions, just give us a click!"

Hmph. I've had it.

My final word:

"With this bit of word parsing to add to my list of experiences with
BikeBandit, I can assure you that despite recent actions taken to
correct mistakes previously made by your establishment, which did
include a 10% reduction on future purchases, I will not be purchasing
ever again from your website.

The message below is such utter bullshit, that I don't even know why
you advertise price matching. Whatever your internal company policy
tells you, I would be ashamed to tell my patrons this kind of
nonsense. Respectable is a word on my least likely list for your
business practices. Bandits, indeed.

In short, FYYFF.

Regards,
George Overkamp
Former customer, never again."


Feel free to order from them if you want, but I'll be doing my parts buying elsewhere.
__________________
1987 BMW K75T with Hannigan SuperSport hack
1980 Suzuki GS850G (project)
www.TeslaLEDS.com
www.NYMSTF.org - Support NY Riders!
2006 VStrom 1000 "Felaróf" - July 13th, 2013 (73,000 miles)
GHO100 is online now  
Old 09-15-2009, 03:02 PM   #2
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,049
Seems to me you're trying to get blood out of stone.. they're already giving a first discount of 10% and another 10% on your next order placed within a month, and now you want them to match or beat the price of an automotive dealer.. Shop elsewhere.. After reading how they treated you, I'm impressed with their customer service .
__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline  
Old 09-15-2009, 05:51 PM   #3
CarSalesman
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Sayre, Pa
Oddometer: 382
The worlds best price, and good service, will never come at the same place. You have to decide. They are human, apologized, and tried to make you happy. I'd pay extra for that (and frequently do so).
CarSalesman is offline  
Old 09-15-2009, 06:31 PM   #4
* SHAG *
Unstable
 
* SHAG *'s Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Location: Bradford, Pa
Oddometer: 4,129
Why didn't you put on a new tire before you left
__________________
2013 Yamaha TW200
99-RT- Graphite 50k Gone
01-GS- Mandarin 42k Gone
05-GS- Rock Red 86k
06-GS- Dakar-40k Sold
* SHAG * is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 01:47 AM   #5
neilaction
Slightly Less Adventurous
 
neilaction's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Perth, WA.
Oddometer: 5,807
I had an experience with bikebandit.com
They sent me the wrong brake pads (and I'm in Aus)
(it was part of a bigger order)
I could see the mistake as the pads had been marked with the wrong bar code sticker.

I thought, here we go.
But the way they handled it was good.
Full credit on the pads including shipping on my next order.
And I could keep the pads they sent so I didn't have to send em back.

I was happy with their response to the error and I would use them again.
__________________
If it can't be fixed with a hammer, its probably electrical.
2009 Honda CBF1000, 1980 Suzuki GS1000ST (Aus spec), Dr6fiddy,
neilaction is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 12:02 PM   #6
bomber60015
Anatomically Correct
 
bomber60015's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago-ish
Oddometer: 5,321
I'm thinkin you had em at FYYFF, didn't ya?

;-}
__________________
Searching for the immaculate contraption
bomber60015 is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 12:17 PM   #7
Z0RR0
Studly Adventurer
 
Z0RR0's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Montreal, CA
Oddometer: 553
Wow, you seem like an annoying customer.
Z0RR0 is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 05:14 PM   #8
Fishyhead
Eremikophobic
 
Fishyhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim, CA
Oddometer: 3,114
My experiences with BB have been better than all the local dealers and most of the local shops.
__________________
Duy. You know, like the decimal system.
Spot shared page: http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...FogjjtYMdOqF2n
Fishyhead is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 05:36 PM   #9
CA Stu
Thanks
 
CA Stu's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Riverside, CA
Oddometer: 45,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by GHO100
Feel free to order from them if you want, but I'll be doing my parts buying elsewhere.
I have ordered from them a dozen times or more, always stellar service, prompt shipping, and the right part at the right price.

Maybe it's you?

Thanks
CA Stu
__________________
http://youtu.be/C6cxNR9ML8k
CA Stu is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 11:54 PM   #10
rxcoop
persnickety curmedgeon
 
rxcoop's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: cultural mecca of mid-atlantic
Oddometer: 1,651
ordered a set of tires 2 weeks ago, on a friday. had an e-mail monday morning that they had been shipped and arrived wed afternoon as promised. got my AMA discount and also got to use a $10 gift card i got from buying a tix pagage for mid-ohio. quite happy with service....however, as always, YMMV.
__________________
Bill Cooper (dba "drug dawg")
94 Miata M-edition, 10 Bonneville T100 w/cozy sidecar,
10 Trek fx7.3
<applicant for "Official Pharmacist of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame" (r)>
rxcoop is offline  
Old 09-17-2009, 12:34 AM   #11
13
__________
 
13's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Oddometer: 4,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by CA Stu
I have ordered from them a dozen times or more, always stellar service, prompt shipping, and the right part at the right price.

Maybe it's you?

Thanks
CA Stu
Same here. The only thing I find I have issues with is ordering OEM Triumph parts can take some time shipping wise but if its something I know is wearing out I try to order it a few weeks in advance so I know I'll have it when I need it. Call me crazy
__________________
"When we lose the right to be different, we lose the privilege to be free." Charles Evans Hughes


Quote:
Originally Posted by freeflow
conformity makes better taxpayers.
13 is offline  
Old 09-17-2009, 02:08 AM   #12
rxcoop
persnickety curmedgeon
 
rxcoop's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: cultural mecca of mid-atlantic
Oddometer: 1,651
just noticed....george is from new joisey. explains a lot
__________________
Bill Cooper (dba "drug dawg")
94 Miata M-edition, 10 Bonneville T100 w/cozy sidecar,
10 Trek fx7.3
<applicant for "Official Pharmacist of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame" (r)>
rxcoop is offline  
Old 09-17-2009, 02:13 AM   #13
bass_on_tap
Beastly Adventurer
 
bass_on_tap's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Ro' di-lan
Oddometer: 2,185
Always had good service from them.
bass_on_tap is offline  
Old 09-18-2009, 04:36 PM   #14
Saltbox
WTF is this?
 
Saltbox's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Boston
Oddometer: 1,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by CA Stu
I have ordered from them a dozen times or more, always stellar service, prompt shipping, and the right part at the right price.

Maybe it's you?

Thanks
CA Stu
Same here, just placed an order this week and the stuff arrived today. No complaints here.

Sometimes its the rider, not the bike and sometimes its the buyer not the seller.
Saltbox is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 09:03 AM   #15
Vell_Bruixot
Guest
 
Oddometer: n/a
Another experience from BikeBandit: they are not the cheapest at times but usually seem to do a decent job getting what I need quickly. Recent case was a particular tire foot-pump. Turned out to be back-ordered. Then the manufacturer said they were no longer making them. Seems nobody had one. BikeBandit scurried around, who knows where, and found one and sent it to me before my flight date. So somebody there is trying.
 
Closed Thread

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014