ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2010, 12:06 PM   #1
SenorPeligro OP
Proper Naughty
 
SenorPeligro's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Off the wrong map
Oddometer: 1,962
Air Pump that works with CANbus?

OK so my trusty motopumps.com air pump doesn't work with the CANbus on my F800GS. Does anyone know of a nice, compact pump that will work or am I doomed to run a powerlet directly from the battery?
__________________
It's just good clean dirt.

Video Antics
Where am I Riding?
Baja Blitz Yard Sale
SenorPeligro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 12:21 PM   #2
Simonf8gs
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Oddometer: 31


Or you can add/modify a 12v plug fused with 10-20A?
__________________
___________________________________________
Currently ridding to Tiera del Fuego, Argentina
http://aventuresdesimon.blogspot.com/

---------------------------
08 BMW F800GS
04 Yamaha YZ250 2 strokes
---------------------------

Simonf8gs screwed with this post 06-08-2010 at 12:32 PM
Simonf8gs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 12:32 PM   #3
JoelWisman
Beastly Adventurer
 
JoelWisman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: STL, MO, USA
Oddometer: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simonf8gs
your doomed to have to run another plug right from the battery. It has nothing to do with the outlet accepting CANbus communication, the factory outlet just does not have the capacity for high draw items such as air compressors.
__________________
Owned to date. Honda Aero 50, Honda Elite 80, Honda Elite 250x2, Suzuki Katana, Suzuki RF600, Yamaha YZF1000R, Kymco Xciting 500, Suzuki GS500, Suzuki Burgman 650, BMW F800GSx2, BMW S1000RR, Aprilia Scarabeo 200, Aprilia Caponord, Aprilia Sportcity 250
I love and miss you Jeneca and I'm sorry.
JoelWisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 12:46 PM   #4
SenorPeligro OP
Proper Naughty
 
SenorPeligro's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Off the wrong map
Oddometer: 1,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelWisman
your doomed to have to run another plug right from the battery. It has nothing to do with the outlet accepting CANbus communication, the factory outlet just does not have the capacity for high draw items such as air compressors.
Good to know, thanks.

So uh what's the stock outlet good for?
__________________
It's just good clean dirt.

Video Antics
Where am I Riding?
Baja Blitz Yard Sale
SenorPeligro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 12:49 PM   #5
blender
Just another rider
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: The Middle Coast
Oddometer: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelWisman
your doomed to have to run another plug right from the battery. It has nothing to do with the outlet accepting CANbus communication, the factory outlet just does not have the capacity for high draw items such as air compressors.
Yeah, what Joel said.
I simply run a fused pigtail from the battery down under the top "tank" panel. Tuck it under the seat area when not in use. I use that for powering a small air compressor, my heated jacket, and plugging in the Battery Tender Plus during the winter. Altho not all that stuff at once.... ;)

Almost one year on and no issues so far.
__________________
Steve
Madison, WI
blender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 01:32 PM   #6
dendrophobe
Motorbike Junky
 
dendrophobe's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Oddometer: 857
You can also get the stock one rewired so that you can use higher draw items. I had my dealer do that shortly after I picked it up, and haven't regretted it.
__________________
Doug
Semper Fi
2009 BMW F800GS, Olive Drab
2006 Ducati Sport 1000, Black
Custom built Ducati GT1000 Scrambler, Red
dendrophobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 03:00 PM   #7
JoelWisman
Beastly Adventurer
 
JoelWisman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: STL, MO, USA
Oddometer: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by SenorPeligro
Good to know, thanks.

So uh what's the stock outlet good for?
not very much, heated gloves, gps, radar detector, one of those ionizing air freshners. That's about in :)
__________________
Owned to date. Honda Aero 50, Honda Elite 80, Honda Elite 250x2, Suzuki Katana, Suzuki RF600, Yamaha YZF1000R, Kymco Xciting 500, Suzuki GS500, Suzuki Burgman 650, BMW F800GSx2, BMW S1000RR, Aprilia Scarabeo 200, Aprilia Caponord, Aprilia Sportcity 250
I love and miss you Jeneca and I'm sorry.
JoelWisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 04:17 PM   #8
spafxer
Beastly Adventurer
 
spafxer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Oddometer: 2,527
Andy,

We can probably do your existing socket to the battery at the Assault on Tahoe ride.

You are bringing the new bike, right ????


Spafxer
jim
spafxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 08:01 PM   #9
dukedar
60 easy payments!
 
dukedar's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Montreal, Qc
Oddometer: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelWisman
not very much, heated gloves, gps, radar detector, one of those ionizing air freshners. That's about in :)
And a Power Inverter to charge cell phones and cameras... Worked like a charm for me!
__________________
Darren
'09 BMW F800GS
dukedar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 09:40 PM   #10
SenorPeligro OP
Proper Naughty
 
SenorPeligro's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Off the wrong map
Oddometer: 1,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by spafxer
Andy,

We can probably do your existing socket to the battery at the Assault on Tahoe ride.

You are bringing the new bike, right ????


Spafxer
jim
I should probably show up for that one sometime right? Actually it sounds like more on an XR650 escapade to me.
__________________
It's just good clean dirt.

Video Antics
Where am I Riding?
Baja Blitz Yard Sale
SenorPeligro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 03:41 AM   #11
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelWisman
one of those ionizing air freshners
Yeah That's what I need for my rides past the dump!
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 05:54 AM   #12
huckleberry
BACK ROAD BOMBER
 
huckleberry's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: N.E. Pa.
Oddometer: 1,106
i got a slime tire top off pump from walmart that runs off thestandard outlet with a cig lighter adpter. its very small and a little slow blowing up my air mattress but it works.
__________________
“An adventure is misery and discomfort, relived in the safety of reminiscence.” Marco Polo
09 F 650 GS twin
XR 400
Beta Techno
huckleberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 02:11 PM   #13
ecce
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ecce's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Oddometer: 129
happened to read the manual today. The cig socket is rated for 5 amps. So any pump at that or less should work I guess.

I havnt tried my pump since I sold the r1200gs. But it worked well on that bike and I assume it will on the f800 as well.
__________________
ecce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 05:50 PM   #14
peekay
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecce
happened to read the manual today. The cig socket is rated for 5 amps. So any pump at that or less should work I guess.
Most pumps need more than 5 amps to start, and will draw more current as the PSI rises. That also means small compressors which require less than 5 amps might not be powerful enough to fully inflate your tires.

The bottom line is to test your pump setup at the required PSI before it's actually needed. I've read about certain models (e.g. from Slime) exceeding 15 amps so that will not work even with most Powerlet retrofit kits. I guess they're designed for cars which have larger batteries.
peekay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 08:26 PM   #15
Waino
Adventurer
 
Waino's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 51
BMW actually has a wiring part that snaps into the existing pug, and wires directly to the batter (with fuse). It's used on police bikes. Get one at your dealer, and that socket will finally be worth something.
Waino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014