ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-24-2010, 06:35 PM   #1
ProdigyXL OP
Long way north
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: 45.52310, -73.36043
Oddometer: 10
Question Where is the SAE connector ?

Hello,

I just bought a SAE To Dual Cigarette Socket Y Cable to power my etrex trough the cigarette car adapter. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to locate the connector on my bike. I know, I'm more than a noob.



If someone has the knowledge to help me, I would appreciate greatly.
Thank you.

Jim
(BMW F650GS 09)
ProdigyXL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 06:39 PM   #2
EnderTheX
Drunken Squirrel
 
EnderTheX's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: DFW Area, TX
Oddometer: 2,707
You have to install it yourself...


Oh yeah... and make sure you don't make an embarrassing mistake like I did. I have both the GPS hard mounted and the connector hard mounted to the battery (I use mine for the trickle charger). Since there are so many terminals on the batter I thought I tightened everything up but the bike started acting funny like it was "resetting" itself or something. Turns out I hadn't tightened the connections enough, I used some fancy electrical grease as well a buddy from work let me borrow, works like a charm.

EnderTheX screwed with this post 07-24-2010 at 06:50 PM
EnderTheX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 07:02 PM   #3
ProdigyXL OP
Long way north
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: 45.52310, -73.36043
Oddometer: 10
Ok so I'll have to buy another cable

EnderTheX, thanks for your reply.

If I understand correctly, I'll have to buy another cable to connect my SAE connector on the battery and I'm set.
ProdigyXL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 07:05 PM   #4
EnderTheX
Drunken Squirrel
 
EnderTheX's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: DFW Area, TX
Oddometer: 2,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProdigyXL
EnderTheX, thanks for your reply.

If I understand correctly, I'll have to buy another cable to connect my SAE connector on the battery and I'm set.
Yep I was originally hesitant to reply since I bought mine used and I'm unsure of what they come with stock but I had to install another cable. Here is a picture I borrowed off a site trying to sell em.

EnderTheX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 07:15 PM   #5
ProdigyXL OP
Long way north
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: 45.52310, -73.36043
Oddometer: 10
Bingo

There will be so many wires on my bike that I'm thinking to hire a IBM consultant Once again, thank you. I'll buy the piece you mention, install it and it's done.
ProdigyXL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 07:27 PM   #6
TierHawg
Herder of the J-Cats
 
TierHawg's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Oddometer: 130
Here is where I placed mine:
TierHawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 07:41 PM   #7
ProdigyXL OP
Long way north
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: 45.52310, -73.36043
Oddometer: 10
Thumb

Very clean setup indeed.
ProdigyXL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 07:43 PM   #8
Too Many Toys
Adventure Poseur
 
Too Many Toys's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Just off the Lincoln hiway in Ioway & Mesa, AZ
Oddometer: 1,200
FYI, SAE is the same as Battery Tender's use. Plus Powerlet Products has a ton of SAE cables/connectors.

I usually wire them directly to the battery, bypassing the CANBUS which allows you to charge your bike w/ a normal battery tender/charger. Direct to the battery will provide higher amperage also, thinking the CANBUS is only like 5 amps max. output. Not sure that's enough for heated clothing.
__________________
TMT
Too Many Toys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 09:50 PM   #9
TierHawg
Herder of the J-Cats
 
TierHawg's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Oddometer: 130
Forgot to add:

The SAE connector is from Battery Tender. I wired it directly to the battery, and ran it from the right-side, around the head tube, and located it near the left grip as shown in the pic above. I use it for the battery tender, and can use it for a tire pump and a cigarette socket to power a GPS / ect.
TierHawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 10:48 PM   #10
Bucko
In a parallel world
 
Bucko's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: South Coast, CA
Oddometer: 808
Thumb Powerlet rock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Too Many Toys
FYI, SAE is the same as Battery Tender's use. Plus Powerlet Products has a ton of SAE cables/connectors.
I bought one of these from Powerlet to reduce the number of connections to my battery - http://www.powerlet.com/product/term...-fuseblock/409 It's pretty easy to cram down into the dead space behind the battery and lets you hook up four separate power and ground connections.
Bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 04:50 AM   #11
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,112
One more note...

I kinda went crazy and added several sets of taps.
A gerbing for my heated gear, an SAE for my tender, and a custom one for my GPS.

I caught what could have been a big problem if undiscovered ... the standard bolts on the top of the battery are not long enough for more than about two extra sets of leads. Watch your thread engagement at the battery posts if you go electrical-farkle-happy
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 12:04 PM   #12
Bucko
In a parallel world
 
Bucko's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: South Coast, CA
Oddometer: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWooden
One more note...

I kinda went crazy and added several sets of taps.
A gerbing for my heated gear, an SAE for my tender, and a custom one for my GPS.

I caught what could have been a big problem if undiscovered ... the standard bolts on the top of the battery are not long enough for more than about two extra sets of leads. Watch your thread engagement at the battery posts if you go electrical-farkle-happy
See my previous post for the solution...
Bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 01:26 PM   #13
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucko
See my previous post for the solution...
I like your solution ... I'm just cheap
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 03:08 PM   #14
Gangplank
Advenchaintourer
 
Gangplank's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Oddometer: 2,302
I use a battery tender. It comes with an SAE plug.

How's this for a clean set up?

Left side of the bike wire tied up under left side panel:


Close up:


And the tender saying GREEN LIGHT =
__________________
Ride more, bark less
Gangplank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 12:52 PM   #15
Catskill
tree hugger
 
Catskill's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Ride Faster I hear Banjos!
Oddometer: 1,783
BMW wiring for heated gear?

Searching for an answer that's in between the "gear" section of the forum and the "gs" section...this is one of the closest threads that came up when I searched.

I'm in the market for heated gear.


I own a F800gs...

Is there a Heated Gear brand (besides the $400 Aerostitch jacket liners) that makes jacket liners,gloves and pant liners that all hook together so you can plug them into the BMW plug? And is the F800 big enough to support gloves, jacket liner and pant liner?

I'm guessing the answer is "no" since that would be too good to be true but I figured it can't hurt to ask...
__________________
STOP the land grab

If we stuff the duck with chocolate, does that make him a fudge packer?
Catskill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014