ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-13-2010, 04:56 AM   #1
rogtek OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Oddometer: 24
Carb Sync

Hello everyone!

I am interested in synching the carburetors in my KTM 950 Adv (mod 2004) and I am a little confused with the whole procedure.

Service manual and other posts I have read, say that you must disconnect both tanks and mount the sync tool in the two hoses attached in the right back corner of the air filter and the SAS valve (my bike has the SAS system) coming from the cylinder inlets.

Can I disconnect the two hoses and attach them to the sync tool without removing both tanks?
rogtek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 05:59 AM   #2
RedRupert
Brit in the Soviet Union
 
RedRupert's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Riga, Latvia / Bergerac, France / Colchester, UK
Oddometer: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogtek

Can I disconnect the two hoses and attach them to the sync tool without removing both tanks?
Only if both of the hoses from the inlet stubs are long enough, but at the standard length you'll probably need to remove the R/H tank. You could fit longer hoses so that you can do it without removing the tank next time.
__________________
KTM 970 Adventure (2004 with 2008 SD 990)
Honda 650 Dominator (1988)
Kawasaki KLR 650 (1988)
Yamaha RD 350 LC (1984)
RedRupert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 07:54 AM   #3
1stiski
Ride that nasty thing
 
1stiski's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Elizabethville, PA
Oddometer: 1,558
Get an airflow meter instead, makes life easy, just put it on the carbs and it will show you flow, easy and no screwing with hoses or disconnecting stuff.
__________________
"04" 950 Adventure S 34,000+ miles
2003 Harley XL883 converted to CAFE (2013-14)
"Grim Brother" #1
1stiski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 08:54 AM   #4
AdvGa
Beastly Adventurer
 
AdvGa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta Metro
Oddometer: 1,320
I just Synced the Carbs and did the following:

1- Had to Unbolt the Right Gas Tank to get to the Vacuum ports
2- Added a 2- Y Connection Hose Adaptors to the Lengthened Hoses to under the seat for easier future access.
3- Capped the One Tee when the Sync was done.






http://www.ktm950.info/how/carbs/sync/carb_sync.html

Also found it ran smoother when I did the Sync at the 4-5k range with just a minor adjustment.

Now with this process, don't have to Unbolt the Tank but just lift the seat and Uncapped the 2 ends for future syncs.

AdvGa screwed with this post 04-13-2010 at 02:54 PM
AdvGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 10:15 AM   #5
DirtyADV
Beastly Adventurer
 
DirtyADV's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: SWEDEN, Skellefteå
Oddometer: 1,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvGa
2- Added a 2- Y Connection Hose Adaptors to the Lengthened Hoses to under the seat for easier future access.
Like i did, only had some plastic Y-connection that broke, maybe cause of the heat or something.

Now i have just plugged both of them with some small metal pins with a ridge on them used for holding up bookshelfs.

/Johan
__________________
Have changed name, was previously Dirty950

www.dirtyadv.com (under construction)
DirtyADV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 01:32 PM   #6
cagiva549
whats a cagiva
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Cypress Tx
Oddometer: 2,454
I sync mine with an infared thermometer , shoot temps on the exahust the same distance from the cylinder . When the temp is the same its running right . I picked up an electronic sync tool cheap a couple years ago so the first thing I checked was the 950 . sync was perfect till I maxed the sensytivity all the way out , they were out by 1/8 of the scale there so I left it alone . SEYA
__________________
David H
00 Cagiva GC
04 9 fiddy
05 ST3 duck
07 KTM 450 EXC
86 Goldwing my geezer ride
cagiva549 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 11:56 AM   #7
rogtek OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Oddometer: 24
I think the best solution is the one made by AdvGa.

Two questions only:

1) Does it affect carb sync sensitivity and

2) As I see in the photo there is no need to remove the right tank. The two hoses (with the Y connector) that connect to the air filter and SAS valve are already coming from the cylinder vacuum ports. Right?
rogtek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 12:47 PM   #8
AdvGa
Beastly Adventurer
 
AdvGa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta Metro
Oddometer: 1,320
RogTek,

The Plastic Y Connector I attached were Added to the Hoses and not on it originally. Brought both hoses back to under the seat so the Tank will NOT have to be unbolted again to do this process.

