ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2012, 12:00 PM   #2806
640 Armageddon
-oo-
 
640 Armageddon's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 2,809
Winter is coming, I will take him out one of these rainy days
__________________
Aurora Rally Equipment - Rally parts with lifetime warranty
"Do or Do Not. There is No Try" - Yoda
640 Armageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:43 PM   #2807
OzRider64
Friggen slow Adventurer.
 
OzRider64's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Hobart Tasmania
Oddometer: 90
Question Voltage spike with model 44's.

G'day John,

Have read your post where you said my lights had traces of burning on the circuit boards, possibly from cheap HID lights.

I am running a DDM 35W system on my main headlight only, probably not the best quality HID on the market, but others on this site seem to be running them with your lights with no problems.

The model 44's are connected through a PC8 fuse block with a relay and a Cyclenutz mini switch to turn the lights on and off.

How is this voltage spike occurring. Does it happen on start up, because the lights are only turned on after this bike has been running a couple of minutes or does it happen during the running cycle of the bike.

I had a chat to a mate of mine who is a auto electrician and told him my problem and he said to me that my 44's are running through a separate fuse block and relay and I should have no problems.

Both of us are scratching our heads on this one.

Worse comes to worse I will install a HID50 unit into my bike which I have had taken off my previous beast, all I have to do is change the globe to a H7 and I will see how that goes.

I wont re-install these model 44's on my bike till I get this sorted, I don't want to damage them again.

I hope you can clear this up for me.


Simon.
__________________
Tassie, where two heads are better than one.

2010 R1200GS
OzRider64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:57 PM   #2808
mastergunnera8
n00b
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Oddometer: 3
Hello,

Looking to see if someone can help me piece something together for a 2010 Harley Road Glide? These lights look AWESOME!!

Thanks!!!
mastergunnera8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:04 PM   #2809
DirtRider....
Wandering Turtle
 
DirtRider....'s Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Southern California
Oddometer: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjoh View Post
Looks very similar to the ADVmonster product. The major difference is ours is WATERPROOF. After testing prototypes in the rain and water, they would stop working so I worked with the manufacturer to develop an improved gasket/seal.

What battery does that light run on and what is the connection on the battery (deans or other)?
DirtRider.... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 06:01 AM   #2810
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 5,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzRider64 View Post
G'day John,

Have read your post where you said my lights had traces of burning on the circuit boards, possibly from cheap HID lights.

I am running a DDM 35W system on my main headlight only, probably not the best quality HID on the market, but others on this site seem to be running them with your lights with no problems.

The model 44's are connected through a PC8 fuse block with a relay and a Cyclenutz mini switch to turn the lights on and off.

How is this voltage spike occurring. Does it happen on start up, because the lights are only turned on after this bike has been running a couple of minutes or does it happen during the running cycle of the bike.

I had a chat to a mate of mine who is a auto electrician and told him my problem and he said to me that my 44's are running through a separate fuse block and relay and I should have no problems.

Both of us are scratching our heads on this one.

Worse comes to worse I will install a HID50 unit into my bike which I have had taken off my previous beast, all I have to do is change the globe to a H7 and I will see how that goes.

I wont re-install these model 44's on my bike till I get this sorted, I don't want to damage them again.

I hope you can clear this up for me.


Simon.
Hi Simon,

HID lights use AC downstream of the booster box. In some units it can be as high as 35,000 volts. The voltage can leak from connectors and/or through deterioration of the wiring insulation.

After troubleshooting an HID setup I had a few years back, I took them off the bike. Unfortunately the noise took out the OEM clock and fuel level sensor.

Some folks have had no issues, I have seen several LED lights that have been cooked by aftermarket HIDs, which is why our warranty does not cover installs with HID lights.
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 06:02 AM   #2811
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 5,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastergunnera8 View Post
Hello,

Looking to see if someone can help me piece something together for a 2010 Harley Road Glide? These lights look AWESOME!!

Thanks!!!
Give me a call or email

John
sandjoh@gmail.com
954 993 5581
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 06:07 AM   #2812
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 5,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtRider.... View Post
What battery does that light run on and what is the connection on the battery (deans or other)?
Uses a lithium ion which is also waterproof. It can run off your motorcycle as well. Here is one side of the connector:



Connector is waterproof but designed to come apart so wiring is not damaged.
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:05 AM   #2813
spagthorpe
Beastly Adventurer
 
spagthorpe's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 14,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjoh View Post
Hi Simon,

HID lights use AC downstream of the booster box. In some units it can be as high as 35,000 volts. The voltage can leak from connectors and/or through deterioration of the wiring insulation.

