Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-13-2009, 10:57 AM   #1
famoadv OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 142
RE: Leafman's 1200GS vs. Guzzi Stelvio Comparison - Redux

Hi,

I'm new to the ADVrider site, but as a lurker I've watched this GS vs. Guzzi thread, so eloquently started by Leafman, for some months. I wanted to start a new thread for fear no one's watching the four pages of old thread.

Now, finally seeing the light at the end of the tunnel for many different reasons and in many different respects, I am ready to post my experience with the Stelvio. And to tell of my, if I may, burning desire to own one!

I had occasion to visit Lake Como and Milan last year, just about this time. My good friend who lives in Milan, and who rides an 1150 GSA and KLR, (both of which I've ridden many times), suggested my next bike should be, (I ride an '07 Super Duke and Harley Wide-Glide), either the Gran Passo, or the Stelvio. He happened to know a dealer near his house who carried both. All I had to do was sign my life away to obtain these beautiful machines for 30 mins. (the rides could've been longer except it was afternoon into early evening). What a difference, here in NYC, all you can do is sling a leg over the steed of choice - IF the dealer has it in stock...