Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-25-2010, 11:30 AM   #1
Wonko T. Sane OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 22
Ride Report: Iron Butt 7-23-10

Ignacio once said:
With all these I think excitement carries you the firt 500 miles, youth can carry you another couple hundred, and you develop the ironbutt sense and character that last 200

(Don't blame me for the typos, blame the source)

In many ways, the tale of my saddlesore 1000 is two stories. On one level, what I did is very simple. One morning, I got on a motorcycle, rode for 510 miles, turned around at a gas station, and rode back.

You want a more in depth version, fine, I'm an ex long haul driver, ex city bus driver, who laughs at ten hour days behind the wheel. I knew I could complete the trip, my only question and concerned was for my relative lack of riding skills, and how bad the pain would get before the ride was over.

Oh, you want the real story? Fine. But If I were you, I'd stick with the short version.

Perhaps, in truth, a saddlesore is like most other deceptively simple things, in that doing simple things well is usually harder than doing complicated things poorly.