ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2010, 02:05 PM   #1
catweasel67 OP
Still a B.A.N
 
catweasel67's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Vienna, Austria
Oddometer: 8,192
mapsource..I cocked up and...

well..I downloaded the US and it's sitting in my memory card fine but...

no US maps in mapsource. When I did a bit of digging I realise I should have purchased the CD (same price even).

Anyone else done this and found a solution that doesn't involve paying Garmin another $100? I route plan a lot in mapsource so am keen to get this resolved...or am I screwed?
__________________
Planning NA 2010 NA 2010
Adriatic Loop August 09 Mandello Guzzi Protest Sept 09
"I've got the key to the gates of paradise...but I've got too many legs!!" Jeff
Guns don't kill people, people kill people but people with guns manage to kill more people than people without.
catweasel67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 03:18 PM   #2
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,204
You will have to work that one with Garmin. My experience has been that they will not charge you full price on the CD if you are polite and tell them you made a mistake....

You might also try your trip planning over at RideWithGPS. It's free and will do most of what MapSource will do. I understand support for creating Waypoints is under consideration.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 03:27 PM   #3
catweasel67 OP
Still a B.A.N
 
catweasel67's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Vienna, Austria
Oddometer: 8,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK
You will have to work that one with Garmin. My experience has been that they will not charge you full price on the CD if you are polite and tell them you made a mistake....

You might also try your trip planning over at RideWithGPS. It's free and will do most of what MapSource will do. I understand support for creating Waypoints is under consideration.

Cheers,
thanks Drtbyk...dirtbike? your reg plate?
__________________
Planning NA 2010 NA 2010
Adriatic Loop August 09 Mandello Guzzi Protest Sept 09
"I've got the key to the gates of paradise...but I've got too many legs!!" Jeff
Guns don't kill people, people kill people but people with guns manage to kill more people than people without.
catweasel67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 03:45 PM   #4
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,204
Yep....

__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 03:50 PM   #5
Oldmessage
Tour Guide
 
Oldmessage's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Germany, near Munich
Oddometer: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by catweasel67
well..I downloaded the US and it's sitting in my memory card fine but...

no US maps in mapsource. When I did a bit of digging I realise I should have purchased the CD (same price even).

Anyone else done this and found a solution that doesn't involve paying Garmin another $100? I route plan a lot in mapsource so am keen to get this resolved...or am I screwed?
Hi, I had the same Problem, one call to Garmin Support and explain what you did (be friendly, laugh) and they will send you a CD, cause the downloaded version can't be used on your PC.

Play stupid and tell them that the waring on theire website isn't big enough for you un-computerized person. Worked for me.

Ohh, you would need to install the Map from the CD again on your Navi, just to make sure MS and Navi are in sinc.

TJ
__________________

Breaking is the convertion of premium speed into useless heat !!

"Don't follow me--you won't make it"!!!

Tourguides always from "Bike Tour Germany"
www.BikeTourGermany.com


Oldmessage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 05:05 PM   #6
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,726
Just to clarify - it's DVD not a CD. You must have a DVD drive.
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 12:59 AM   #7
catweasel67 OP
Still a B.A.N
 
catweasel67's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Vienna, Austria
Oddometer: 8,192
thanks guys :)
__________________
Planning NA 2010 NA 2010
Adriatic Loop August 09 Mandello Guzzi Protest Sept 09
"I've got the key to the gates of paradise...but I've got too many legs!!" Jeff
Guns don't kill people, people kill people but people with guns manage to kill more people than people without.
catweasel67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 02:47 AM   #8
buick driver
Adventurer
 
buick driver's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: SE of BKK
Oddometer: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK
You will have to work that one with Garmin. My experience has been that they will not charge you full price on the CD if you are polite and tell them you made a mistake....

You might also try your trip planning over at RideWithGPS. It's free and will do most of what MapSource will do. I understand support for creating Waypoints is under consideration.

Cheers,
Great site, Thank you.
__________________
just another dave in paradise
buick driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 05:04 PM   #9
buyarbi
Adventurer
 
buyarbi's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Moose Jaw Saskatchewan
Oddometer: 35
I tried the demo map on ridewithgps and it created a red line between required points (route or track) for north america but not for central or south america. Is this typical for all gps routable maps for central and south america.
Bill
buyarbi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 05:28 PM   #10
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,204
Yes, Google Maps does not have routable data for Central and South America (and many others). You can create a Track though...just select the "Draw Lines" routing option.

__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 02-17-2010 at 05:38 PM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 12:11 AM   #11
Thinc2
Paciugo
 
Thinc2's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 4,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK
You will have to work that one with Garmin. My experience has been that they will not charge you full price on the CD if you are polite and tell them you made a mistake....

You might also try your trip planning over at RideWithGPS. It's free and will do most of what MapSource will do. I understand support for creating Waypoints is under consideration.

Cheers,
How do you download a Route you create in RidewithGPS to your Garmin?

I get to the point where you can export it, but all it does is save it as a file. How do you get that to the GPS?
__________________
Me: You should think before you speak.
Daughter: That always backfires on me.
F800GS review.
Thinc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 01:20 AM   #12
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thinc2
How do you download a Route you create in RidewithGPS to your Garmin?

I get to the point where you can export it, but all it does is save it as a file. How do you get that to the GPS?
That depends upon the GPS you have. If your GPS can connect to your computer as a USB Storage Device, you can just save that Exported file directly to the GPS's proper folder.

If Ride With GPS doesn't work for you, you can always just use Google Maps along with the GMAPtoGPX Bookmarklet and GPSVisualizer.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 01:33 AM   #13
Thinc2
Paciugo
 
Thinc2's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 4,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK
That depends upon the GPS you have. If your GPS can connect to your computer as a USB Storage Device, you can just save that Exported file directly to the GPS's proper folder.

If Ride With GPS doesn't work for you, you can always just use Google Maps along with the GMAPtoGPX Bookmarklet and GPSVisualizer.
It's a zUMO 550... I tried that and it didn't show. Tring again - what folder do i use?
Why are these things so complicated to use...

EDIT - just figured it out - this is a good alternative to mapsource - thanks!
__________________
Me: You should think before you speak.
Daughter: That always backfires on me.
F800GS review.

Thinc2 screwed with this post 02-21-2010 at 01:54 AM
Thinc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014