ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-27-2010, 08:33 AM   #16
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waco Kid
Is this a small percentage problem or a they-all-do-that problem?
Seems like a time related thing that eventually happens to all. Go to Zumo Forums and search the related threads. Also interesting that Garmin has a flat rate repair program.
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 06:28 PM   #17
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,079
Update:
2nd screen arrived (from another supplier)
It too is slightly undersize and does not come with adhesive.
My spare for the future.
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 07:05 AM   #18
tok-tokkie
Studly Adventurer
 
tok-tokkie's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Cape Town
Oddometer: 590
I got mine from http://cgi.ebay.com/Original-Garmin-...-/190404170597
= Realm electronics in Hong Kong. The tab lead with the 4 connectors is miles too wide so they send some hair thickness wires to solder into place & instructions on how to do it.
tok-tokkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 08:18 AM   #19
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by tok-tokkie
I got mine from http://cgi.ebay.com/Original-Garmin-...-/190404170597
= Realm electronics in Hong Kong. The tab lead with the 4 connectors is miles too wide so they send some hair thickness wires to solder into place & instructions on how to do it.
Yikes, that link says 'used but in perfect condition'
I'd be a bit leery of that one, especially since the connector does not plug right in.
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 04:13 PM   #20
ranbush
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Nor Cal
Oddometer: 19
First off, guys, thanks again for taking the time to create and post these tutorials.

> I bought a Zumo 550 digitizer on eBay for $17 plus shipping.

This message above was posted in April '10. I'm looking today and seeing multiple 550 digitizers on eBay selling at $22 - $30, plus $10 shipping.

Does anyone have a vendor they'd suggest (besides "Realm")?

Thanks.
__________________
Ran Bush in Nor Cal
'68 R60/2
'83 R100RS
'92 R100GS
ranbush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 04:17 PM   #21
Waco
Renegade Sickle Hound
 
Waco's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Waco, Texas
Oddometer: 14,967
Quote:
Originally Posted by GS Addict
Seems like a time related thing that eventually happens to all. Go to Zumo Forums and search the related threads. Also interesting that Garmin has a flat rate repair program.
Is it more common with Zumos left on the bike all the time? Mine stays in its protective case in the saddlebag most of the time and comes out when I want to use it.
__________________
Support the AMA.
Waco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 04:29 PM   #22
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranbush
First off, guys, thanks again for taking the time to create and post these tutorials.

> I bought a Zumo 550 digitizer on eBay for $17 plus shipping.

This message above was posted in April '10. I'm looking today and seeing multiple 550 digitizers on eBay selling at $22 - $30, plus $10 shipping.

Does anyone have a vendor they'd suggest (besides "Realm")?

Thanks.
I'll answer that in about a week when I get the last screen in.
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 05:40 PM   #23
radguzzi
The Journey is the Reward
 
radguzzi's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: North East USA
Oddometer: 5,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by GS Addict
Seems like a time related thing that eventually happens to all. Go to Zumo Forums and search the related threads. Also interesting that Garmin has a flat rate repair program.
Do you happen to know what that flat rate is....? I just had this happen to mine while on the road... Yesterday...


Also, is the swapped screen all that has to be done...? And it's fixed...?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ranbush
First off, guys, thanks again for taking the time to create and post these tutorials.

> I bought a Zumo 550 digitizer on eBay for $17 plus shipping.

This message above was posted in April '10. I'm looking today and seeing multiple 550 digitizers on eBay selling at $22 - $30, plus $10 shipping.

Does anyone have a vendor they'd suggest (besides "Realm")?

Thanks.
I will echo that with a thanks for the info however, I reeealy do not know if I have the steady hand to make the repair.

If the cost is not too great then I would prolly opt for the Garmin folks to fix it...

Thanks all,
Rob
__________________
________________________
Guzzis and Others...

Member: AMA - USCRA - MGNOC
radguzzi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 05:49 PM   #24
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by radguzzi
Do you happen to know what that flat rate is....? I just had this happen to mine while on the road... Yesterday...


Also, is the swapped screen all that has to be done...? And it's fixed...?




I will echo that with a thanks for the info however, I reeealy do not know if I have the steady hand to make the repair.

If the cost is not too great then I would prolly opt for the Garmin folks to fix it...

