ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2010, 07:19 AM   #1
sstewart OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
sstewart's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Boaz,Alabama
Oddometer: 1,049
Pre-filter

If I run a pre-filter on my 950ADV will I have to re-jet carbs?
sstewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:12 AM   #2
Qwik
Two Wheeled Addict
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Oddometer: 6,016
I didnt and the bike runs great. They are a bit lean from the factory and the prefilter will fatten them up too.
__________________
Speed bumps never seem to make me go any faster
Qwik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:31 AM   #3
Head2Wind
MotorcycleMayhem
 
Head2Wind's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: NorthWet Washington
Oddometer: 2,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by sstewart
If I run a pre-filter on my 950ADV will I have to re-jet carbs?
I would say that yes, it will run without changing the jetting. and it also falls into the "it depends" bin... in that if you are at sea level then it will run OK on the bottom, might surge a little in the middle but it will tend to be overly rich at the top... if you are beyond sea level, then it just gets worse.

So, no you do not have to rejet to run a prefilter, however it will run better if you do.
__________________
“The mind is sharper and keener in seclusion and uninterrupted solitude. --- Be alone, that is the secret of invention; be alone, that is when ideas are born.” - Nikola Tesla
2006 KTM 970 frankinADVsmSD
ADVmachines™ Proven Solutions for your Worldwide Adventures...www.ADVmachines.com
Head2Wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:34 AM   #4
Questor
More Undestructable
 
Questor's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Diamond Bar, CA.
Oddometer: 3,975
Riding in heavy rain

What about using a pre-filter in very rainy conditions?

I know the original snorkel was curved backwards so it was difficult for water coming from the front of the bike to get into the air box.
Should I be concerned with using the pre-filter when riding in very heavy rain at highway speeds?

Q~
Questor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:43 AM   #5
Head2Wind
MotorcycleMayhem
 
Head2Wind's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: NorthWet Washington
Oddometer: 2,459
Thumb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Questor
What about using a pre-filter in very rainy conditions?

I know the original snorkel was curved backwards so it was difficult for water coming from the front of the bike to get into the air box.
Should I be concerned with using the pre-filter when riding in very heavy rain at highway speeds?

Q~
I live and ride in all conditions in Washington State.... most know what we are famous for (hint, its wet and falls from the sky rather frequently). I have over 12k miles on my prefilter and it has absolutely been flawless in all conditions from 100+ desert to 20 degrees to 40 and raining buckets... even in river crossings it has been just fine. I "tested" its ability to reject water after.. um.. testing the depth of the water with the bike (falling over)... after clearing the engine all was just ducky... not a problem.
__________________
“The mind is sharper and keener in seclusion and uninterrupted solitude. --- Be alone, that is the secret of invention; be alone, that is when ideas are born.” - Nikola Tesla
2006 KTM 970 frankinADVsmSD
ADVmachines™ Proven Solutions for your Worldwide Adventures...www.ADVmachines.com
Head2Wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 10:40 AM   #6
jsrider
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Oddometer: 3,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Head2Wind
So, no you do not have to rejet to run a prefilter, however it will run better if you do.
H2W won't say it, so I will: If you combine a pre-filter with one of his jet kits, you will be very happy.
jsrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 05:38 PM   #7
mookymoo
Mookish Mook
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Either UK or Australia ...
Oddometer: 4,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrider
H2W won't say it, so I will: If you combine a pre-filter with one of his jet kits, you will be very happy.
Agreed. I would definitely rejet.
Even with the re-jet I still found my mains a bit rich.
I also found that the preflter blocks up pretty quickly. Even riding on the road in non-dusty conditions, I would clean & replace it pretty regularly...

mookymoo screwed with this post 04-12-2010 at 12:18 PM
mookymoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 05:59 PM   #8
a$$hole
Studly Adventurer
 
a$$hole's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: DFW
Oddometer: 914
Slight hijack here. So on my 990 it pops ALOT of decel and between shifts. I have a 2 into 1 with a very free flowing pipe. If I were to put a prefilter on would it tame some of the farting? Once again sorry about the hijack.
a$$hole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 08:29 PM   #9
David37
Gnarly Adventurer
 
David37's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: SLO County
Oddometer: 374
You won't have to rejet with a pre-filter. I put one on my 950SE and it runs great with the stock jetting.

If your bike pops on decel, sounds like you have a lean condition. I would try turning out your air/fuel screws 1/4 to 3/4 turns to richen your air/fuel mixture. An exhaust leak can create a lean mixture too.
David37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 10:44 PM   #10
Oldfatbeerman
Big on Corner speed
 
Oldfatbeerman's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Lake Macquarie , NSW, Australia
Oddometer: 3,405
Uni filter pre filter is plug and play .
__________________
KTM 950 SE
Yamaha WR 450 F ( + Rally spec )
Oldfatbeerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 12:25 PM   #11
mookymoo
Mookish Mook
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Either UK or Australia ...
Oddometer: 4,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by David37
You won't have to rejet with a pre-filter. I put one on my 950SE and it runs great with the stock jetting.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldfatbeerman
Uni filter pre filter is plug and play .
.... that tends to go against the grain of the general consensus here as I understand it....

As H2W mentions above, mains will be rich even at sea level...

Its a reasonable restriction on the intake (worse, if its heavily oiled, and worse again when it gets dirty) ...
mookymoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 05:18 PM   #12
ryanwilliamcantrell
Get Out and Ride!!
 
ryanwilliamcantrell's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Oddometer: 3,859
Having put 10k on a new pre-filter last year, I HIGHLY recommend it. It's saved me from having to mess with my filter constantly. As someone else said, it'll plug with dirt quickly and frequently (which means its doing it's job) so keep an eye on in.
__________________
Ride your own ride & enjoy your ride.


ryanwilliamcantrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 07:20 PM   #13
Oldfatbeerman
Big on Corner speed
 
Oldfatbeerman's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Lake Macquarie , NSW, Australia
Oddometer: 3,405
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookymoo
.... that tends to go against the grain of the general consensus here as I understand it....

As H2W mentions above, mains will be rich even at sea level...

Its a reasonable restriction on the intake (worse, if its heavily oiled, and worse again when it gets dirty) ...
I was assuming the jetting had been set correctly before the filter was installed ........ mine had and I fitted the pre filter and there is no ill effect , runs just fine , has same economy ( provided pre filter is clean ) feels to have the same output , power and torque wise . Still needs same amount of Choke to cold start in summer ( lots ).... I have not done anything scientifically significant to tell all that for sure though . Seat of the pants works for me !

Some of the gentlemen here are a bit over the top with the state of tune they demand on 100 hp dirt dikes . You can't use all that power on anything but Tarmac so a small amount of richness in the running will have your bike running cooler and will probably last a bit longer because of it . Swings and roundabouts .
__________________
KTM 950 SE
Yamaha WR 450 F ( + Rally spec )
Oldfatbeerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 06:50 AM   #14
Geek
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Twin Spruce Gap, Colorado
Oddometer: 29,633
Does anyone have a uni part number or a link to the prefilter online?

Mine has a hole in it
Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 06:52 AM   #15
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 3,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geek
Does anyone have a uni part number or a link to the prefilter online?

Mine has a hole in it
http://www.ktmtwins.com/950adventure/nu-1415.html
Backorder.

H2W sells them.

http://www.advmachines.com/product_p/am1415.htm
__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC,
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
690 WIKI
dad2bike is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014