ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2010, 11:36 AM   #1
rockhopper OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rockhopper's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Zaragoza, Espanol
Oddometer: 196
Cry help- need procedure from BMW manual for clutch

Hi all,

I fried my clutch on the 800gs on a muddy Welsh hillside a while ago, anyway got a new clutch kit last week, and have now got round to fitting it, took the side cover to find the old one - not looking too bad, a bit of overheating but nothing too bad




swapped for the new plates and started to put the side cover on....... now the problem, the clutch actuating plunger in the middle of the clutch on the bike has to locate in the socket on the cover in order for the lever on the cover , only problem is that the plunger bit doesn't seem to be going far enough in and when we are all re-assembled, the clutch is nearly out of adjustment, I have had it apart twice now and still the same result. I am hoping one of the inmates could show me a copy of the reassembley part of the procedure from the service dvd- as I am sure there is something not right here
__________________
Cheers



Chris
rockhopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 04:03 AM   #2
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,162
Well I would not have thought it ... but there appear to be several ways to screw this up..........







and .... as I have ALWAYS come to expect, the manual (Rev. #4) leaves me wanting more information..........

Right off I see:

Pic - 1) I'm not QUITE sure what they mean when they say install... wide/narrow drivers ... maybe this would be more clear if had the parts in front of me...

Pic -1) note the sharp edge of the plates goes IN ... not sure why this matters, and would not guess that this is your problem, but since you are in there anyway ... I'd do it like they say...

Pic 2 & 3) Note that some "construction groups" have a segmented thrust washer which might or might not be replaced with a NON-segmented thrust washer, or might be discarded completely as it indicates the new construction status does not use it?

It does give what I would call a "stack height" dimension well TWO of them actually ... 46.3 / 44.9mm so you could see if what you've got matches either of those.... If yours is thicker than 46.3 ... that would explain what you are seeing ........ If you discard the thrust washer it looks like the stack is supposed to be 1.4mmm thinner ....

Also ... note the F658GS has different shoulder washer bits......
I wonder if the spring preload is less on the 658?

Well I'm sure I've cleared everything up for you now eh?
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 10:25 AM   #3
Motorrad-Carlsbad
motorrad-carlsbad
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego County
Oddometer: 8
...just browsing through these threads and can only say that jrwooden is a great inmate.
Motorrad-Carlsbad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 10:32 AM   #4
CSL3
Claude the Adventurer :)
 
CSL3's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 51
Thumb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motorrad-Carlsbad
...just browsing through these threads and can only say that jrwooden is a great inmate.
+1
__________________
09.01 Grey F800GS
CSL3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 11:05 AM   #5
rockhopper OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rockhopper's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Zaragoza, Espanol
Oddometer: 196
Thumb

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWooden
Well I would not have thought it ... but there appear to be several ways to screw this up..........

and .... as I have ALWAYS come to expect, the manual (Rev. #4) leaves me wanting more information..........

Right off I see:

Well I'm sure I've cleared everything up for you now eh?


AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH

We will have a look- many thanks
__________________
Cheers



Chris
rockhopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 11:26 AM   #6
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,162
You're welcome Chris

I'd like some clarification myself on the segmented vs. non-segmented vs. "not there" thrust washer... if you find out anything let us know....

I think I smell a "clutch upgrade" for us F658GS owners i.e. using F800GS shoulder washers .... and to think that in the old days I used recycled crush washers from spark plugs under the springs to get a bit more preload!
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 12:48 PM   #7
The Griz
North Forest Rider
 
The Griz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Oddometer: 3,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motorrad-Carlsbad
...just browsing through these threads and can only say that jrwooden is a great inmate.
+1
__________________
PAUL BUNYAN FOREST RIDERS MC
2013 KTM 300 XC-W
2014 KTM 690 Enduro R
The Griz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 02:29 PM   #8
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,162
PS: Thanks for the kinds words folks....
Where's the "blush" smilie
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 02:54 PM   #9
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWooden
PS: Thanks for the kinds words folks....
Where's the "blush" smilie
Use this one

__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 03:54 AM   #10
David_S
Beastly Adventurer
 
David_S's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Sullivan, Ohio
Oddometer: 1,132
off topic. JR how did you copy and paste from the DVD. I tried it yesterday as there wasn't any replies here yet but was unsuccessful with my attempts.
__________________
bikeless
David_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 04:21 AM   #11
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,162
David:

I use a very old utility called "PrintKey 2000".
It allows you to capture a screen shot or a piece of the screen and then save it as an image file.

There may be a better way, but I just pulled up the page from the shop manual, did a clipped screen shot, saved as JPG then uploaded from there.

PrintKey is not supported any longer, but works fine on my Vista PC, it is no longer available for download from any sites I trust as it is so old, but PM me your e-mail address and I can send you a copy or there are newer "screen capture" utilities out there that do the same thing...

JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 06:59 AM   #12
Motoriley
Even my posing is virtual
 
Motoriley's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Deepest darkest burbs of Montreal
Oddometer: 2,655
Print Screen

I use the print screen button in Vista and that "copies" my screen. I then can paste it into Photoshop and edit and save it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWooden
David:

I use a very old utility called "PrintKey 2000".
It allows you to capture a screen shot or a piece of the screen and then save it as an image file.

There may be a better way, but I just pulled up the page from the shop manual, did a clipped screen shot, saved as JPG then uploaded from there.

PrintKey is not supported any longer, but works fine on my Vista PC, it is no longer available for download from any sites I trust as it is so old, but PM me your e-mail address and I can send you a copy or there are newer "screen capture" utilities out there that do the same thing...
__________________
04 Toyota Sienna, new wipers for 2011!!
Electricity (120 AC), Indoor Plumbing, new kitchen tap for 2010!!!
Color tube TV, Microwave Oven (yes she rotates!),Washer & Dryer,Paved Driveway,
Website - http://www.apormc.com/
Vids - http://www.youtube.com/user/Motoriley?feature=mhum
Motoriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 02:22 PM   #13
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,162
That works well!

The one cool feature of PrintKey that I really like is that you can select the section of the screen you want to save or print so it's one less step.
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 03:23 PM   #14
sturgeon
Studly Adventurer
 
sturgeon's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Great White North
Oddometer: 917
grabbing screen shots

Vista (and presumably W7) also has a "snipping tool" that makes this a whole lot easier. No need for PrintScreen. It's as easy as 'drag to select area of screen, save as jpg'.

Another option is to print to PDF. I think there's freebies out that there will do this (I have Acrobat Pro for this, courtesy of ex-work).

(Perhaps snipping tool is not in Vista Home Basic, which is just XP with a prettier look anyways).
sturgeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 03:50 PM   #15
Firefight911
Studly Adventurer
 
Firefight911's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Folsom, CA
Oddometer: 997
Where else can we bring our grubby, greasy, oily fingers to find out some information on a clutch issue only to find that we learn about computers?

LEVITY!! Not for the thin of skin!!! This means relax, I'm having some fun!!

I never knew about the snipping. Just did it and BLAMO!!! Cool!!!
__________________
Ride Safe, Ride Often, RIDE!!!!
Firefight911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014