ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2010, 09:16 AM   #1
Unleaded OP
Unit Train
 
Unleaded's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Hellinois
Oddometer: 807
Touratech MVG experiences?

I have the locking Touratech MVG mount for my 276c. I've actually had it for several years, and just got around to installing it on my newest bike (1200GSA). I have it mounted on the windshield bracket using Touratech's adapter bar. My question is for those of you that have had this mount for awhile...

Have you had any longevity problems with your GPS that were actually caused by this mount? It's supposed to be vibration and shock-isolating, but it vibrates so much when the bike is idling that it's barely legible. Doesn't bother me from a usefulness standpoint, because I rarely sit with the bike idling and fool with the GPS. The vibrations smooth out at speed. But it vibrates so strongly that it has me wondering if the vibration dampers are doing more harm than good.
__________________
www.motorcycletravelers.com
Unleaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 10:35 AM   #2
FishGS
Here fishy fishy..
 
FishGS's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Olympia,WA.
Oddometer: 268
fixing Touratech MVG mount vibration

I had the same problem with mine.
My solution was to install rubber spacers in between the dampers to take up the slack.

I used the rubber liner thingies (technical term!) that line a opening in a car firewall so the wire loom does not get cut.



Looks like this when done and it really works. Cheap too!

Hope that helps!
__________________
Free to active Military threadhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=568314

Hoh Rainforest Ride. Treacherous Water crossings.http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=699509
FishGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 11:48 AM   #3
rider1150gsadv
Fl Keys Fishing Guide
 
rider1150gsadv's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Florida Keys/Ft Likkertail , USA
Oddometer: 5,912
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by FishGS
I had the same problem with mine.
My solution was to install rubber spacers in between the dampers to take up the slack.

I used the rubber liner thingies (Grommets ) (technical term!) that line a opening in a car firewall so the wire loom does not get cut.



Looks like this when done and it really works. Cheap too!

Hope that helps!
Fixelated and a good solution BTW
rider1150gsadv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014