ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Tejas and the Gulf States
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2013, 07:15 PM   #15421
Tex76
Motersykle Advntyers
 
Tex76's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Plano, Texas
Oddometer: 866
Thumb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr2mch View Post
Well...Then click on this

http://www.twtex.com/forums/showthread.php?t=85459

I posted a few of my better photos on this thread.... It has a bunch of others too. Jus thought ya'll might like it.
Great pics Rod, I might have to pick your brain about the route you took. I'm planning a two week run up to Crater Lake and back down through Cali in September. I'm assuming you used the Butler Maps? I need to buy that from you if you have one.
__________________
"We act as though comfort and luxury are the chief requirements of life, when all that we need to make us happy is something to be enthusiastic about."
2007 BMW R1200 GSA, 2009 DL1000, 2005 DR650
30:Unemployed and Homeless (2 months and 10,000 miles)
The Lost Texan, Wanders East
Tex76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:00 AM   #15422
bigdave-gs
Explorer
 
bigdave-gs's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Central Texas
Oddometer: 2,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr2mch View Post
(Do you kno where the peekaboo bike pic is from??)
The I C U Forum ? ? ?
__________________
I'd be unstoppable if not for Law Enforcement and Physics !
When your 6'8" with a 40" inseam, the bikes that fit you are limited ! ! !

2004 BMW R1150GS Adventure for street work / KTM 950 Super Enduro for Dirt work !
bigdave-gs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:05 AM   #15423
RubberDuck1111
Gnarly Adventurer
 
RubberDuck1111's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Killeen TX
Oddometer: 128
Just got a pelican case for the top rack cause I'm sick of loading my pockets up on the bike! Should be pretty straight forward... Drill holes and 4 bolts?
RubberDuck1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:11 AM   #15424
slowoldguy
Tire Tester
 
slowoldguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: West of Waco, Texas
Oddometer: 8,458
WANTED: CENTRAL TEXAS ADVers

Before you do it, do a search on adv. I bet you want/need a plate of some kind.
__________________
RTB V- The Texas ADV Rally- Hurry before we fuck this up!
http://www.rollthebonesrally.com/
"If you can't fix it with a hammer you can damn sure teach it a lesson".
slowoldguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:14 AM   #15425
RubberDuck1111
Gnarly Adventurer
 
RubberDuck1111's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Killeen TX
Oddometer: 128
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=693332
Found this guy, I got that plate back there already think that would work? Also was considering running a 12 volt back there to charge the phone and stuff... Good bad idea?
RubberDuck1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:33 AM   #15426
slowoldguy
Tire Tester
 
slowoldguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: West of Waco, Texas
Oddometer: 8,458
WANTED: CENTRAL TEXAS ADVers

There may be nobody less qualified than me to answer that.
__________________
RTB V- The Texas ADV Rally- Hurry before we fuck this up!
http://www.rollthebonesrally.com/
"If you can't fix it with a hammer you can damn sure teach it a lesson".

slowoldguy screwed with this post 07-24-2013 at 10:56 AM
slowoldguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:51 AM   #15427
japako
Studly Adventurer
 
japako's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: North Texas
Oddometer: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by RubberDuck1111 View Post
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=693332
Found this guy, I got that plate back there already think that would work? Also was considering running a 12 volt back there to charge the phone and stuff... Good bad idea?
You should not have a problem with the 12v as long as you use a fused relay off the battery, and a switched trigger wire. That is unless you have the CAN Buss system.
If you do, you'll have to ask a Beemer guy..

