ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 21 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-25-2011, 11:04 AM   #76
Jefro1
Rickman-Montessa 250
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Oddometer: 1
I just changed out my touch screen digitizer on my 4 year old Zumo 550.
I was starting to get all the crazy phantom presses, and generally was unable to get to any pages I needed.

On ebay, I ordered from Goodsupply0889 a new 79 X 64.5 digitizer for $29, including shipping. I was pleasantly surprised to receive it in only 7 days to SoCalif. And he included the adhesive tape with it. Good source!

The Zumo came apart easily with a 1.5mm hex, and unlatching the 2 contact leads made the job smoother.
The installation went easily, but you should only razor blade off the old digitizer and glue that sits on the black frame. Do not disassemble the black frame that mates to the steel frame that encases the actual LCD screen. I did take everything apart, but discovered it was difficult to reassemble properly, and was unnecessary.

I very lightly greased the thin rubber gasket and put everything back together carefully in good light.
After booting the Zumo into the calibration mode, I discovered the screen to be nicely sensitive, unlike my original screen.
Now it works better than new, and I am a happy rider once again.
Jefro1.
Jefro1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 09:03 PM   #77
griffo1962
Beastly Adventurer
 
griffo1962's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Carrara, Qld, Australia
Oddometer: 1,348
Excellent write up guys. My replacement digitizer arived yesterday from Ebay seller goodsupplyy0889 and was the correct size. I was a bit daunted to start with but once I realised how easy it was it all went very smoothly.

cheers big ears



EDIT

except now my Zumo is dead when in the mount, car or bike it gets no power and is running on battery. what could I have done????


2nd EDIT

fixed it!! yay!! the clamp on the small ribbon cable on the mainboard had come unclipped.....

griffo1962 screwed with this post 07-02-2011 at 02:12 AM
griffo1962 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 07:53 PM   #78
DrWez
Mad Scientist
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Oddometer: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woody469 View Post
It appears to me that this seller is now selling the unit only that has the LCD and the touch screen together? Am I reading this right? So this should be an easier installation than separating the two if you just get the digitizer right? Mine has became a brick as well and I really miss my Zumo, I am so ready to attempt this fix!

Update! Sorry I forgot to add the linky!

http://cgi.ebay.com/FULL-LCD-Screen-...item2c5c223199
Has anyone else tried out this digitizer-LCD combo? Mine too just went south this week at ~2 years old.
__________________
2010 R1200 GSA, 1976 MotoGuzzi 850 T3
BMW MOA 140210
BMW RA 32150
IBA 56882
DrWez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 06:52 AM   #79
WoodButcher
Beastly Adventurer
 
WoodButcher's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 1,949
I did the digitizer and lcd replacement when I did mine. Worked fine. I didn't look at your link though to see if it is the same as the one I ordered. I just made sure I was ordering the same size as what I had. I did that by opening up my zumo and measuring before I ordered.
__________________
Rusty

2009 BMW R1200GS Adventure
1999 DR650
WoodButcher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 10:02 AM   #80
Eastview
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Eastview's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Ferndale,WA.
Oddometer: 230
Got to love the internet!!!!! I was ready to spend $150 with garmin on my Zumo 550 when I came across this thread. Went to EBAY and ordered the digitizer from Mingxing200808 for $17.26 delivered. Bought on the 7th and got it on the 15th. Put it in, broke the latch on small ribbon connector but slipped new one in and glued to board so it wouldn't come loose. Works great , in fact like others I might order the combo digitizer/LCD just in case.Thanks to all on here!!!!!
__________________
2008 1200GS
2011 F650GS
1978 750 Triumph
2006 BMW K1200S (sold)
2007 Ducati 1098S Tricolore(sold)Replaced with 2002 Foggy Monster
Eastview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 10:05 AM   #81
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastview View Post
Got to love the internet!!!!! I was ready to spend $150 with garmin on my Zumo 550 when I came across this thread. Went to EBAY and ordered the digitizer from Mingxing200808 for $17.26 delivered. Bought on the 7th and got it on the 15th. Put it in, broke the latch on small ribbon connector but slipped new one in and glued to board so it wouldn't come loose. Works great , in fact like others I might order the combo digitizer/LCD just in case.Thanks to all on here!!!!!
Yeah, thought about packing a spare if I were to go on a long trip. Mine had failed the last long one and I really missed it for the remainder of the trip.
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 10:21 AM   #82
Eastview
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Eastview's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Ferndale,WA.
Oddometer: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by GS Addict View Post
Yeah, thought about packing a spare if I were to go on a long trip. Mine had failed the last long one and I really missed it for the remainder of the trip.
I bought a 530Hcx when mine died so I would have one for the trip we took. Missed the large screen of the 550 so I am happy to have it back, will use the 530 for the snowmobiling and bike backup.
__________________
2008 1200GS
2011 F650GS
1978 750 Triumph
2006 BMW K1200S (sold)
2007 Ducati 1098S Tricolore(sold)Replaced with 2002 Foggy Monster
Eastview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 12:02 AM   #83
wheels
Practicing to retire
 
wheels's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Petaluma, Ca
Oddometer: 143
Thanx to all for this thread.
Just received my new digitizer from china via e-bay,
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...ht_1671wt_1048

It was 30 bucks with shipping and came in 15 days. It took me about a half hour to replace it with help from here. Mine didn't come with adhesive so I used some double sided tape, worked fine.
__________________
Jim



"Full Tilt Bozo Panic"
wheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 06:02 PM   #84
MotrSklz
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MotrSklz's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 129
Just got my replacement digitizer as well from goodsupply0889. there were two pieces of black "reflective sheeting" included with the digitizer screens (I ordered 2 just in case ). Anyone have any idea what this is for? it is not mentioned in either of the two "How to's".
__________________
Cheers

MotrSklz
MotrSklz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 09:49 PM   #85
griffo1962
Beastly Adventurer
 
griffo1962's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Carrara, Qld, Australia
Oddometer: 1,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by MotrSklz View Post
Just got my replacement digitizer as well from goodsupply0889. there were two pieces of black "reflective sheeting" included with the digitizer screens (I ordered 2 just in case ). Anyone have any idea what this is for? it is not mentioned in either of the two "How to's".
that is the adhesive that sticks it back together. look carefully and you can see the cutout that is the sticker for the screen.
griffo1962 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 04:01 AM   #86
MotrSklz
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MotrSklz's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by griffo1962 View Post
that is the adhesive that sticks it back together. look carefully and you can see the cutout that is the sticker for the screen.
So, just to be clear, this is a double sided type of adhesive and I only use the part that would fit around the outside edge of the screen and don't need the large piece that is the same size as the screen, as it would cover the whole screen?
__________________
Cheers

MotrSklz
MotrSklz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 06:10 PM   #87
MotrSklz
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MotrSklz's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 129
Thumb

Well, i figured it out!!! very very thin double sided tape! everything is as good as new. the write-ups are well done and accurate, except the screws holding mine together were actually a T-6 torx. Anyway, thanks for the thread and saving me $135!!
__________________
Cheers

MotrSklz
MotrSklz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 08:10 PM   #88
PlayWithGravity
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Oddometer: 11
Win!
PlayWithGravity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 10:10 PM   #89
OldSchool750
Old Rider
 
OldSchool750's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Florida
Oddometer: 102
I've already replaced mine once. Now I'm thinking of ordering a couple of more spares. Also the case buttons fall apart eventually too. I think they can still be bought as demo cases. Maybe we should stockpile a few of those too.

Jim
OldSchool750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 09:36 AM   #90
smarf
n00b
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Oddometer: 1
very nice tutorial.
thanks!
smarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014