User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-17-2010, 01:20 AM   #1
Bongolia OP
stop acting

Oddometer: 16,282
Moto Guzzi 850 Le Mans Mk1 Series 2 buyers advice requested

I've been looking for a Le Mans 850 for a while.

This one has come up on the scope.

Unrestored Mk 1 series 2 1978, 41K and apparently totally stock.

Looks well used from the photos.

The price is a bit OTT at 6900 GBP or $US 10,500 , however the dealer is well respected in the UK and the price is negotiable.

What should I be looking for in particular when checking over a Le Mans? I'm a half decent home mechanic but never owned a Guzzi and don't know much about the particular issues they may have.

Thanks for any wisdoms.

Bongolia screwed with this post 07-17-2010 at 05:26 AM
Bongolia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 03:24 AM   #2
advNZer?
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Bongo
I've been looking for a Le Mans 850 for a while.

This one has come up on the scope.

Unrestored Mk 1 series 2 1978, 41K and totally stock.

Looks well used from the photos.

The price is a bit OTT at 6900 GBP or $US 10,500 , however the dealer is well respected in the UK and the price is negotiable.

What should I be looking for in particular when checking over a Le Mans? I'm a half decent home mechanic but never owned a Guzzi and don't know much about the particular issues they may have.

Thanks for any wisdoms.
well used?Looks bloody good for a 1978 motorcycle!
Old 07-17-2010, 05:10 AM   #3
farmer fred
Banned

Oddometer: 1,493
Hey Bongo,

Obvious check the usual, but the weak link on these machines can be the clutch and input hub.

Also, the Le Mans came w/o air filters, and many suffered premature cylinder wear as a result. Maybe do a compression test and take a look at the plugs while you have em out.