ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2014, 10:30 PM   #1
Stener OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Location: Canmore ,Alberta
Oddometer: 23
800gs, no freeplay in clutch

I have just purchased a 2009 800gs, There is no freeplay in clutch ,there is no adjustment left, I've heard that when the clutch wears it actually tightens the cable.If this is correct then I'm assuming that my clutch needs replacing. Bike has 48000 km on it. Does this sound right? Thanks for any input.
Stener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 11:12 PM   #2
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Grand Valley, Colorado
Oddometer: 4,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stener View Post
I have just purchased a 2009 800gs, There is no freeplay in clutch ,there is no adjustment left, I've heard that when the clutch wears it actually tightens the cable.If this is correct then I'm assuming that my clutch needs replacing. Bike has 48000 km on it. Does this sound right? Thanks for any input.
If you have no adjustment left then yes your discs have been worn thin and needs to be replaced.
it is worn this bad....and not slipping in 6'th gear.....?????
__________________


Erling
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 03:20 AM   #3
Moptop
Adventurer
 
Moptop's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: South Coast,NSW, Australia
Oddometer: 69
Had the same problem and ended up stranded in the middle of nowhere. Replace it. Also with the 2008-9 model the clutch cable was a little "short". They have since replaced it with a new part no cable. I would do that at the same time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Moptop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 04:27 AM   #4
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,172
+1 on other advice...
If you need to buy some time while you get parts and etc.
Some folks have had luck replacing the upper adjusting nut on the cable with a thinner nut (or grinding down stock nut) to get a bit of extra slack.

Be VERY careful when adjusting freeplay - it several folks have broken off the little "arm" on the side cover casting ...

JRWooden screwed with this post 06-13-2014 at 04:32 AM
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 12:24 PM   #5
BillsburgGS
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BillsburgGS's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Glendale - St. Louis, MO
Oddometer: 303
Yup!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moptop View Post
Had the same problem and ended up stranded in the middle of nowhere. Replace it. Also with the 2008-9 model the clutch cable was a little "short". They have since replaced it with a new part no cable. I would do that at the same time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
At my 18K service for my 2010 the dealer pointed it out to me. Previously, wehn we put on risers it was very tight and I learned BMW outsources the cables and has sometimes switched OEM suppliers and modestly in length when the supplier changes.

We thought a loner cable (new, longer spec) would work, but I ended up needing a clutch to get back to proper free play..
BillsburgGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 01:46 PM   #6
Reaver
Outta Here
 
Reaver's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Homeless Adventurer
Oddometer: 2,649
There's some info here:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=959542

I hear there may be this Reckless clutch thing available soon that includes plates if you can wait.........

Reckless?
Reclining?
Reclusive?
Elusive?

Erling, what's that again?
__________________
Life is a Rollercoaster and I'm not strapped in!

Leaving it all behind 2014

.
Reaver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 02:11 PM   #7
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Grand Valley, Colorado
Oddometer: 4,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaver View Post
There's some info here:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=959542

I hear there may be this Reckless clutch thing available soon that includes plates if you can wait.........

Reckless?
Reclining?
Reclusive?
Elusive?

Erling, what's that again?
Recliner.......
__________________


Erling
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 10:54 AM   #8
chris73
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: vancouver island
Oddometer: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebrabaek View Post
Recliner.......
So the rekluse will include plates? When the dealer replaced my prematurely fried clutch on warranty, they didn't change the filthy oil. I rode it 500 kms, and checked the freeplay in the morning. Freeplay was gone, and had to adjust it way back. I changed the oil and adjusted it and it is fine now, but I would say half gone, if I had to guess. When it comes time to replace, I may look at the rekluse if it comes with plates.
chris73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 11:39 AM   #9
Reaver
Outta Here
 
Reaver's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Homeless Adventurer
Oddometer: 2,649
New clutches need to break in. 500 kms or less and all the play is gone on the initial adjustment on every new Twin or new clutch on one. Standard.
__________________
Life is a Rollercoaster and I'm not strapped in!

Leaving it all behind 2014

.
Reaver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 11:42 AM   #10
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Grand Valley, Colorado
Oddometer: 4,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris73 View Post
So the rekluse will include plates? When the dealer replaced my prematurely fried clutch on warranty, they didn't change the filthy oil. I rode it 500 kms, and checked the freeplay in the morning. Freeplay was gone, and had to adjust it way back. I changed the oil and adjusted it and it is fine now, but I would say half gone, if I had to guess. When it comes time to replace, I may look at the rekluse if it comes with plates.
Ask me that question in a week or two. Sorry. Not meaning to sound like an a$$. If you can hold out on buying a new one for a week or two, you will have your answer.
__________________


Erling
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 02:53 PM   #11
BcDano
One Lucky Dude
 
BcDano's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: South America Riding
Oddometer: 310
Not meaning to hijack this thread but I have been wondering about my clutch as well. Bike is an 09 and I now have just over 105,000 kms on the clock. Clutch feels fine and when I do the 6th gear test it doesn't seem to slipping.

Question is we are on a World Ride and get really remote at times, do I throw in a new one?
BcDano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:09 PM   #12
Jisei
Adventurer
 
Jisei's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 30
2010

I had a 2010 which I bought at about 5500km in. Previous owner had the clutch replaced under warranty. I sold the bike at 15000 km and there was no play left in the cable.
Jisei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:22 PM   #13
Reaver
Outta Here
 
Reaver's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Homeless Adventurer
Oddometer: 2,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by BcDano View Post
Question is we are on a World Ride and get really remote at times, do I throw in a new one?
Nah, take it out of Sara's bike.
__________________
Life is a Rollercoaster and I'm not strapped in!

Leaving it all behind 2014

.
Reaver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:28 PM   #14
Reaver
Outta Here
 
Reaver's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Homeless Adventurer
Oddometer: 2,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by BcDano View Post
Question is we are on a World Ride and get really remote at times, do I throw in a new one?
Well, consider how much adjustment you have left, where you are and how hard/ how much to get a new one. Some Countries are more expensive or may take a month to get. If you could arrange to have one available where you plan to be in a month then maybe peace of mind is more important.

I've sent parts to BA before no problem but it took two weeks. I have a new one here in Toronto but again, would take weeks to ship it to you.

Ya know it'll fail at a most inoportune time.....
__________________
Life is a Rollercoaster and I'm not strapped in!

Leaving it all behind 2014

.
Reaver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 08:09 PM   #15
chris73
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: vancouver island
Oddometer: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaver View Post
New clutches need to break in. 500 kms or less and all the play is gone on the initial adjustment on every new Twin or new clutch on one. Standard.
That's good to know. My concern was how much I had to adjust it. There isn't much adjustment left before is affects shifting I rekon. It feels very good right now though.
chris73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014