Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-23-2010, 08:01 AM   #1
bbooker OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 235
2-up to Canaan Valley, WV on a Versys

Background

After being an armchair ADVer for the past 3 years, I was elated when my wife agreed to celebrate our 20 year wedding anniversary by riding 2-up with me on a long weekend ride. I started riding just four years ago, at 42. My wife (Dawn) started riding 2-up with me last summer on short rides. With two teenage kids, it’s been hard to find the time to do much riding. But with the kids away at camp for a couple of weeks and our anniversary around the corner, it was the perfect opportunity to share some great riding with the woman I love. Since the local forecast was for typical Washington DC summer weather (read: hot and muggy), we set our sights for the cooler climes of the town of Davis in Canaan Valley, WV. Since this was only my 2nd overnight trip and Dawn’s 1st, we wanted ease into things. At about 160 miles away, Davis was perfect. Before I get into meat of the report, a little preview of things to come.

Day 1

I was awoken early Friday morning at our home in Vienna, VA by what turned out to be a 3.6 magnitude earthquake. Pretty tame compared with those earthquakes we hear about on the news, but exciting nonetheless. After some last-minute suspension tuning on the Versys, we mounted the bike and began by heading west on Rt 66. As we watched the stop-and-go traffic in the opposite lanes we were happy that at least on this Friday, we weren’t among those heading to the office for the day. At Gainesville, we diverted off of 66 onto Rt 55, cruising through the quaint towns of Haymarket, The Plains, and Marshall. Stopping at 10:00 in Strasburg for a break, it was already hot, probably in the mid-80s.