ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-29-2012, 12:06 AM   #106
Slimie
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: East Debon
Oddometer: 1,067
Instruments...

My speedo died!

It worked perfectly when I put the bike away but was completely blank next time I went out.

No idiot lights and no LCD!

I've checked that there is a voltage present at the connector (the blue wires show 12v) but can anyone think of a check for the unit itself? There is one on fleBay at the mo' which appeals more to me than modifying the wiring to use a Vapour or similar.

All ideas gratefully received.

TIA
-Simon
Slimie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 02:12 PM   #107
Luke
GPoET&P
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Idiotville, OR
Oddometer: 4,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slimie View Post
My speedo died!

It worked perfectly when I put the bike away but was completely blank next time I went out.

No idiot lights and no LCD!

I've checked that there is a voltage present at the connector (the blue wires show 12v) but can anyone think of a check for the unit itself? There is one on fleBay at the mo' which appeals more to me than modifying the wiring to use a Vapour or similar.

All ideas gratefully received.

TIA
-Simon
What year is your bike? On the '11, blue is supposed to be ground. You may have a bad ground connection.
Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 02:29 PM   #108
TaterHarry
Redneck Emeritus
 
TaterHarry's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: NNM
Oddometer: 2,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
What year is your bike? On the '11, blue is supposed to be ground. You may have a bad ground connection.
+1 I was noticing that it was 12V to blue and All the newer models ground to the solid blue wires.

On the 2010 and possibly other models there is one spot on the wiring loom that is particularly prone to wear right by the coil. There's a good thread with pics over HERE at Cafe Husky. Worth a look...
TaterHarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 12:00 AM   #109
Slimie
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: East Debon
Oddometer: 1,067
Thanks folks, it's a 2008 bike.

Will have at the Cafe thread, I must have missed that when I searched before!

Thanks again

-Simon
Slimie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 04:34 AM   #110
Slimie
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: East Debon
Oddometer: 1,067
There's no sign of any chafing as shown in the CafeHusky thread, or anywhere else, thanks for the heads up tho'. Also my horn and high beam, brake lights, head, tail and parking lights are all working as they should be (no indicators fitted).

Checking the speedo socket, to earth I'm getting 12 volts from the yellow and black, the red, the white and yellow and the brown wires. There must be an earth through the plug as the fixing bolts are all insulated.

I'm thinking more and more that it has to be the unit that's faulty, but that could be because there is one available!

Thanks
-Simon
Slimie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 11:51 AM   #111
tigrebleau
Studly Adventurer
 
tigrebleau's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Buggy-droppings, PA
Oddometer: 663
Coolant hose relocation

I saw somewhere that it was a good idea to relocate the coolant hoses. Anyone have any specifics? I'm buying a 2012 TE250 and would rather set it up right at the start. Any other (useful) advice appreciated.
__________________
"To them, the bike is just garage clutter. To us, it's a loaded Beretta, a half-million in cash, and a forged passport under the floorboards." - Dan Walsh
tigrebleau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:08 PM   #112
Slimie
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: East Debon
Oddometer: 1,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigrebleau View Post
I saw somewhere that it was a good idea to relocate the coolant hoses. Anyone have any specifics? I'm buying a 2012 TE250 and would rather set it up right at the start. Any other (useful) advice appreciated.
I don't know if it's still a problem but bikes of the age of mine - 2008 or thereabouts had a hose connecting piece made of plastic that sometimes broke.
A couple of companies made more substantial replacements, Up-Tite Racing for one.

CafeHusky has more information and is a great resource for these bikes.

Cheers
-Simon
Slimie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:10 PM   #113
TaterHarry
Redneck Emeritus
 
TaterHarry's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: NNM
Oddometer: 2,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigrebleau View Post
I saw somewhere that it was a good idea to relocate the coolant hoses. Anyone have any specifics? I'm buying a 2012 TE250 and would rather set it up right at the start. Any other (useful) advice appreciated.
No need to swap hoses on the X-Lite bikes as the hose has been updated. It does pass very close to the exhaust pipe but I haven't heard of any issues.

+1 on checking in at CafeHusky.
TaterHarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:42 PM   #114
swamp
U lie&yo'breff stank
 
swamp's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: lower appalachia, Alabama
Oddometer: 1,798
Thumb Te-250

other advice for tigrebleau :

I have a 2012 TE250

make sure you get all the smog crap off of it and plug the hole between the motor and throttle body with a rubber nipple thingy.

