ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2012, 01:00 PM   #376
tete
clown shoes
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Gilbert Az
Oddometer: 348
I'm dumb. . . . . . . . . . . .

I had it hooked up wrong. Now I'm hooked up to the proper green/blue + blue wires and it is working properly.

This little light of mine seems to be +/- regardless of wire so I just hooked it up and now just cleaning up the wires and hiding stuff. Then I have to calibrate.

I am using the s11 sensor and my tach is wired into the harness I believe. I don't believe I have to run any thing to a plug or coil.?!?

We'll see.
__________________
1980 BMW R100RS -
tete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 05:16 PM   #377
tete
clown shoes
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Gilbert Az
Oddometer: 348
__________________
1980 BMW R100RS -
tete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 05:17 PM   #378
tete
clown shoes
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Gilbert Az
Oddometer: 348
For some reason the speed sensor (s11) is not picking anything up
__________________
1980 BMW R100RS -
tete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:54 AM   #379
craydds
Beastly Adventurer
 
craydds's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Oddometer: 1,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by tete View Post
For some reason the speed sensor (s11) is not picking anything up
Enter the settings for tire circumference and "signal" divider". For example, 1480 mm circumference, and the signal divider is "one" (P-001). Then double-check your wiring; from speed sensor RED connects to Ace GREEN, and speed sensor WHITE connects to... Ace BLUE on your Acewell? Try connecting speed sensor WHITE directly to GROUND.
On my bike I connected my speed sensor white directly to ground, entered the settings, and it all works!
__________________
ABC #12947
'75 R90S
craydds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:19 AM   #380
tete
clown shoes
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Gilbert Az
Oddometer: 348
So it's not as simple as plugging it into the harness why am I not surprised
__________________
1980 BMW R100RS -
tete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:35 AM   #381
craydds
Beastly Adventurer
 
craydds's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Oddometer: 1,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by tete View Post
So it's not as simple as plugging it into the harness why am I not surprised
Tete, I simply plugged the speed sensor plug "c" into the Acewell harness plug "C" as shown on the Ace schematic. Curiously, the Acewell schematic shows that the speed sensor WHITE connects to the Ace PURPLE, but on the actual wiring harness the speed sensor WHITE connected to BLACK which connects directly to ground (BMW brown). I thought I might have to connect white to the PURPLE but I tested it and it WORKS. I have not tried connecting white to purple because the speedo works, so I will leave it connected white to black. What does your schematic show? What does your wiring harness contain?
__________________
ABC #12947
'75 R90S
craydds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:19 PM   #382
tete
clown shoes
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Gilbert Az
Oddometer: 348
Ok. I see. Yeah I plugged mine directly in, not splicing and grounding the wire. When I get back home ill splice the wire and ground it. See if that fixes it.

I thought it was a simple plug and chug. Ill try your method and get back to you.
__________________
1980 BMW R100RS -
tete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 10:29 AM   #383
benthic
glutton 4 punishment
 
benthic's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: sunny san diego
Oddometer: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmweuro View Post
I used the very same light.
Me too!

I finally got a soldering gun this weekend and have been buttoning up all my connections - I hope to finish tonight...
__________________
1978 BMW R80/7
"all we need is time and courage." - Renner
"A lightened flywheel on your bike is like me getting into Spandex and putting on track shoes to walk the dog." - M
www.blindfishz.com
benthic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 05:29 AM   #384
safa airhead
n00b
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Oddometer: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwhacker View Post
Just plugged it into an open lead on the coil.
Just want to make sure i understand this correctly. You joined tacho wire onto the wire comming from points to coils. My rev fkcker like hell not stable and difficult to set up idle and timing.

Just another quick question. Did you set up the tacho setting on gauge to 0.5 or 1?
safa airhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 06:12 AM   #385
craydds
Beastly Adventurer
 
craydds's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Oddometer: 1,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by safa airhead View Post
Did you set up the tacho setting on gauge to 0.5 or 1?
Setting is 1.
__________________
ABC #12947
'75 R90S
craydds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 06:25 AM   #386
craydds
Beastly Adventurer
 
craydds's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Oddometer: 1,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by safa airhead View Post
You joined tacho wire onto the wire comming from points to coils. My rev fkcker like hell not stable and difficult to set up idle and timing.
I may have read that a resistor can be installed inline; I'll check into this later on today. Also, one can wrap the tacho wire around a spark plug wire.
__________________
ABC #12947
'75 R90S
craydds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 10:37 AM   #387
craydds
Beastly Adventurer
 
craydds's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Oddometer: 1,131
resistor for tachometer

Reviewed Acewell instructions. A 1M ohm resistor is included with the Ace. This can be installed in line (series) for the tach connection, may solve the problem. I have the analog tach which seems to operate correctly, but it also has a digital readout. I attached the yellow tach wire directly to the coil; I will go out and test the resistor and report back.
__________________
ABC #12947
'75 R90S
craydds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 11:28 AM   #388
craydds
Beastly Adventurer
 
craydds's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Oddometer: 1,131
resistor test

On my Ace, the tach digital readout is a bit erractic; the analog tach appears to give a steady reading. I tested the resistor inline but could not see a significant difference in the digital tach readout.
__________________
ABC #12947
'75 R90S
craydds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:01 PM   #389
tete
clown shoes
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Gilbert Az
Oddometer: 348
I still have not done the white to ground but will do so this week some time
__________________
1980 BMW R100RS -
tete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 08:21 PM   #390
benthic
glutton 4 punishment
 
benthic's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: sunny san diego
Oddometer: 398


I finally got to ride my bike this weekend:) and the Acewell worked damn near perfectly - i must have done the wiring correctly;)

my speedo sensor is the one that plugs into the stock bmw speedo hole and required no adjustments - it reads perfect. not sure what problems tete was/is having - total plug and play.

my tack seems to work at lower speeds, but i noticed that it bounces a bit at highway speeds. i wired the yellow acewell directly into the stock harness (black wire i think).

I didn't find anything in the setup to let me turn off the fuel flashing. oh well.

thanks for everyone's contributions to this thread! extremely helpful!
Spencer
__________________
1978 BMW R80/7
"all we need is time and courage." - Renner
"A lightened flywheel on your bike is like me getting into Spandex and putting on track shoes to walk the dog." - M
www.blindfishz.com
benthic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014