Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-01-2010, 04:43 PM   #1
yack_ass OP
n00b

Oddometer: 4
Question F650GS or Translap

Hi guys (and girls)

Last year at around this time I've decided that the ER6n which I've been riding for the past 4-5 years is not my "ideal" bike.
Don't get me wrong it is an awesome piece of machine, but I would like to get a little dirty. I got dirty with the Kwak but, because I am not its only rider I really can not afford to drop it (I am sharing it with my brother [thanks dad ]). And the fact that I can not ride when ever I want kind of pisses me off (I have no problems with sharing, but some thing should be sacred, am I right or am I right).
Not to mention that that "fat" front 17'' is not good.

So, for the past 10 months or so, I have been researching/looking at the local market (Slovenia) and found out, that I think I would be happy with something like a BMW- F650Gs (if luck holds a Dakar version of course ) or a Honda- XLV650 TransAlp.
My wish is tarmac 60% - off road 40% --> when I write "off road" I mean gravel, forest service/logging roads, nothing crazy (I will do that when I get some experience and to buy a serious hard enduro).
I also like to take trips, so 500-600km per day are A MUST (don't like 4 cylinders, and don't have enough to get 3 ).

Oh yes, I am looking for a bike not older than year 2000 and my budget is going to be max 3500 (there is a lot of motorcycles for that amount) so that puts me between production years of 2000-2005. Also I am not buying for 1 or 2 years, but more or less till the poor thing drops down of wear and tear.

I've read a lot of internet sites, a lot of forums (btw I like this one better than any I've seen so far), a lot of tests/reviews but not a lot of comparisons.
Now, when I think about it, I know a lot about the BMW but not much about the Honda.
Still I can't get completely convinced.