Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-09-2009, 12:26 PM   #1
macdarren OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 48
BMW crash bars on F800Gs

Just curious....

There is a lot of talk that covers most of the aftermarket bars but I am wondering has anyone ever crashed or laid the bike down with the BMW bars.

They look pretty low to me and seem like they might not offer the protection of some of the others but I am wondering, are they so ineffective that they need to be replaced if the bike came with them? (I don't have my 800 yet but the one I am considering has the dealer installed BMW bars on it as part of a special package) I personally like the look of the TT setup at least in photos. I had planned on getting those those but now I find the bike has the factory bars on it already....do I need to change them to protect the plastic and radiator...I expect being a noob I will probably dump the bike in the rough stuff more than most, at least till I can get some more off road miles under my belt, and I would rather get the right protection installed before I mess up the bike (it is a big investment for me.)

Also it is hard to tell from the various photos I have found but I would prefer bars that don't stick out too far from the bike I just prefer the look if the bars are snug in just off the parts they are protecting, though I suppose that probably means they protect a little less.

Thanks
D

macdarren screwed with this post 10-09-2009 at 12:41 PM
macdarren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 01:44 PM   #2
Wildman
In my castle

Oddometer: 17,890
I don't recall seeing anyone report a crash "test" of the BMW bars, only Adventure Spec and Givi bars. We'll see if this thread flushes out any news.