I put a 12 port fuel injector in mine (stock is 6 port), changed the 2 bolts that hold the injector in (made of cheese) to good alan head bolts from home depot.

installed the ECU from the TXC model.

reset the TPS and used ibeat to set everything to 100%

i also removed the stock stearing stops (too long for me). purchased some shorter alan bolts from home depot. huge difference. shorter turning radius . still no contact with radiators.

i installed a larger rear sprocket (the stock one was only a 40T.. gay) and a smaller front sprocket.

the stock rear tire is going to rub a hole in your mud flap (why they chose that tire im not sure of) so push the mudflap towards the front of the bike before you go out riding. once you burn through the stock tires changed to a "normal" size knobbie and you're good to go.

i also installed cycra bark busters onto my bike. if you do this make sure you get the "magura bend" type.

also, be careful not to over fill your oil , the husky doesnt like that.

I'm 5'10 and weigh 155 lbs. the suspension was pretty much dead-on perfect for hard single track riding. i think i removed 2 clicks or rebound damping on the shock just to mess with something

after you get the bike set up and de-tree-huggered you will love it. the thing eats single track for breakfast, its amazing.

__________________
Enduro Earth
YOUTUBE

off the grid and deep in the woods

swamp screwed with this post 05-08-2012 at 04:51 PM
swamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 09:25 AM   #115
ohenry
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ohenry's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: GA
Oddometer: 461
Great video!

I just traded my 05 DRZ400s for a 08 TE250 because I wanted a better more dirt bike.
Here is my old DRZ400s which I liked.


Here is my ''New" bike.











http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jHfbi...ature=youtu.be

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C0Qfq...ature=youtu.be

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PRCgK...ature=youtu.be

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2upEf...ature=youtu.be

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fEEuU...ature=youtu.be

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPRNr...ature=youtu.be

I like it! I had the DRZ400s which was so heavy and the WR250r which was an OK 50/50 bike but I tried to make it more dirt and hated it.
I think the first owner used it off road and removed the odometer and the guy I got it from put it back.
The TE250 hits like a 2 stroke and it is so light. The box the guy gave of blinkers and stuff was 11.8 lbs alone.
Crazy bike!

Ohenry
__________________
2009 KLX351s

ohenry screwed with this post 07-09-2012 at 04:15 PM
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:28 PM   #116
Tachedoutoffroad
Mr. Parrish
 
Tachedoutoffroad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Alabama
Oddometer: 618
In the market for a Husky 250-310 with a tag if any of y'all need some quick cash.

Needs to be located within $300 of Alabama and cost less than $4000.

Thanks.....











...... Waiting for the magic PM...
__________________
'00 KTM 400EXC --plated!
'89 Honda Transalp
Sikorsky UH-60L
Support your local know-it-all gear guy and give your money to Brian at https://www.atomic-moto.com/
Tachedoutoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:35 AM   #117
swamp
U lie&yo'breff stank
 
swamp's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: lower appalachia, Alabama
Oddometer: 1,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tachedoutoffroad View Post
In the market for a Husky 250-310 with a tag if any of y'all need some quick cash.

Needs to be located within $300 of Alabama and cost less than $4000.

Thanks.....






...... Waiting for the magic PM...

Hi Tach
__________________
Enduro Earth
YOUTUBE

off the grid and deep in the woods
swamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 08:31 PM   #118
Tachedoutoffroad
Mr. Parrish
 
Tachedoutoffroad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Alabama
Oddometer: 618
Look what I put a deposit on....





__________________
'00 KTM 400EXC --plated!
'89 Honda Transalp
Sikorsky UH-60L
Support your local know-it-all gear guy and give your money to Brian at https://www.atomic-moto.com/
Tachedoutoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 08:32 PM   #119
Tachedoutoffroad
Mr. Parrish
 
Tachedoutoffroad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Alabama
Oddometer: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by swamp View Post
Hi Tach
Howdy neighbor
__________________
'00 KTM 400EXC --plated!
'89 Honda Transalp
Sikorsky UH-60L
Support your local know-it-all gear guy and give your money to Brian at https://www.atomic-moto.com/
Tachedoutoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 06:51 PM   #120
sparrow
Beastly Adventurer
 
sparrow's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mass
Oddometer: 1,139
Anyone know what the hp is for a stock 2010 te250? Also what's the shop manual say about when to check/change the piston and rings?
sparrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014