Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-12-2010, 08:11 PM   #1
NJjeff OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 948
01' VW Passat, Oil pressure light coming on???

Ok it's not my car but I get the call with a question. Shit I don't know the answer so i'll ask here.

First off, i'm not a mechanic nor do I play one on TV. Also I have not seen the car, this is just over the phone.

Car: 2001 Passat wagon 1.8L Auto.

While driving WARNING, LOW OIL PRESSURE or something like that shows up on the display.
Car is pulled right into gas station and shutof. Driver walks home.
Than calls me:

I ask:
Any noises
Yea kinda funny
I ask like what
I don't know
Ok......
Well the gas station is going to look at it.
Fine.

I'm than told the oil was changed a few days ago from a shop who regularly sees the car.

Oh, I think they should look where work was last done..

Day goes by.

Gas station says nothing is wrong.
Take car - give us $50. Person does.

The next day the car is used and the warning light comes back on. Car is pulled over but left running.

This time i'm told it sounds "Airy"
ok?
Or maybe transmission noises.
um ok?

At this point the owner decides to drive to another shop.
Why not back to the orginial who sees the car and changed the oil, i don't know???

At the next shop they take some time to see the car. By than a re-start provides no noise and no warning on the dash display.

Ok, owner drives home and on the way warning light comes back on.
Car is parked sitting in garage.

VW gooroo's !
Ideas???
NJjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 08:30 PM   #2
sideshow
debaser

Oddometer: 2,777
Has said person even checked the dipstick?
sideshow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 08:50 PM   #3
Zundfolge
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 174