ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-17-2010, 06:25 PM   #1
nigelcorn OP
Wannabe.
 
nigelcorn's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Henderson, NV
Oddometer: 800
KLR speedometer troubleshooting

I searched and couldn't find an answer, so I apologize if this has already been asked (which I am sure it has).

I recently picked up another KLR. The speedometer is acting all funny. At first, it looked completely dead, then after a few miles it would start working and appeared to work normal. Now, it won't work for the first mile or so, but then starts working only up to about 10mph or so (no matter how fast I go, it stays at that speed).

I have checked both sides of the cable, and everything seems to be seated correctly, and the insides turn without trouble. I left the top connection unplugged so I could watch it while riding, and it seems to turn freely (albeit slower than I would expect for any given speed).

Any ideas what might be wrong, or how I can better trouble shoot it?

Thanks.
nigelcorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:33 PM   #2
welder
Beastly Adventurer
 
welder's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: paradise
Oddometer: 1,521
Its most likley lack of lubrication inside the cable. Pull the inner cable out of the casing, slather on some light grease and stick it all back together. You could also lube up the speedo drive unit at the hub. that should fix the problem. If it is the speedo I would suggest ebay for a replacment as the stock kawi unit is going to be pricey. some guys have used a bicycle electronic unit or an aftermarket speedo like the trail vapour
__________________
"If you come to a fork in the road, take it." Yogi Berra.
welder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:46 PM   #3
JV
What?
 
JV's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Middle of a rice field, AR
Oddometer: 584
Is the drive washer (called the receiver) in the speedometer drive housing flat? You'll have to remove your wheel to check it. Sometimes the two tangs get bent when the speedometer drive is not put on the hub correctly. Hammer it flat if it's not. Then make sure the tangs line up with hub and speedometer gear properly.
__________________

JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 07:35 PM   #4
kdxkawboy
Mr. NVKLRGirl
 
kdxkawboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Gardnerville, Nv
Oddometer: 2,631
One winter mine got gummed up with spider webs, down where the needle slides into the cup that is spun by the cable to create the forces that move the needle.
__________________
When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro
kdxkawboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 08:02 PM   #5
mikehailwood
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Oddometer: 127
speedo

Check what JV suggested. This happens fairly often when front wheels are removed from KLR's and not assembled quite correctly.
mikehailwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 09:16 PM   #6
nigelcorn OP
Wannabe.
 
nigelcorn's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Henderson, NV
Oddometer: 800
Thanks for the suggestions, I'll check those out as soon as I get a chance.
nigelcorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 01:55 PM   #7
sorebutt
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Lewiston,ID
Oddometer: 1,766
Is the odometer accurate? It is in the drive if it acts the same way. It is in the panel if it doesn't.
sorebutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 04:39 PM   #8
nigelcorn OP
Wannabe.
 
nigelcorn's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Henderson, NV
Oddometer: 800
No, the odometer acts the same way; ie it reads that I am moving but at a much slower rate than I actually am.

So, by saying it is in the drive, are you saying the cable, or down by the wheel hub?
nigelcorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 04:43 PM   #9
CA Stu
Thanks
 
CA Stu's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Riverside, CA
Oddometer: 46,871
Your front hub is jacked up.

Take it apart and you'll see that the tangs on part #41064 don't line up with the slots on the hub, I guarantee it.



Thanks
CA Stu
__________________
http://youtu.be/C6cxNR9ML8k
CA Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 06:54 PM   #10
sorebutt
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Lewiston,ID
Oddometer: 1,766
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelcorn
No, the odometer acts the same way; ie it reads that I am moving but at a much slower rate than I actually am.

So, by saying it is in the drive, are you saying the cable, or down by the wheel hub?
It has to be coming from the source, which is the hub. Typically the cable works or doesn't work. If it is dry or bent you should hear noise, but it is a somewhat solid piece so if it turns on one end it will turn on the other.

Take the hub off like ca stu says and make sure everything is put together right. I also bet you will find that is the problem.
sorebutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 09:15 PM   #11
nigelcorn OP
Wannabe.
 
nigelcorn's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Henderson, NV
Oddometer: 800
Thanks guys. I was going to take it off tonight, but I don't have a cotter pin to replace it with, so I will have a look tomorrow after I can get to the store.

I'll let you know what I find.
nigelcorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 10:01 PM   #12
nigelcorn OP
Wannabe.
 
nigelcorn's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Henderson, NV
Oddometer: 800
Update

Ok, so I got the tire off to have a look, and this is what I see.



I don't know, but it looks like everything is lined up to me??

What do you all think?
nigelcorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 10:22 PM   #13
JV
What?
 
JV's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Middle of a rice field, AR
Oddometer: 584
Take the tanged washer out and beat it flat. Then put it back together.
__________________

JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 10:26 PM   #14
JV
What?
 
JV's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Middle of a rice field, AR
Oddometer: 584
The inner tangs engage the gear like it is doing now but the outer tangs have to fit in to the little slots on the hub. It has to be flat in order to do that.
__________________

JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 11:02 PM   #15
nigelcorn OP
Wannabe.
 
nigelcorn's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Henderson, NV
Oddometer: 800
You were right. Worked like a charm.

Thanks a lot for the help, I'm sure this question is brought up repeatedly. Either way, I never would have figured that out on my own.

You gotta love this community!!!
nigelcorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014