Thanks all,
Rob
$150 flat rate at Garmin.
Select model and weep.
http://www8.garmin.com/support/outofwarranty.html
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 06:07 PM   #25
radguzzi
The Journey is the Reward
 
radguzzi's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: North East USA
Oddometer: 5,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by GS Addict
$150 flat rate at Garmin.
Select model and weep.
http://www8.garmin.com/support/outofwarranty.html
Well that's a drag... Maybe I will spend some quality time with a scalpel... I mean, what could possibly go wrong...?

I dunno, I'll flip a coin...

Thanks,
Rob
__________________
________________________
Guzzis and Others...

Member: AMA - USCRA - MGNOC
radguzzi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 07:45 PM   #26
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by radguzzi
Well that's a drag... Maybe I will spend some quality time with a scalpel... I mean, what could possibly go wrong...?

I dunno, I'll flip a coin...

Thanks,
Rob
The screens I initially got are slightly smaller the the original so placement for correct water sealing is critical. I did a water test on mine and it does seal but would have preferred the correct size..
I have since ordered one more where the gentleman has absolutely assured me that is is the correct original size (I gave him the dimensions).
It should be here by the end of next week and I will report my findings and if true to his word I will supply the ebay link to all.

UPDATE:

Screen arrived today and is the correct size. 79.3mm x 64.77mm (3.125" x 2.550")
The connector is correct as well.
I would recommend this seller: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...:X:RTQ:US:1123
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again

GS Addict screwed with this post 08-16-2010 at 07:53 PM
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:14 AM   #27
radguzzi
The Journey is the Reward
 
radguzzi's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: North East USA
Oddometer: 5,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by radguzzi
Well that's a drag... Maybe I will spend some quality time with a scalpel... I mean, what could possibly go wrong...?

I dunno, I'll flip a coin...

Thanks,
Rob


Well I talked with Garmin a couple of days ago, decided to go with the refurbed unit... Hehe, he said unit...

The deal was I could mail mine back with the RMA reference number, wait for the replacement after they got mine for $150 or have one sent right out while I mailed mine back the same day for $300 and when thety receive mine I get the 150 bux credited back to me. Good deal.

Thirty day warrentee on the reburbed GPS... Better than nothin' I guess.

Kinda bummin' that the thing failed to begin with...

Just a chicken I guess about doing the replacement for myself.

Thanks,
Rob
__________________
________________________
Guzzis and Others...

Member: AMA - USCRA - MGNOC
radguzzi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 03:37 PM   #28
radguzzi
The Journey is the Reward
 
radguzzi's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: North East USA
Oddometer: 5,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by radguzzi
Well I talked with Garmin a couple of days ago, decided to go with the refurbed unit...


The deal was I could mail mine back with the RMA reference number, wait for the replacement after they got mine for $150 or have one sent right out while I mailed mine back the same day for $300 and when thety receive mine I get the 150 bux credited back to me. Good deal.
I received the refurbed unit in the mail yesterday, charged it, turned it on, all seemed fine.

Beings how I had an errand to do about 40 miles from here I decided to try it out. Set the home coordinates, the destination and mounted it on the Norge only to see the screen go bat shit right before my eyes… !

It looks like several screens on one. I took it off the mount, would not even power down, plugged into a different power source and nothing different happened. I let it sit for hours and at some point it shut down. Now it will not power up...

Great, I sent Garmin a note telling them what happened, sent a photo in fact so they could have a look-see. Instructed them to send another one with pre-paid return postage so that they could have this junk one back.

I received an email back with the usual instructions to try this and that… no thanks, send another.

More later.
Best,
Rob
__________________
________________________
Guzzis and Others...

Member: AMA - USCRA - MGNOC
radguzzi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 07:54 PM   #29
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,079
See update on post #26
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 05:13 PM   #30
ranbush
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Nor Cal
Oddometer: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by GS Addict
The screens I initially got are slightly smaller the the original .... I have since ordered one more where the gentleman has absolutely assured me that is is the correct original size (I gave him the dimensions).

UPDATE:

Screen arrived today and is the correct size. 79.3mm x 64.77mm (3.125" x 2.550") The connector is correct as well. I would recommend this seller: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...:X:RTQ:US:1123
Hi - the digitizer I ordered using that ebay link for a Zumo 550 arrived today. The digitizer measures 3.0" X 2.475". Is this about the size of the first "slightly smaller" digitizer that you received? Should I even bother trying to install this thing?

And, did your correctly-sized digitizer come from a "Yang Lin Sen" at "Espeed Logistics Int'l, Ltd" in Hong Kong?
__________________
Ran Bush in Nor Cal
'68 R60/2
'83 R100RS
'92 R100GS
ranbush is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014