Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-13-2010, 11:18 PM   #1
BadWHooper OP
Quick, rather than Dead.

Oddometer: 220
History Ride: My nOOb Tour of Scotland

Call me Hooper.

Though I don’t post much, I’m a huge fan of ADV; but as a Buell Ulysses rider, I spend most of my time on BadWeb. Before there was Buell in my life, there were other bikes and other adventures…adventures that I believe might enjoy some publicity on a site that is mostly brand-agnostic. The greatest adventure of my life thus far took place on a BMW in Scotland, and so I think ADV is the place to post it (though I’ll definitely cross-post it on BadWeb).

I was a newbie rider…barely over a year in the saddle. When a serious personal impasse in my life coincided with the urge to travel, I whole hog, rented a bike in Glasgow, booked some hotels and B&Bs, flew to Scotland, got on the bike, and rode around the country. This is sort of how it went. I didn’t die.

“The point of the journey is not to arrive – anything can happen” -Neil Peart

Day One-ish: Thursday/Friday October 6/7, 2005 – Silver Spring, USA to Inveraray, Scotland, 133 Miles Ridden

I was in the second such city called “Manchester” to serve as a gateway to a motorcycle adventure for me, the first being Manchester, New Hampshire, USA, just about a month prior. There in America’s biggest Manchester, I rented a Harley-Davidson Road King and rolled north through the sunny pines to and all around my family’s vacation home in Maine. This time, the weather wasn’t as good. In Britain’s Manchester, it was cloudy and everything in the airport smelled vaguely of old cigarette smoke. I was beat.