ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2010, 02:44 PM   #1
Toddwmac OP
ADV addict
 
Toddwmac's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle,WA
Oddometer: 283
Tips on throttle cable adjustments on a KTM 990

I just installed a G2 on my 990 and have about 1/2 inch play in the cable. Before I start cranking on the adjustment nobs on the cable I was wondering if there are any words of wisdom from the garage.

I'm familiar with cable adjustments on mtn bikes but not on a motorcycle.

BTW, the KTM is FI and is a dual cable control...if that makes a difference.

Thanks
Todd
__________________
KTM 08 990 ADV
HD Duece
WR 250R
Lost but don't care!
Toddwmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 08:27 PM   #2
99spike
n99b
 
Joined: May 2009
Oddometer: 11
Keep me posted
my mechanic adjusted mine yesterday following a loss of power & stalling issue. He is sayng that EFI needs to be plugged to computer during adjustment or stepper motors for primary butterfly will cause stalling issue.... Apparently it's important for to keep some slack also or said motoe can strip it's gears
99spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 08:32 PM   #3
PowerCell
Manufacture
 
PowerCell's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Southern Kalifornia
Oddometer: 2,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99spike
Keep me posted
my mechanic adjusted mine yesterday following a loss of power & stalling issue. He is sayng that EFI needs to be plugged to computer during adjustment or stepper motors for primary butterfly will cause stalling issue.... Apparently it's important for to keep some slack also or said motoe can strip it's gears


What he said...



.
__________________
~ Ken


www.powercellperformance.com
PowerCell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 09:49 PM   #4
Jody H
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: New Mexico
Oddometer: 397
I adjusted mine in the air-box to get the majority of the slack out, then fine tuned at the throttle adjusters.
Just leave a little slack and get them adjusted evenly.
No need to hook it up to a computer as long as you don't take all the slack out or do something stupid with the adjustment.
It's not rocket surgery.
__________________
'07 Aprilia Tuono
'07 Aprilia RXV 4.5
'07 KTM 990 Adventure
'09 Aprilia Mana
Jody H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 01:06 AM   #5
PowerCell
Manufacture
 
PowerCell's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Southern Kalifornia
Oddometer: 2,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jody H
I adjusted mine in the air-box to get the majority of the slack out, then fine tuned at the throttle adjusters.
Just leave a little slack and get them adjusted evenly.
No need to hook it up to a computer as long as you don't take all the slack out or do something stupid with the adjustment.
It's not rocket surgery.

This is the advice of a fool...



.
__________________
~ Ken


www.powercellperformance.com
PowerCell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 05:13 AM   #6
rider911
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rider911's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 423
Hey Powercell could you explain why you cant, or what goes wrong if you do what Jody H said.
Ive got mine apart and was going to put it back together tomorrow with the same technique as what Jody said.
If I havent played with the idle settings of the butterflys stops I dont understand how setting the throttle cables up the same as you would on any other 4 stroke with a return cable would need to be tuned with a diagnostic tool.
If you have fiddled with the throttle bodies and disturbed other ajustments I can understand the need for the computer set up but not simply cable ajustment.
Any advice would be appriciated
__________________
New RR ~ Across OZ... Corner by Corner

08 KTM 300 exce (small)
12 KTM 500 exc (medium)
07 KTM 990 Adv (large)
rider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 05:39 AM   #7
Blue&Yellow
but orange inside...
 
Blue&Yellow's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Oddometer: 754
So let me see if i get this right....

If I decide to install a G2 throttle kit I need it to be done by a certified KTM workshop so that they can plug their computer into my EFI? Is that what you're saying? In other words: it's not something I can do myself?
Blue&Yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 07:39 AM   #8
rider911
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rider911's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 423
Yes B & Y that seems a bit hard to believe as I would think the vast majority of G2 throttle cams are fitted at home by owners with average mechanical skills

Maybe im wrong .... it has been known to happen!
__________________
New RR ~ Across OZ... Corner by Corner

08 KTM 300 exce (small)
12 KTM 500 exc (medium)
07 KTM 990 Adv (large)
rider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 07:41 AM   #9
PowerCell
Manufacture
 
PowerCell's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Southern Kalifornia
Oddometer: 2,270
There are no adjustable throttle stops on the Keihin FI. The idle is controlled by a stepper motor. The motor will be set in whatever position it had been when the engine was last shut down. The diagnostic software lets you force the motor to zero for the purpose of adjusting the cables.
__________________
~ Ken


www.powercellperformance.com
PowerCell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 08:07 AM   #10
rider911
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rider911's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 423
So if I put it all back together with slackish cables and start it up and let it idle for a while, shut it off and go back and adjust the cables with normal amount of slack? I would imagine the idle position of the throttle butterfly would be close to fully closed and you would only need enough slack for safety if the stepper motor cycles to the fully closed (zero) position at some stage.

I just pulled the throttle bodies off to do the valve clearence and threw a rag over them so havent really studied the whole assembly procedure yet.

Do you think this will suffice? There is no diagnostic tools for about 700km

Thanks
__________________
New RR ~ Across OZ... Corner by Corner

08 KTM 300 exce (small)
12 KTM 500 exc (medium)
07 KTM 990 Adv (large)
rider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 01:35 AM   #11
Toddwmac OP
ADV addict
 
Toddwmac's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle,WA
Oddometer: 283
Thanks guys..I'm not sure exactly where this leaves me but I do know I'm not going to start playing with the barrel adjustments. While I got my G2 installed and working well (I like the feel) it seems I should get it to a mechanic for the slack.
Thanks
T
__________________
KTM 08 990 ADV
HD Duece
WR 250R
Lost but don't care!
Toddwmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 10:36 AM   #12
Jody H
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: New Mexico
Oddometer: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerCell
This is the advice of a fool...
A fool with 9000 trouble free, stall free miles since G2 installation and cable adjustment.
A fool with 3000 trouble free, stall free miles since a valve job and another slack adjustment
If you're not smart enough to adjust cable slack without a certified Orange level mechanic and a computer, maybe you should stick to Huffy pedal powered bikes.
What are you going to do when you break a cable deep into Copper Canyon Mexico or the middle of Africa, fly in a mechanic and his computer to replace and adjust them for you?
__________________
'07 Aprilia Tuono
'07 Aprilia RXV 4.5
'07 KTM 990 Adventure
'09 Aprilia Mana
Jody H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 10:40 AM   #13
PowerCell
Manufacture
 
PowerCell's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Southern Kalifornia
Oddometer: 2,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jody H
maybe you should stick to Huffy pedal powered bikes.

You're right. I don't know what I'm doing... I'll keep my mouth shut next time...
__________________
~ Ken


www.powercellperformance.com
PowerCell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 10:59 AM   #14
beardothebeardo
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: City of Champions
Oddometer: 194
Would this still hold true for the slower ramped throttle tube for the RC8?
beardothebeardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 12:58 AM   #15
Toddwmac OP
ADV addict
 
Toddwmac's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle,WA
Oddometer: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerCell
You're right. I don't know what I'm doing... I'll keep my mouth shut next time...
For those of us that appreciate the guidance...please don't.
__________________
KTM 08 990 ADV
HD Duece
WR 250R
Lost but don't care!
Toddwmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014