After troubleshooting an HID setup I had a few years back, I took them off the bike. Unfortunately the noise took out the OEM clock and fuel level sensor.

Some folks have had no issues, I have seen several LED lights that have been cooked by aftermarket HIDs, which is why our warranty does not cover installs with HID lights.
Shouldn't a large zener diode (plus resister) in line with the LED voltage solve this?
spagthorpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 05:46 AM   #2814
FishinBIG
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Campbell, CA
Oddometer: 12
Order placed for 2 model 60's and rotary dimmer.
FishinBIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:27 PM   #2815
farrington300
No wait....What?
 
farrington300's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Denver CO
Oddometer: 523
Anyone using the headlight replacement kit? I am thinking of adding one to my husky.

Also, Sanjon, can you sell the headlight replacement kit without holes drilled in it? I think I can get two lights in there. Or can you make a custom one for me?
__________________
TE610
WR250R
farrington300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 10:05 AM   #2816
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 5,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishinBIG View Post
Order placed for 2 model 60's and rotary dimmer.
Thanks for your business.

Quote:
Originally Posted by farrington300 View Post
Anyone using the headlight replacement kit? I am thinking of adding one to my husky.
Get one, you will be amazed. Every customer thus far has been extremely pleased with the drop in and shocked by the light output. Everytime I turn on the high beam I laugh

Quote:
Originally Posted by farrington300 View Post
Also, Sanjon, can you sell the headlight replacement kit without holes drilled in it? I think I can get two lights in there. Or can you make a custom one for me?
Two lights will not fit in the stock husky setup. I do have the KTM drop in which will fit most 4" square headlight masks, and it will take 2 lights!

If you ship me a mask, I'll make a drop in that handles 2 lights as long as there is adequate space.
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 01:32 PM   #2817
SpeedyK
Lone Rider
 
SpeedyK's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: SE AZ
Oddometer: 315
I'm thinking of putting a set of your lights on my fairing, want to use them as DRL as well as night enhancement. Does it make sense to put a 30 spot on the outside and a flood on the traffic side? Or could I do two 30's? I want visibility in day and distance at night. Someone probably asked this 100 pages ago, sorry if I don't feel like digging, working on wiring now so I'll be ready for whatever I buy.

Plan is for them to come on with HB, and also have an override switch for DRL use, I'm assembling the relay setup now to test with cheapo WM lights. In my particular case it's easier to integrate it to the headlight relay upgrade I just did.

Thanks for suggestions on which ones.
__________________
Quate, Crepa, Rota
SpeedyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 04:28 PM   #2818
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 5,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedyK View Post
I'm thinking of putting a set of your lights on my fairing, want to use them as DRL as well as night enhancement. Does it make sense to put a 30 spot on the outside and a flood on the traffic side? Or could I do two 30's? I want visibility in day and distance at night. Someone probably asked this 100 pages ago, sorry if I don't feel like digging, working on wiring now so I'll be ready for whatever I buy.

Plan is for them to come on with HB, and also have an override switch for DRL use, I'm assembling the relay setup now to test with cheapo WM lights. In my particular case it's easier to integrate it to the headlight relay upgrade I just did.

Thanks for suggestions on which ones.
Model 30s will work fine for you. You should consider one of our LED controllers. Let's you set a dimmed setting for being seen (you will need to dim them at night in traffic) and gives you full power with a flick of your high beam switch. We also offer a free PnP harness when you buy a set of lights with a controller.
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 10:40 PM   #2819
640 Armageddon
-oo-
 
640 Armageddon's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 2,809
John,

I would like to kindly ask if the internals of the lights will be ok in the long run or if it would be better to open the light and put some silicone over the cicuit. Is there any possibility that the cicuit is damaged due to vibrations when you are racing the bike over very hard terrain ?
__________________
Aurora Rally Equipment - Rally parts with lifetime warranty
"Do or Do Not. There is No Try" - Yoda

640 Armageddon screwed with this post 10-24-2012 at 01:38 AM
640 Armageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:52 AM   #2820
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 5,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by 640 Armageddon View Post
John,

I would like to kindly ask if the internals of the lights will be ok in the long run or if it would be better to open the light and put some silicone over the cicuit. Is there any possibility that the cicuit is damaged due to vibrations when you are racing the bike over very hard terrain ?
I would not hesitate to run the lights over any terrain. All interior components are secured. Many customers are running the drop in lights as their primary light, failure is not an option.



I've run the SE a couple of thousand miles in the last month thru everything from single track to the slab, without issue (except the fuel milage sucks).


sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015