ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2013, 04:32 AM   #1936
Colebatch OP
"Moto Porn"ographer
 
Colebatch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Schmocation
Oddometer: 3,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmotten View Post
I thought excel rims were lighter. Or are the stock rims also ali and the Dakar ones steel. Can't remember.
if they are its a pretty small difference, and that difference will come from the fact that I used a 1.6 inch wide rim at the front rather than the OEM width which is 1.85. It will be countered by the fact that the spokes I am using are heavier gauge than stock. Overall, its not worth a mention.
__________________
*** New Sibirsky Extreme Trail DVD Trailer HERE ***
Moroccan Extreme 2011 DVD available HERE
World Motorcycle Altitude Record video HERE
Sibirsky Extreme - The Home of Adventure Motorcycling in Siberia and Mongolia - On Facebook
Colebatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 03:48 PM   #1937
KustomizingKid
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: Minneapolis
Oddometer: 655
Just revisited this thread... Most excellent. I took your advice and got a light bike.
__________________
2000 Xr650r!
KustomizingKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 09:45 AM   #1938
clearandlock
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Lives London, England, Home Town Sydney Australia
Oddometer: 163
Untitled
clearandlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 04:16 PM   #1939
mcstark
Oilhead convert
 
mcstark's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Bflo, NY
Oddometer: 965
Your G's looking a little pale. Time to hit the beach and get a tan.

Let's hope we don't meet on the road. A dogfight might ensue.



And my callsign...



Meat side up, rubber side down.
__________________
Regards,
Mark

2003 BMW R1150GS

mcstark screwed with this post 10-05-2013 at 04:26 PM
mcstark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 08:53 AM   #1940
clearandlock
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Lives London, England, Home Town Sydney Australia
Oddometer: 163
Laugh

Tattoine showdown is called for....
clearandlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 10:50 AM   #1941
MarkusX
n00b
 
MarkusX's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Berlin
Oddometer: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colebatch View Post
if they are its a pretty small difference, and that difference will come from the fact that I used a 1.6 inch wide rim at the front rather than the OEM width which is 1.85. It will be countered by the fact that the spokes I am using are heavier gauge than stock. Overall, its not worth a mention.
Hello Walter,

i don't know if my question has been answered already.. but there are over 100 pages of Challenge Adventurization and i even don't know if i maybe had overlooked it..
My question is: which kind of speedometer do you use and how does it fit on the BMW?

Thanks


..using Tapatalk
__________________
Where i'm coming from?...Big B
XChallenge
MarkusX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 07:26 PM   #1942
sion
sigh-own
 
sion's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Hocking Hills
Oddometer: 3,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkusX View Post
which kind of speedometer do you use and how does it fit on the BMW?

he probably just relies on his gps as a speedometer...thats what I do on my bikes
__________________
I say, there's no such thing as a bad day's riding. -metaljockey

whats the value of good gear?: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...ostcount=49301
sion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 01:38 AM   #1943
Colebatch OP
"Moto Porn"ographer
 
Colebatch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Schmocation
Oddometer: 3,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by 955616846 View Post
From memory it looked like an Acewell 7xxx series digital dashboard to me...

Not sure of the model... something like this:

http://www.acewell.co.uk/Acewell%20S...on=full&id=196
Yep, thats the one ... has everything the original dash has, plus tacho, plus oil pressure and temp.

Its a fair bit of work to connect it all up, but its big and clear. My only real complaint with it is the plastic / glass over it scratches very easily. It would be simple for the manufacturers to address that. And if they did it would really be a super unit.
__________________
*** New Sibirsky Extreme Trail DVD Trailer HERE ***
Moroccan Extreme 2011 DVD available HERE
World Motorcycle Altitude Record video HERE
Sibirsky Extreme - The Home of Adventure Motorcycling in Siberia and Mongolia - On Facebook
Colebatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 02:08 AM   #1944
WayneC1
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 2,031
Other than the time to connect it, any other items to watch for and do all the BMW sensors and lamp outputs directly connect ?
__________________
650GS Info - www.f650gs.crossroadz.com.au
WayneC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 02:26 AM   #1945
Colebatch OP
"Moto Porn"ographer
 
Colebatch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Schmocation
Oddometer: 3,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by WayneC1 View Post
Other than the time to connect it, any other items to watch for and do all the BMW sensors and lamp outputs directly connect ?
nothing "directly" connects ... you have to find what wires mean what on the BMW loom and connect them to the appropriate input on the acewell. For things like tacho and oil temp which are not present in the oem wiring, you need to add that to the loom yourself.

Thats why its a bit of work. I did mine together with an auto electrician, but it took over a day.
__________________
*** New Sibirsky Extreme Trail DVD Trailer HERE ***
Moroccan Extreme 2011 DVD available HERE
World Motorcycle Altitude Record video HERE
Sibirsky Extreme - The Home of Adventure Motorcycling in Siberia and Mongolia - On Facebook
Colebatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 02:39 AM   #1946
WayneC1
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 2,031
Apologies if you mis understood my use of "directly connect", you have answered the question though as it sounds like you did not need to invert any signals or use adaptor electronics between sensors and the Acewell

Oilt temp yes realised there was no sensor on that, tacho is easy as it comes off BMS output to COP
__________________
650GS Info - www.f650gs.crossroadz.com.au
WayneC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 09:32 AM   #1947
6USMC6
R.I.P. Party Boss
 
6USMC6's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: The "Upper" Valley of the Shenandoah.
Oddometer: 4,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colebatch View Post
Yep, thats the one ... has everything the original dash has, plus tacho, plus oil pressure and temp.

Its a fair bit of work to connect it all up, but its big and clear. My only real complaint with it is the plastic / glass over it scratches very easily. It would be simple for the manufacturers to address that. And if they did it would really be a super unit.
Walter,
Have you thought of using a cell phone (or iPad) screen protector on the Acewell?
__________________
Mike -

"For those who fight for it life has a flavor the protected never know."
USMC 65-68 RVN 66-67
6USMC6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 01:33 PM   #1948
MarkusX
n00b
 
MarkusX's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Berlin
Oddometer: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colebatch View Post
Yep, thats the one ... has everything the original dash has, plus tacho, plus oil pressure and temp.

Its a fair bit of work to connect it all up, but its big and clear. My only real complaint with it is the plastic / glass over it scratches very easily. It would be simple for the manufacturers to address that. And if they did it would really be a super unit.
Ok..thanks for the info! One More question please: In one of your videos on youtube i can see this speedometer showing rpm. Which type of connection is needed to take the signal.. Is there a stock cable plug or something else?


..using Tapatalk
__________________
Where i'm coming from?...Big B
XChallenge
MarkusX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 01:50 PM   #1949
casperghst42
Gnarly Adventurer
 
casperghst42's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands (in exile)
Oddometer: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkusX View Post
Ok..thanks for the info! One More question please: In one of your videos on youtube i can see this speedometer showing rpm. Which type of connection is needed to take the signal.. Is there a stock cable plug or something else?
..using Tapatalk
You just need to connect the sensor wire to something which pulses like for example the spark plug (would probably not use that).

(I also gave that one a lot of thought before I found the information somewhere).

Casper
casperghst42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 10:45 AM   #1950
mbogage
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Arlee, mt
Oddometer: 16
14t counter shaft sprocket

I am wanting to go to a 14t counter shaft sprocket. in the thread index, there is some talk of bad 14t sprockets. i am wondering what brand you guys are using that is working. some claim stripped counter sprocket splines due to poorly made sprockets. tried to search for the answer with no luck. thanks
mbogage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014