ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2014, 08:57 AM   #1
emerson.biguns OP
All idiot, no savant
 
emerson.biguns's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: The Old Pueblo
Oddometer: 9,628
Windows 7 Source

What is the best way (and cheapest) way to LEGALLY get Windows7 for a Parallels install on my Mac? I've own plenty of XP COAs and disks, so I think I may be able to use an upgrade?

If possible, is there a download source so I don't have to wait for media?







.
emerson.biguns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 09:40 AM   #2
withoutaride
Gnarly Adventurer
 
withoutaride's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Oddometer: 326
Here you can download a document file that explains what can and can not be upgraded. Unfortunately it looks like XP can not be upgraded to Windows 7.

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...ls.aspx?id=133
withoutaride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 09:41 AM   #3
Paulie
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Paulie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: UK (Upper Kuba)
Oddometer: 253
I d/l my win 7 from http://www.digisoftstore.com/
it all worked aok
Paulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 12:31 PM   #4
Jonnylotto
Kumbaya my ass
 
Jonnylotto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Sunnyvale
Oddometer: 14,699
Since you're looking for quick satisfaction this won't help...

But I always go looking in old inventory bins at thrift shops and surplus stores that don't know electronics from real pearls.

I picked up a copy of Vista Business for $20 that I'm going to use in my next customer build via install > upgrade to Win7/8. Saves money over the retail copy and don't have to do all that borderline stuff.
__________________
I'm done.
Jonnylotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 05:07 PM   #5
emerson.biguns OP
All idiot, no savant
 
emerson.biguns's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: The Old Pueblo
Oddometer: 9,628
Thanks for the info.

Good ideas.

Will a $10 Vista upgrade disk from Amazon work for W7?






.
emerson.biguns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 05:33 PM   #6
Jonnylotto
Kumbaya my ass
 
Jonnylotto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Sunnyvale
Oddometer: 14,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerson.biguns View Post
Thanks for the info.

Good ideas.

Will a $10 Vista upgrade disk from Amazon work for W7?






.
Yes, as a matter of fact, it will.

As long as the original computer is eligible for the Vista upgrade, MS just considers the next upgrade as a "cost+" transfer of the license.

But, you may have to finish the Vista install completely (as in all service packs) I don't think you'll have to, but I haven't done a two step upgrade in quite a while.

But, it does (or should be?) the same bit version. 32 bit or 64 bit.
__________________
I'm done.
Jonnylotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 11:47 PM   #7
AkBrian
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Oddometer: 10,341
I'm a Linux guy, but I did just do a Windows 7 install on a partition. I bought a used Windows 7 Retail license myself. The usual builder OEM license is locked to the original computer. The retail version is not and may be sold by the original purchaser according to the license. Once you have the legitimate license, you just need to download the .iso file. You can find it with the service packs already rolled into the image. I don't remember the site, but a little Googling should get you there.
__________________
Solve the World's problems with your spare CPU cycles.
http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org
AkBrian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 02:53 AM   #8
TheMuffinMan
Thread Killer
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Denver, USA
Oddometer: 5,044
Check with your employer, most licensing packs between companies and microsoft allow for home use programs giving you cheap access to Microsoft products. I've seen MS Office a lot but haven't really looked into Windows. Where I work it's $10 for an office license through our home use program with M$. The caveat is the license becomes invalid/non-legal technically if you leave the company.
__________________
"All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost."
'12 690 Enduro // 690 Wiki
TheMuffinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 06:44 AM   #9
Zapp22
ZAPP - Tejas
 
Zapp22's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Tejas Hill Country
Oddometer: 13,600
don't know your comfort level with Ebay, but to me COA's are almost free if you know how to go about it. but a "parts/not-working" unit with an intact coa. what I do not know [never thought to study] is whether you could attain activation, even though the use may be perfectly legit.

I did not know of a $10 upgrade from vista. how many vistas have I thrown away...? I don't even note the coa's for vista. but I'm taking a wild guess that it would be more sure to build the vm with vista and activate, then do the upgrade and see if it will activate. at least, if it doesn't, you have a very strong foundation for a simple phone call to MS and grab a key that WILL activate. they are actually pretty loose these days... they have no incentive to keep vista/xp licenses out there alive/active - they need to consolidate their shrinking base and abandon that old stuff more rapidly. look out for 7 to be obsoleted in a year or so...
__________________
Zapp
"I will not let the White City fall... nor our people fail. - Aragorn
K4 WEESTROM Stealthfighter Black -SOLD - Invisible to Radar, '02 DR650SE SOLD ,'Ole 97' DR650SE My Fave K5 WEESTROM ADVbomber
Zapp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 08:22 AM   #10
emerson.biguns OP
All idiot, no savant
 
emerson.biguns's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: The Old Pueblo
Oddometer: 9,628
Thanks everyone.

Ended up finding one on eBay for $57.50 (7 Pro 64 bit COA).






.
emerson.biguns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 01:43 PM   #11
AkBrian
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Oddometer: 10,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerson.biguns View Post
Thanks everyone.

Ended up finding one on eBay for $57.50 (7 Pro 64 bit COA).






.
Don't be too surprised if you have to do a telephone based activation if it is a previously used retail license. You just have to verify (to MS) that it is not in use on another computer. I specifically asked that question to the person on ebay that I bought my used retail license from.
__________________
Solve the World's problems with your spare CPU cycles.
http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org
AkBrian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 11:22 AM   #12
emerson.biguns OP
All idiot, no savant
 
emerson.biguns's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: The Old Pueblo
Oddometer: 9,628
Win7 Pro 64 installed perfectly on my Parallels/Mac. COA worked fine, no M$ BS at all.

Next question is...

I bought a Thinkpad T410S from Amazon (used). It has Win7 installed but no COA. Shouldn't there be a COA stuck to the chassis? I'd like to have it "legal" in case I ever need to re-install, etc.
emerson.biguns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 02:49 PM   #13
BillsR100
Happy Paleoflatus
 
BillsR100's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma
Oddometer: 2,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerson.biguns View Post
Win7 Pro 64 installed perfectly on my Parallels/Mac. COA worked fine, no M$ BS at all.

Next question is...

I bought a Thinkpad T410S from Amazon (used). It has Win7 installed but no COA. Shouldn't there be a COA stuck to the chassis? I'd like to have it "legal" in case I ever need to re-install, etc.
You dont need the sticker to be legal but what you do need is the Windows Key. If you dont have the key you can get it by downloading and running a key finder program to find and extract the Windows key for you.
I use this one, it does a full inventory of your computer and gives you all the specs on everything installed. Its handy to have this program if you need to know specifically what hardware is installed in the computer when looking for driver software
http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

A simple program to get the key (I've never used this one, i just googled for Find Windows Key)
http://www.winkeyfinder.com/
BillsR100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 02:50 PM   #14
emerson.biguns OP
All idiot, no savant
 
emerson.biguns's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: The Old Pueblo
Oddometer: 9,628
OK, cool. Thanks.
emerson.biguns is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014