User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-16-2010, 02:09 AM   #1
bretedge OP
Do Epic Shit

Oddometer: 441
Four Days in SW Colorado on an F650GS Twin

Last Friday I headed out from my condo in Moab for a four day, three night tour through southwestern Colorado. It was my first multi-day trip but it ain't gonna be the last. A few days before the trip I decided on a rough route, made a packing list and got to work acquiring the necessary maps and last minute gear. It only took a few minutes on Thursday evening to realize that the packing list I thought was "light" wasn't light enough. So, I began to shed gear. That was lesson #1 and I hadn't even left the parking lot. I was sure there were many more lessons to be had considering I'm a complete noob to this whole "adventure riding" gig.

Friday morning rolled around and I headed north out of Moab on my fully packed F650GS twin. I took the river road (Hwy. 128) to I-70 to avoid traffic on Hwy. 191, then west on I-70 to Grand Junction. There I met up with my wife and 16 month old son for lunch at Chipotle before the real solo adventure began. I assured my wife that my brand new Spot was on and working properly before kissing her goodbye and riding toward the Uncompahgre Plateau.

I planned to ride the entire length of the Divide Road atop the Uncompahgre Plateau, traveling north to south and ending in Montrose. It didn't take long to reach the turn, where the pavement was replaced with dirt. A few short switchbacks later delivered me to a nice view of Jack's Canyon.

All clean and shiny at Jack's Canyon

Before long I was on the top of the plateau and riding amongst the pines. it began to rain lightly with ominous clouds on the horizon. I found a nice campsite and stopped for the night. I set up the tent, ate dinner and took a nap. The clouds cleared and I was treated to a nice sunset.

Sunset from camp on the Uncompahgre Plateau