On edit,, you do have a Can buss system and I am not familiar with that.
Good luck.
japako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:57 AM   #15428
slowoldguy
Tire Tester
 
slowoldguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: West of Waco, Texas
Oddometer: 8,458
He can bypass canbus with a direct connection to the battery . We all do it for our accessory plugs.
__________________
RTB V- The Texas ADV Rally- Hurry before we fuck this up!
http://www.rollthebonesrally.com/
"If you can't fix it with a hammer you can damn sure teach it a lesson".
slowoldguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 11:15 AM   #15429
japako
Studly Adventurer
 
japako's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: North Texas
Oddometer: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowoldguy View Post
He can bypass canbus with a direct connection to the battery . We all do it for our accessory plugs.
Thanks, I have never worked on Can buss, but have read about it.
What happens if you use a trigger wire for the relay from a switched source?
japako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 11:46 AM   #15430
TXjames
High Sider
 
TXjames's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Central Texas
Oddometer: 1,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by japako View Post
Thanks, I have never worked on Can buss, but have read about it.
What happens if you use a trigger wire for the relay from a switched source?
That works. The diagnostic plug under the seat is commonly used on the 1200. But it may trip Canbus if other sources are used. Not sure.
__________________
Roll The Bones V - No premature incinerations. Oct 24-26, 2014.
http://www.rollthebonesrally.com/
TXjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 11:49 AM   #15431
cavemanjed
Gnarly Adventurer
 
cavemanjed's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: The Sweaty Part of Texas
Oddometer: 191
I have a direct wired 12v to my battery on My GSA, it's not switched and has yet to be an issue. I suppose you could use a relay, but it seems to be adding complexity for not much gain, but then again I'm not sure what your ultimate goal is so maybe I keep my mouth shut. I would definitely recommend the water tight female plug housing though (obvious choice). Bought the stuff off amazon for pretty cheap.
__________________
Embrace the Chaos
cavemanjed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 12:07 PM   #15432
Dahveed
Sumo Biker!
 
Dahveed's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: North Texas
Oddometer: 5,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by RubberDuck1111 View Post
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=693332
Found this guy, I got that plate back there already think that would work? Also was considering running a 12 volt back there to charge the phone and stuff... Good bad idea?
Running electrics is an excellent idea. I'm planning on putting a Fuzeblock under my seat. Like this guy did. Its got the relay built in and each circuit can either be on the relay or constant on by how the fuse is installed. Pretty cool and neat installation. Then its easy to add farkles.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by summerinmaine
When you get too old to serve as a bad example, you can always give bad advice.
'13 R1200GS
'08 WR250R
Dahveed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 12:12 PM   #15433
Dahveed
Sumo Biker!
 
Dahveed's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: North Texas
Oddometer: 5,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by japako View Post
Thanks, I have never worked on Can buss, but have read about it.
What happens if you use a trigger wire for the relay from a switched source?
Some people like using the headlight or taillight for the switch aspect. The trigger wire draws so little energy, its usually fine. On the new GSW the taillight can show a warning, I've heard.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by summerinmaine
When you get too old to serve as a bad example, you can always give bad advice.
'13 R1200GS
'08 WR250R
Dahveed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 01:57 PM   #15434
japako
Studly Adventurer
 
japako's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: North Texas
Oddometer: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavemanjed View Post
I have a direct wired 12v to my battery on My GSA, it's not switched and has yet to be an issue. I suppose you could use a relay, but it seems to be adding complexity for not much gain, but then again I'm not sure what your ultimate goal is so maybe I keep my mouth shut. I would definitely recommend the water tight female plug housing though (obvious choice). Bought the stuff off amazon for pretty cheap.

If it's not switched, you can forget and run the battery down.
japako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 02:04 PM   #15435
japako
Studly Adventurer
 
japako's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: North Texas
Oddometer: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahveed View Post
Running electrics is an excellent idea. I'm planning on putting a Fuzeblock under my seat. Like this guy did. Its got the relay built in and each circuit can either be on the relay or constant on by how the fuse is installed. Pretty cool and neat installation. Then its easy to add farkles.

I like the FZ1 and have used it on my larger bikes. It looks like he is using the blue running light wire for the switched. It's just a little more money to use it.

Thanks
japako is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014