ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-03-2014, 05:04 PM   #1
SikDMAX OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo - 58 229 & 1
Oddometer: 729
GS Wethead Taillight Wiring

I dont have a bike in front of me currently - anyone know if the wiring changed on the wetheads for the taillight? Looking to see if there is a seperate taillight and brakelight wire, for installing a Custom Dynamics tail light flasher, or if the light is still a single wire unit run by CANBUS. Thanks
__________________
Matt - SikMoto www.Facebook.com/SikMoto San Luis Obispo, CA
SikDMAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 06:09 PM   #2
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 3,039
The GSW uses a 3-wire connecter for the tail/brake lamp.

Gray-Tail
Gray/black/yellow-Brake
Brown-Ground.

You will need a controller to make any auxiliary lights work, the newer CANBus system is ultra sensitive to any additional draw no matter how small.
__________________
Not for the meek.
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 07:12 PM   #3
SikDMAX OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo - 58 229 & 1
Oddometer: 729
Thank you sir! The brake light flasher from Custom Dynamics is a simple 3 wire setup - ground, then cut the brake wire and attach one wire to the light side, one wire to the computer side.

I have the setup on my 2012 K1600GT with Canbus and no errors, but the 1200RTs use a single wire and modulate voltage for brake and tail lights, so I wasnt sure if the GS was separate. Thanks!

Ill post a video of the installed unit in a few days.
__________________
Matt - SikMoto www.Facebook.com/SikMoto San Luis Obispo, CA
SikDMAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 08:01 AM   #4
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 3,039
It will be interesting to see how it goes on the GSW.
__________________
Not for the meek.
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 08:40 PM   #5
SikDMAX OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo - 58 229 & 1
Oddometer: 729
For future reference for others searching, the Universal model from Custom Dynamics did not work on the GSW, as it did on the K1600. I have their CANBUS model on order and we will try that one. Stay tuned.
__________________
Matt - SikMoto www.Facebook.com/SikMoto San Luis Obispo, CA
SikDMAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 07:47 AM   #6
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 3,039
I was afraid of that.
So far the only LED controller that I'm aware of that will work with the GSW is the Skene.
__________________
Not for the meek.
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 09:37 AM   #7
SikDMAX OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo - 58 229 & 1
Oddometer: 729
Whats odd is that upon motorcycle initial powerup, the tailight flashes at whatever pattern we set it at. After that, the taillight would only work as normal. So Im thinking the computer does a self check, lights the taillight, it sensed that the light was flashing and not steady on, so it shuts that circuit down somehow, but then it doesnt explain why the light operates as normal after that.

The skene unit, does it tie into the wiring and flash the existing taillight? Or are you talking about the P3 add on lights.
__________________
Matt - SikMoto www.Facebook.com/SikMoto San Luis Obispo, CA
SikDMAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 09:58 AM   #8
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 3,039
I use a Skene IQ-160 so I can only speak for this device.
I have it connected to a Whelen TIR3 only as a supplemental brake light with no issues.

I believe there is a possibility that if spliced inline ahead of the taillight that it could operate just the taillight without causing CANBus issues.
The taillight will remain on until the CANBus kicks off after key-off though, but that should not pose any problems.
__________________
Not for the meek.
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014