User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-04-2010, 08:28 PM   #1
MX Mike OP
MX Mike

Oddometer: 8
New AV Rider

I am new to adventure riding; and by new, I mean yesterday was my first real ride. I've been on Mx bikes most of my life either on the track or in the desert, but I have always shied away from street riding. About a year and a half ago my buddy talked me into attending a local motor cycle safety program and from that I got my M1 but did very little with it. I rented a couple of bikes and went on very short trips(less than 80 miles) I had fun , but street riding did not inspire me with the same passion as dirt riding does.

Recently, the same buddy picked up a used KTM 990 and told me about this web site, and I must say I was intrigued. This type of riding looked great and you all guys’ appear to be very tight; much like the MX community.

Onto the ride, I picked up a KLR 650 from a local rental shop in San Bernardino Ca. The idea was to find as many different challenges that I could cram into one day, and really see if this is something I could do. I also wanted to travel at least 200 miles for the day.

I left SB and headed west up the 91 Fwy with many of my new four wheel friends, the weather was clear and hot 90 plus with high humidity . After death gripping the handlebars for the first 30 miles or so I got onto the 241 Toll Road south and left many of the 4 wheel friends behind. It was interesting on how much you need to think about things out there, like getting money out to pay the toll before the car behind you runs your ass over.