When the Sync is done, I just put some caps over the Extra Y Connector when it is done.

Hope this helps....
AdvGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 04:16 AM   #9
Pete640
I hate sand.......
 
Pete640's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Sanding something in the shed...
Oddometer: 1,435
Sync

Good point made earlier thata is worth reinforcing - sync at the rpm range you ride in most of the time. It will be a little different to idle. What would ya rather have - sync when your running or sittting at the lights.

Pete
__________________
Pete
For those who sit at home and dream - let them... Meoni
03 950 Adventure RR - aux tanks and other bling
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=611461
Email. Turtleshell5@icloud.com
Pete640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 01:35 PM   #10
Blackalac
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Rochester NY
Oddometer: 67
I use a home made manometer which consists of 1/4" id vinyl tube tie wrapped to an aluminum yard stick(could be a meter stick). I find it much more convenient that a device were I have to read each meter and compare the reading.

This device is commonly used on airhead BMWs

i did remove the right tank for access
Attached Images
 
Blackalac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 01:47 PM   #11
Chuckracer
More Ride, Less Google
 
Chuckracer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lowville, NY
Oddometer: 6,647

"Another option is a direct airflow meter like the STE Flowmeter shown above which measures the actual airflow though carbs or F.I. throttle bodies. The correct model for the 950/990 is the 6537 AKA the "SK". It fits snuggly in the air horn and doesn't need to be held in place (though if you touch your finger to it lightly, it will make reading the gauge easier with the "normal" V-Twin engine vibes). It's the most accurate and easiest to use tool of the bunch, as no vacuum connection is needed. Click on the image above for a link to more info on this tool."


Copied from the HOW...I use this and it's so easy, and I can do it pretty much any time I have the top of the airbox off. It takes seconds.
__________________
2005.5 KTM 950 Adventure
2001 Scorpa SY250

"
The average pirate doesn't come off any where near as precious as the self absorbed element in the OC these days." ~ Douf
Chuckracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:44 PM   #12
TheMuffinMan
Beastly Adventurer
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Denver, USA
Oddometer: 4,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckracer View Post

"Another option is a direct airflow meter like the STE Flowmeter shown above which measures the actual airflow though carbs or F.I. throttle bodies. The correct model for the 950/990 is the 6537 AKA the "SK". It fits snuggly in the air horn and doesn't need to be held in place (though if you touch your finger to it lightly, it will make reading the gauge easier with the "normal" V-Twin engine vibes). It's the most accurate and easiest to use tool of the bunch, as no vacuum connection is needed. Click on the image above for a link to more info on this tool."


Copied from the HOW...I use this and it's so easy, and I can do it pretty much any time I have the top of the airbox off. It takes seconds.
+1 I bought one and it's stupidly easy, buying two would make it even easier, but it's not required.
__________________
"All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost."
'12 690 Enduro // 690 Wiki
TheMuffinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 03:48 PM   #13
Pax
shazam.
 
Pax's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Columbia MO
Oddometer: 811
Not to hijack, but how do you do it with the SE? Aux fuel tank?
__________________
yamaha wr250r | ktm 950se

RIDES:
Pop & Pax - West TAT 2009
| The Dean of Adventure Routes

“Character is much easier kept than recovered.” –Thomas Paine
Pax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 05:53 PM   #14
Orangecicle
Beastly Adventurer
 
Orangecicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Oddometer: 1,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMuffinMan View Post
+1 I bought one and it's stupidly easy, buying two would make it even easier, but it's not required.
+2. . Simple and easy.
__________________
"I'd like to meet the joker who had the nerve to call this a road!" -- Walter Sigmann "Do not follow where the path may lead. Go, instead, where there is no path and leave a trail." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson "Who am I? Why am I here?" Admiral Stockdale.
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/brad.horn.9
Orangecicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 09:10 AM   #15
Geek
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 29,135
I tried to order a 6537 from their website and when I got to the checkout I got an ODB database error

I emailed them. Hopefully they got the order
Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014