User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-27-2010, 05:18 AM   #1
Nuclearboy30 OP
n00b

Oddometer: 6
1st Trip Report, Operation: Find that 7th gear. Lake Superior Ontario, Canada

This will be our first trip report. First some info.

My wife and I have been riding motorcycles since 2006. Right after we finished our course…we went out and got two 600 cc sport bikes…a MUST for the beginner rider :). I got a Yamaha R6 while my wife got herself a Honda CBR F4i. These were most enjoyable, and the R6 has seen the Dragons Tail at Deals Gap and survived rubber side up. (first of 6 videos below)

This year I decided that the R6 was not really conducive to long rides (which I found I was more and more drawn too)…so I sold my first bike…which made me die a bit inside, I am not ashamed to say…and purchased a new 650 cc V-Strom (Wee-Strom). My wife is keeping her F4i..as it is a bit more relaxed and upright than most sport bikes..and well…it goes fast too. I can take care of the luggage issue now :)
So our two bikes details are

Mine: 2010 V-Strom 650 Black, center stand, Givi engine guards, hand warmers, OEM luggage and mounts (I know I know…supposed to get aftermarket…but these have been working just fine so far), 12 volt adapter, Scorpio Alarm.
My Wife: 2006 Honda CBR F4i 600cc, suspension lowered, Throttlemeister throttle lock, Scotts steering damper, Scorpio Alarm.

So this year we decided that we would be riding to Nova Scotia from Bowmanville, Ontario in August. But since we had never done such a long motorcycle trip before, a shorter practice run was necessary to determine our limits. So on the Victoria Day weekend (May 2-4 it’s called here in Canada…usually for the 2-4 of beer consumed during the weekend) we decided to go explore the northern parts of Ontario we had never seen before. After some review, we settled on the following route