User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-05-2010, 07:32 PM   #1
BMW_BIKER_KEITH OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 390
Eh? F800GS - Heat from Radiator +suckz+

Yo mates, I am still learning all the ins&outs of my new F8ooGS. Overall It am very happy with the handling, performance, etc. Still not had time to get in the dirt..,,..,, but will soon.

One thing I noticed after about a 25 to 30 highway mile ride is that the HEAT from the radiator expells over both my knees and really gets WARM (no.... its friggin HOT). Thats just riding with Jeans... HOW miserable is it going to be with padded riding pants like a pair of Rev'its ...?

Now on a cool winter's ride, thats an asset. But I didnt buy this bike to ride in winter. I am thinking that most all my summer riding is going to be miserable with regards to the HUGE amount of heat thats direct right at my knees. I am suprised there is NOT an on-going thread on this.

Has anyone experimented with those deflectors that are sold in the aftermarket? Has anyone come up with a better solution? I realize radiator heat must exit somewhere, but ON me... on a HOT Summer's day?
BMW_BIKER_KEITH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 08:30 PM   #2
dukedar
60 easy payments!

Oddometer: 340
Eh?

Been there done that:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=467021

I have no issues with mine, rode all last summer and barely noticed. But then again, I don't wear jeans. The riding pants seem to deflect it better as well.
Old 04-05-2010, 10:04 PM   #3
Bayner
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,457
I think the consensus was that the riding pants actually improve the situation, although it seems counter intuitive.
Bayner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 12:11 AM   #4
RAD800
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 895