User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-05-2010, 06:14 PM   #1
Patrol OP
VALE 46!

Oddometer: 1,306
Converting Land Rover Discovery to Diesel

We have a 2004 Discovery that we love, but the gas mileage is ridiculous. Our Suburban was a hybrid by comparison. I just got a promotion that came with a company car, and was contemplating selling the Rover. Then I started pondering the idea of converting it to diesel. I'm a weekend mechanic at best, in fact, that's giving me too much credit, but I've been maintaining our cars/trucks and my bikes successfully. Jesse James I am not. This would be by far the biggest project I've tackled.
Does this sound do-able? Is it going to be so expensive that it's just dumb? I have a lead on a very low mile diesel motor from a Toureg that got written off in Michigan, and I was thinking about using that. What do you guys think about time, cost, probability of success?
Old 03-05-2010, 08:17 PM   #2
P B G
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 9,992
Only thing that would really put me off that toureg plant is the engine management and probably security system built into it. Old engines dont' have any b.s. I don't know the toureg has this or not, but I would consider it.

Also to go diesel you may need to rethink the transmission, and axle gearing.
P B G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 09:33 PM   #3
Drunk_Uncle
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,028
Your best bet is to get a turbo diesel out of a defender 110. I don't recall seeing diesels in any other range rover products here in Germnany. Being in Canada, you should have more diesel powered vehicles than we do in America.
Old 03-05-2010, 10:17 PM   #4
big adv
I need supervision

Oddometer: 1,066
There is a conversion kit aval.. Can't recall of the top of my head the name of the company that offers it though. Uses a Brazilian made 2.8l strait six power stroke. Or try to get a TD5 out of the EU.

Edit; here you go